We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a romantic holiday”
Review of The Torridon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Torridon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Torridon Hotel was perfect from all angles! Great victorian mansion, incredible view on the mountain and the Loch. Absolutely charming staff, and very helpful. The room was excellent, with a king size bed, so cozy. I slept so well in the silence of nature... The food in the restaurant was outstanding, with a very refined 'degustation' menu, in the so very Scottish-mansion atmosphere of the dining room. The bar will raise the bar, with about 150 whiskies, and competent advice to taste one or the other. Overall by far the best place we had in Scotland!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We so pleased you enjoyed what we offer is so many ways and that we live up to your expectations for your romantic break. You obviously only sampled half the whiskies as we actually have a over 350! We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 632 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

View wonderful, room wonderful with stunning view, bathroom fab with lovely lotions and potions and a bath you could swim in, staff friendly and helpful.

Food okay but without extra bread at dinner you could well still be peckish at the end. Less faffing about and more fruit and veg please. We will definitely return but will eat elsewhere

Room Tip: It would be unfortunate if you failed to secure a view of the sea - it's fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easytogetonwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and would like to return one day. Thank you for your comments on the food. A problem we do encounter is that people feel they cannot eat our 5 course daily menu as they feel it is to much, nut once explained they are happily won over. When people feel they have not had enough food we can normally change this on the following evening for example but as you were only with us one night it was not possible. When you next return please let us know and we can make sure you are offered more vegetables for your dinner. Regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Scotland is a wonderful place,but Torridon has to be,for me,one of the best. We've visited this hotel several times,it remains,as on our first visit,rather special. The staff are well trained and genuinely friendly and helpful, Coleen can tell you things about whisky and gin that you never knew! The chef is inspirational , expect to be " blown away" by some of his creations. All rooms are great,the ground floor suite,our choice,is big and has fantastic views of the loch and mountains. If you are an early riser,expect to see red deer making their way down to drink, truly magical,just 20 yards away,glorious.

Room Tip: All are good,talk to them! They'll advise you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We are so pleased you made the long journey to stay with us. Colleen and Bruno are passionate members of staff who really love what they do and inspire our team. We are so please that we 'blew' you away as normally it is the weather that can do that! We look forward to having you back one day. Regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked The Torridon for our first wedding anniversary. I know the area well and hoped the hotel would live up to the Trip Advisor reviews. It did not let me down. It was relaxing, comfortable, friendly and luxurious.

The food and staff were great and the Master Suite was wonderful.

Probably the best hotel I've stayed in.

Room Tip: The Master Suite is fantastic. Comfortable, luxurious without being over-the-top and with great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary and that we met your expectations. The Master Suite 1887 is getting some great reviews and Rohaise is so pleased all her hard efforts on designing the room are paying off. We loo forward to another wedding anniversary if not before. Regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Few hotels are absolutely perfect -- the Dolder Grand in Zurich, perhaps, or the Peninsula in Manhattan. This is one of those remarkable few. The height of charm and luxury, the single best bed I've ever slept in, a fawning staff, and a drop-dead gorgeous setting. And the food! Scottish food typically varies from awful to edible, but the chef at Torridon is a genius. The 5 course dinners are just stunning. Honestly, I can't say enough about this unbelievably exquisite gem of a hotel in the middle of absolute nowhere. I'd travel to the Scottish highlands again just to stay here.

Room Tip: Get the master suite and add dinner to the package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan23435345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

When visitors make an effort to come as far as you did to come to Scotland and then review us as one of the best hotels in the world, there is only one thing I can say; THANK YOU! We look forward to perhaps welcoming you back one day. Regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last week end. Outstanding hotel in lovely Highland setting. Good double room with such a comfortable bed. Superb food, good wine cellar. But my most abiding memory was the staff, so helpful and capable. Nothing was too much trouble.They clearly enjoyed what they were doing. Definitely a hotel to return to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anth_e_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Beautiful setting , in the most gorgeous part of scotland. If you like hills and lochs this is for you.
The hotel matches the scenery , beautiful with wonderful service. We stayed for three nights , the first two nights were slightly disrupted by having a family above us with a very young child. But once the family left it was so quiet and peaceful we almost forgot about the noise on the previous nights. The bar has over 350 whisky's and over 22 gins , it is a cosy bar and the lounge room has a great view of the loch. The staff are exceptional and friendly, I would love to go back to the Torridon and hope one day we will.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klm_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
12.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
181 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
299 reviews
14.6 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
282 reviews
16.9 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
218 reviews
16.7 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon

Address: Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Price Range: $210 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torridon is a luxury hotel in the northwest of Scotland. We provide exclusive luxury with a personal touch to all our guests and we invite you to come and visit us and experience some of the best scenery and hospitality that Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Torridon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
Hotel Loch Torridon
The Torridon Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing