We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven.”
Review of The Torridon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Torridon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Certificate of Excellence
york,
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 25 years and it just keeps on getting better and better. The hotel is just a wonderful place to stay in wonderful surroundings. The building is a Scottish Baronial building in a spectacular setting looking across Loch Torridon and to the mountains. The hotel has been beautifully redecorated and refurnished yet manages to retain the charm and style of the old building. All the staff are very good at their job but the dining room staff are as good as we have found anywhere in the world (and we have travelled to most parts of the world). They are clearly well trained, efficient, friendly yet unobtrusive, and their timing of the service is absolutely spot on.

We were not able to find fault with anything. The owners are always in evidence and they clearly are totally involved in making sure that the whole experience is delivered to their guests.

We stayed for four nights and yes it is expensive but in my opinion it is worth every penny of it.

Room Tip: Get a Loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnsanmarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and keep coming back! Well done to our dining room staff, we’ll be sure to pass on your compliment to them. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Regards, Dan and Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    61
    33
    17
    10
See reviews for
72
398
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a fantastic 8-night stay here at the beginning of October. From the moment we arrived everyone was friendly, yet highly professional.

The room was fabulous and had a great view over the loch. We spent many an hour sitting admiring the view and watching the cattle in the field (feeding time was quite amusing!). The bathroom was fabulous also and had a large, roll-top bath which was great for relaxing in after a long walk. We did four walks in total, three from the activity book and also Beinn Eighe which we have done many times before and is possibly our favourite walk in the UK. It was great to go out on the hills and then have a soak in the bath before dressing for dinner.

The food was superb (compliments to Bruno). Cameron and Peter looked after us exceedingly well in the dining room and bar. Cameron's service and attention was first class, explaining every course, which was a very nice touch, and he also remembered our breakfast preferences. Peter was very professional and shook great cocktails, especially a Cosmopolitan! Robert was also very sociable and we had some great conversations with him. Bridget took a real interest and was happy to answer any questions we had. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed at all times and nothing was too much trouble. This is how a hotel should be and we couldn't find a single fault with the place (not that we tried to!). It's no wonder they are AA Scottish Hotel of the Year - it is richly deserved.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, did some fantastic walks, were sad to leave and will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HippoHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We have passed all your kind comments on to the staff you have mentioned, its always great to be able to pass on individual mentions. A friendly and relaxed atmosphere with excellent service is what we take pride in offering our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Dan and Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Torridon Hotel in the magnificent Scottish Highlands. As a family we had 2 bedrooms and these were comfortable, warm, extremely well laid out and adjacent to each other.

The Staff and service was impeccable and the hotel activities were excellent with Archery, Walking, Mountain Climbing, Abseiling etc.

The food was superb, and nothing was too much trouble, faultless

This was one of a kind stays and we cant recommend it highly enough, as long as you dont mind a long drive to get there, but its more than worth it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJColeCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the comfort, food and service of the hotel and that you managed to take advantage of the activities that we have on offer. We hope we will be able to welcome you and your family back to us some other time. Regards, Dan and Rohaise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel was part of our honeymoon and was a long drive but with stunning views all the way up the west coast of Scotland, so well worth the trip. It is in the middle of nowhere but what quality it offers.
The grounds are just beautiful with fantastic views, loads of activities, a huge kitchen garden to wonder around and full on walks for the fit and not so fit.
The hotel itself is just stunning, full of character but modernised to meet every luxury expectation of the discerning traveller and demanding bride! We had our room upgraded and the walk in shower room plus another room just for the bath will keep any woman very happy indeed!
The drawing room serves afternoon tea and champagne/canapes in the evening before dinner, a good start to a great night. The service is what you expect and more of a hotel of this class, you feel looked after and at this price you should be!
The food continued to delight and tickle the taste buds with King Scallops, Venison and so much more.....
Coffee was served in the Whiskey Bar with a choice of 350 whiskeys but beware the prices are hidden and you need to ask if you don't want to be embarrassed! It was a lot of fun watching my husband mull over the choice.
Breakfast continued to be pleasing with hot porridge served with brown sugar, cream and a dram; a real winter warmer before a walk over the hills. A full breakfast was cooked to perfection using local produce and homemade black pudding, mmmmmmmm.
We had a go at archery with a teacher, who had the patience of a saint and a good sense of humour, it all helped! We did this in the rain but didn't stop laughing, the rain was irrelevant.
THere is so much you can do here or you can just stroll around, enjoy the comfort or drink away in the hotel or local inn.
We will return for our anniversary and feel reluctant to share this review as it is our 'special place'.

Room Tip: I think they will all be good but don't be shy to ask for an upgradeespecially one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and the upgraded room. There’s nothing better than a bit of luxury for a bride! You are so right there is still lots to do in spite of the weather but we hope that when you return for your anniversary we will have great weather. Regards, Dan and Rohaise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
273 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

After a long and arduous drive over Scotland’s single lane highways we arrived at the most wonderful sight of The Torridon Hotel. A grand place with magnificent surrounding. While the building dates to the late 1800s, the rooms are modern and comfortable; yet retain the quaintness of the Victorian era.

The selection of single malts can result in closing one’s eyes and just pointing. You cannot go wrong. Having drinks in the main sitting room by the fireplace is a delight, as is dinner. While the selection is limited, it is beautifully prepared from local ingredients. The wine list is quite nice

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our roads must be very different to those in the USA, the single track roads can take a bit of getting used to! We hope they didn’t detract too much from your enjoyment. Regards, Dan and Rohaise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Don't know where to start...... This is beautiful hotel in a stunning location. The staff are really friendly and will do anything to help. We enjoyed every aspect from the stylish bedrooms, amazing food, cosy log fires, to the complimentary activity programme. Highly recommend gorge walking and kayaking - we had an absolute ball! In fact we enjoyed it all so much, we stopped an extra night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becks1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do try to be a friendly and relaxed place for our guests to enjoy all that we have to offer in what as you say is a stunning location. We hope that you will visit us again. Regards, Dan and Rohaise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our stay began well, with a friendly greeting and the staff offering to take our bags to our room. The decor in the bedroom was beautiful and contemporary but respectful of the building's heritage, and the bed was huge and comfortable. As it was October, the heating was on high to keep the place warm, but this was a bit much for a comfortable sleep. Perhaps partly our mistake, we should have turned it down a bit as well as opening the windows.

Afternoon tea was provided, then it was on to dinner - after some time spent chilling out in the roll-top bath. The bathroom in our room was generous and the shower excellent and powerful (We booked a Superior room, and got Room 5 - Beinn Eighe, which has great views over Loch Torridon to the village and the western flanks of Liathach.)

The 5-course dinner was superb, without being overly rich or simply too much. A real showcase for local ingredients and subtlety. Point for consideration though - has the food become too complicated if every course needs the waitress to talk you through it before eating? (This is a general issue and affects many more establishments than just The Torridon.)

The bar is extensively stocked, not just with malt whisky but also with a range of well-chosen quality gins.

Breakfast provides everything you could possibly need and again you needn't lift a finger - service is comprehensive.

We decamped to the Inn for our second night on site, and the staff arranged to have our luggage awaiting us in our new room there when we arrived back from our day trip. Our bill was also transferred over accurately and without fuss, allowing me to pay it all on departure from the Inn - joined-up working. I had visions of this becoming a debacle (it's happened to me in other hotels with more than 1 restaurant) but in fact it couldn't have been easier and everything seemed to be correct when I checked it. Well done to the staff!

Lovely setting, wonderfully peaceful and relaxing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
12.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
140 reviews
15.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
264 reviews
10.0 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
185 reviews
13.9 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
145 reviews
10.2 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon

Property: The Torridon
Address: Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torridon is a luxury hotel in the northwest of Scotland. We provide exclusive luxury with a personal touch to all our guests and we invite you to come and visit us and experience some of the best scenery and hospitality that Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Torridon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
Hotel Loch Torridon
The Torridon Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing