We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Loch Maree Hotel(Talladale)
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinlochewe Hotel(Kinlochewe)
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shieldaig Lodge(Gairloch)
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gairloch Hotel(Gairloch)
$105
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Millcroft(Gairloch)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poolewe Hotel(Poolewe)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveler rating
527
82
47
18
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
82
47
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomhunting lodgedining roomroll top batha hot water bottlewhiskey barhighland cattlefine diningsuperior roomclay pigeon shootingoutdoor activitiesluxury hotelsuperb hotelspectacular settingmichelin starturn down serviceclassic room
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 686 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

We visited for 1 night in our NC500 trip with some friends, anticipating a fabulous stay. The hotel is well appointed and rooms are very comfortable, with a number of nice touches. We were greeted with afternoon tea in the lounge, took a long walk up the hill to ensure a good appetite anticipating dinner in the 1887 Restaurant. After a convivial pre-dinner drink in the bar we sat down to dinner, which disappointed frankly. The food did not warrant the 3 rosettes it boasts. My wife's fish, both Dinner main and Breakfast smoked haddock, were over cooked. My dinner main of venison was meagre, with 3 small bite-sized chunks - I don't like large portions of food but this was frankly paltry. The charge for dinner at £60/head (no drinks) is well-above any other good quality restaurants we dined in for the rest of the NC500. We ate better food for much less in other hotels! I suspect standards have been allowed to slip in the restaurant, making eating there likely to disappoint.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
3  Thank LintonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Thank you for the review and thanks for identifying us as a great hotel. We accept your review of the restaurant and will consider your comments in terms of value, portions and cooking. We always listen to our customers and try to identify if we have a consistent issue that needs addressing. Chef believes in a true field to fork ethos and his style is one of showcasing the ingredient and its taste. We totally understand that this will not to be to everyone's liking and the execution and delivery is very important. We have looked at the balance of all our customer feedback and some of the recent reviews on Tripadvisor and we are encouraged by comments such as ambitious, perfect, wonderful and amazing. We have had some regular guests comment on the change in style and some have also been disappointed while others have been amazed. We will continue to monitor all feedback and thank you for your honesty. Kind regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

Stopped there for two consecutive days to drink lovely chocolatemilk with marshmallows combined with some nice scones. Lovely entourage, beautiful view over the lake, nice couch to sit on, and friendly service. Couldn't ask for more

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MattheusAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Good to know the hot chicokste was a winner. Thanks Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

I have read previous reviews and agree with all of the positive comments. We also have completed the NC500 and would agree that this was the best hotel by far on the route. It also ranks alongside the best 5* hotels in the world in which we have stayed.

We enjoyed attentive and extremely well-trained staff, ambitious food in the tasting menu that used the locally-sourced ingredients perfectly with well-judged and reasonably-priced wine pairings. We were particularly taken with the quality of the housekeeping service- spotless rooms with furniture polished until gleaming. My son was delighted with the expert advice given to him as he chose a whisky in the splendid but cosy whisky room.

This is a luxury hotel with prices not for the faint of heart; however, this quality of service with high staff-to-client ratio isn't cheap. (I would say that we paid a rate not far short at another hotel on the route which was simply dreadful.)

Sadly we stayed only one night but would hope to return next year for several nights to make more of the amenities that the hotel has to offer.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank amandajsayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thanks for the fab review and we appreciate your recommendation. So pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and great to hear you enjoyed the nc500. Regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017

You can tell the quality of a hotel by the way it responds to problems. We had a minor plumbing-related issue in our room. Within 2 minutes of reporting it, staff arrived and dealt with it in record time. We were given complimentary drinks, and the following day a card with further apologies and complimentary chocolate. Minor problems are a fact of life, but the response marked out this hotel as absolutely first class. This iconic hotel sits in an idyllic location looking across the loch to the massive mountains peaks of Torridon. Our room was spacious and clean and the bathroom unusually well appointed and modern. Breakfast was hearty ample and served with discreet efficiency. Our room had fantastic views up the drive, across the highland cattle and out to the loch - a vista of which you would never tire. Can this super establishment be improved? Yes, the mattress in the master room was far too soft and had a huge dip in the middle. This is bad for backs, and perhaps the next round of refurbishment will replace it with a flat and firmer version. Ditto the huge armchairs positioned to enjoy the view - far too large to sit in comfortably. Guests (and their backs) will thank the Torridon for such improvements. These are minor issues, this is a first rate luxury hotel which you will love.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thanks for the review and constructive points. Good to know that we solved the issue and appreciate your positive attitude to tha way we dealt with it. Problems do occur but we appreciate it is how you handle it that is important. Regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017

We visited the Torridon for my husbands 40th and it was so beautiful, originally from Scotland but living in England for 20 yrs, this was so needed. The view and accommodation was brilliant, loved the grounds, the food and the whisky and gin. Had a lovely time playing chess in the drawing room, canoeing on the loch and chatting with Aaron in the bar. Will definitely be back. We also had the 7 course taster which was AMAZING!! x

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Thanks for choosing to spend your husband's birthday with us and great to hear he enjoyed himself. Thank you for the review. Regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews