We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAVE TO LOVE IT”
Review of The Torridon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Torridon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Up north, the offer of luxurious hotels is scarce. Not loads of options besides The Torridon. When we booked for one night, we were refused to stay because of the 2-night policy on week-ends. Too bad. So we booked at The Inn instead, putting a note : if you have anything vacant in the main house, whatever that might be, that's where we want to stay. We were delighted to treceive an email 2 weeks prior to our stay, offering us a selection of available accomodation; we went for a Deluxe.

You have to deserve The Torridon. It is a long drive away from everything. Not that anything is close in Scotland, but The Torridon litterally sits at the end single track roads, crossing breathtakingly picturesque scenery. This is Scotland at its best.

Service is second to none. Bellmand runs out to hel us with your luggage, and because it is raining (or perhaps not) goes park the car. You step in the hall, understand lobby, with a roaring fire. Check-in a breeze. Beautiful views out on the loch and mountains. Overheated rooms, as always. Totally redecorated room was modern, with a nice flask of whisky especially distilled for the hotel, for us to drink. Excellent bed. Bland lighting in the bathroom would be the only minus.

After checking, your are treated to teau and carrot cake in the lounge, by the fireplace. Lovely time.

Dinner at The Inn, pub style, just what we wanted to get.

Nice breakfast. Could have eaten more, though.

We walked the grounds. Not down to the loch, as we did not feel like crossing the field. Lovely walled garden. Had the occasion to steal a glimpse on the main suite : not worth the expense in my view. Tiny Bedroom with a side view, and probably not the best view in the house, out from the living room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 632 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

It was our anniversary and we have just returned from 4 glorious nights stay in a hotel that Scotland should be very proud of (we're not Scottish). A magnificent setting, outstanding service and food that was as good as it gets. Of course, we did not just get lucky. Holidays are precious and a lot of thought goes into our chosen destinations, it's just great when it exceeds all expectations. From the moment you arrive you are treated like a laird and no request is too much trouble, everything is done with that personal touch but never in an intrusive way. The private dining room (the library) where we had our anniversary dinner was the icing on the cake. When I proposed it was in the dining room of the Ritz hotel in Paris, this will equal those memories.
The hotel can also provide activities and these should be promoted a little more, as some are well worth doing and add to a great holiday.
When you read some reviews it seems people have to say something negative in the fear that people might not believe something could be that good. We are going to live in fear because I can't fault anything.

Room Tip: I did not get the opportunity to break into anyone else's room so have to assume they would all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lonerangers O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Spent two nights at the end of March. From beginning to end it was like no other hotel My wife and I have stayed in. Admittedly it was expensive but for the scenery, hotel ambience and especially the food was worth every penny. Staff were attentive to your every need but not obtrusive.
Everybody should pamper themselves from time to time. If that's you then Torridon Hotel is for you.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the loch affords glorious views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was a super great experience - staff, service, stunning views, food, room......all top notch perfect!!!

Star chef cooking at a high level of local, fresh, creative and mega fine dine! He even took the time to shortly meet up with us.

In plus they enabled a private dinner in their library on my birthday - just amazing.

To all men out there who would like to surprise your loved ones with something special - I can just say: do it at Torridon!

Thanks to the whole crew - you know what you are doing and what is needed to achieve high customer satisfaction

Room Tip: Depends which view you want - just ask the staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kajsa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

If the location with stunning views of the loch and mountains weren't enough the hotel was wonderful. It had all charm, luxury and tradition yet our room (Liathach) had a very contemporary bathroom to enjoy.
The food was excellent and the chef produced me my own gluten free menu. At breakfast there was a wonderful array of choice other than just the standard full Scottish and I took up the recommendation of porridge with a tot of whisky and proved to be delicious.
All of the staff were very helpful escpecially the barman who introduced us to new brands of gin and malt whisky
Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisHall29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Such beautiful surroundings and ground, quiet calm break. Didn't want to leave! Hotel provided free activities and we took them up on the canoeing, fab! The pub round the corner has lovely food. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Torridon is a lovely hotel in the most beatiful location. We had a lovely comfortable room with a lovely view. The food was amazing and the staff went out of their way to help and make you feel very welcome. Everything about this hotel if classy.It is one of the best hotels that I have stayed in and I will go back one day.There are great outdoor activities to try as well.

Room Tip: Overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
12.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
181 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
299 reviews
14.6 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
282 reviews
16.9 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
218 reviews
16.7 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon

Address: Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Price Range: $211 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torridon is a luxury hotel in the northwest of Scotland. We provide exclusive luxury with a personal touch to all our guests and we invite you to come and visit us and experience some of the best scenery and hospitality that Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Torridon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
Hotel Loch Torridon
The Torridon Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing