We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great purpose built hostel in an astonishing environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Torridon Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great purpose built hostel in an astonishing environment”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Specially built in 1975, Torridon YH is one of the most spacious hostels with the best drying room in the country! Lovely lounge overlooking the mountains, big kitchen. Showers and loos upgraded. Bedromms seem to have fewer beds now and so be mor spacious and practical for those with lots of kit. All the design seems to be well thought through. It's a little utilitarian with pained concrete clock walls but really that's a minor point. And the giant Torridon mountains (not to mention the sea) are right outside the door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GealCarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
18
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton Bradstock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
597 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The building is clean, spacious, quiet, and set in a stunning location. The staff were extremely helpful and kind. The kitchen area was immaculately clean, and very well equipped. Pay a bit more and have the privacy of your own room. Very good value.
Indoor cycle store

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Over the years, I've stayed in probably 15+ hostels throughout the world. This one is the best of them. The building is clean, spacious, quiet, and set in a stunning location. The reception staff were extremely professional and kind. The kitchen area was immaculately clean, and the other people staying at the time almost visibly showed equal respect to keeping it so. Our double-bed room gave us all the privacy you'd expect in a normal hotel, so the value for money factor was spot on. The only minus point for me were the beds: I'm 6ft2, and the beds simply didn't accommodate me. Otherwise: highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenceFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINLITHGOW
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the hostel. All I can say is if you thought youth hostel accommodation was pretty basic with little or no privacy then think again. We happened apon the hostel after a long journey via 3 hotels trying to find food and suitable accommodation. The first hotel which we had booked in Gairloch was to say the least a big disapointment, with no meals available after 7.30 us having arrived just after 7pm it was a chinese carry out or nothing so we declined our booking and headed back to Kinlochewe. We arrived at 8.15pm to be told the meals stopped at 8pm. We tried the cafe down the road which was also closed so no food to be had here either. Headed to Torridon to the Inn which serves until 9pm, great so decided to see if they could put us and our 2 dogs up, but the only dog friendly room they have was booked. Got take away fish and chips and was almost resigned to sleeping in the vehicle with the dogs but thought we may as well try the hostel.
The other reports say it all and discribe the facilities. Emily made us more than welcome and the dogs, they are allowing dogs on a trial period check if going to allow in the future when you book.
Had a clean, warm, comfortable room with 4 bunks to ourselves at half the cost of a hotel for that area, you can eat, sleep and drink whenever you like, very informal laid back feel. All I can say is give it a try if you are planning a trip to the area you will not be dissapointed. A BIG thank you to Emily and Jules, we look forward to our next stay with you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMATHESONMACIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed here over about 10 years and it is still great when you want a trip away on a budget . Very welcoming , amazing location,great lay out of hostel. reasonable pricing, fab home made ready meals too! You can book a dorm for the family and take your well behaved dog too! Thanks Guys!

Room Tip: nice pub not far for the odd nightcap! great walks nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayneychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hostel is exceptional and much of the credit lies with the warden. We enjoyed a friendly welcome from Matt who is making real efforts to improve the place. I think he sees this as a continuing task although improvements required are fairly minor. The setting in the Torridon mountains is quite unique and there is plenty of variety in the walking available to suit all abilities. A must visit in the North West of Scotland. You won't be disappointed and if you are well you must be awfie hard to please!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balmillig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at SYHA Torridon on a Saturday night in early November and checked in when reception opened at 4pm. I was greeted by Mat who was very welcoming and had great advice on which mountains routes to tackle. The room was clean and spacious, a truly massive self catering kitchen with ajoining dining area and a brilliant lounge with great views across the valley to the moutnains. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Dizzle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
1.4 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
586 reviews
12.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
154 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
276 reviews
9.1 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
197 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torridon Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torridon Youth Hostel

Property: Torridon Youth Hostel
Address: Torridon IV22 2EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Torridon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torridon boasts some of the finest mountain scenery in Europe. Situated at the head of Upper Loch Torridon in the shadow of the mighty Liathach, and only a stone's throw from Upper Loch Torridon, Torridon Youth Hostel is a great option for walkers and climbers as well as those simply wishing to relax and enjoy the wildlife. Torridon Youth Hostel is purpose built and offers modern, practical facilities for outdoor enthusiasts and visiting groups looking for budget accommodation. There is a spacious self-catering kitchen, two large panoramic lounges, a drying room and a good range of multi-shared rooms and private/family rooms. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Torridon Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torridon Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing