We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Torridon
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveler rating
511
76
46
18
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
76
46
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomhunting lodgedining roomroll top bathluxury hotelsuperior roomhighland cattleclay pigeon shootingfine diningoutdoor activitiesstunning locationwhiskey bara hot water bottlemichelin starclassic roomwonderful hotelgorge scrambling
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 663 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just had an absolutely fabulous two nights stay- had high expectations of the hotel and were not disappointed. Warm welcome and shown to our room (15) which had great views over the loch and mountains. Dined in the restaurant both nights and the food was divine. Breakfast was scrumptious - the porridge with a wee dram a warming treat ... Location terrific - try the hill walk to the ridge of Ben Damph for great views out to Skye and then head back to the hotel for afternoon tea... Will most definitely return again !

Room Tip: Room 15 - for great views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had such a fabulous time and will return again. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Dan and Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

In accordance with the previous “Poor” review I would like to adopt and underline some passages in this text which share my mind completely. There are surprising parallels to our stay a couple of weeks later which I cannot express better.

We had stayed at The Torridon in 2006 and loved every minute of it. However, this time we just did not “get it”. Management seems to have lost its way. We had booked a 3 days arrangement incl. Gourmet-Dinner. From the very arrival till the return of the key, there was no personal attention towards us from any person in the management. There was never any employee present at the reception-desk when we happened to appear. We were checked-in by a man (foreign origin) we never saw again. He presumably thought us to be non-resident dinner guests, sent us to the bar to wait for further service. Then he realized the situation, searched our room assignment, fetched the key, and helped with the luggage to our room. The room was the same as in 2006, yet refurbished. The bathroom became much bigger and modernized, however its attitude is very sterile and not really inviting. The downlights look nice, but lack brightness. Difficult to shave with the mirror behind the basin and poor light from above. A first unpleasant impression was due to the fact that the suite was bitterly cold! Heating was not completely turned on (obviously started too late before our arrival), so we turned on full, with the result that after dinner it was hot and sticky, until late in the night the small open windows had allowed the heat to escape. Turn-down service did evidently not mind the temperature.

The previous atmosphere, of a friendly family-owned hotel, was entirely absent. However, in the room we found a hand-written Welcome-Back-Again-Letter from the management.
An inappropriate tone of self-congratulation is reflected in the questionnaire in the bedroom, with its references to exclusive luxury and the personal touch. Examples of the matters on which the hotel seeks feedback are “What exceeded your expectations at the Torridon?” and “Who went the extra mile for you?” Sorry, we cannot report observations of any such kind from our side.

We felt the service at breakfast and in the evening in the restaurant was generally poor. For example, after being served the hot breakfast plate we were told “the toast is on the way”, but it wasn´t for a long time. No waiter was present, almost until the cooked food became cold. At that point, we thought that the quality of the service was a matter for the managers, but none of them ever appeared. Strange enough, we learned from the waiter that it is necessary to make a prior reservation, if you like a neat table at the oriel-window for breakfast although you are the first in the morning!

Once in the mood for it, we noticed other things, too. Years ago turndown service provided hot-water bottels in the beds. This much appreciated custom seems to have ceased. They indeed hoovered daily while the guests were having breakfast. They know very well that the guests are annoyed, therefore they close the usually open door during the procedure. Why not do the job 2 hours later? The Bar was heavily visited by guests from other accomodations than in the main building, making the stay not as cosy as years before. Same is the case with the restaurant, resulting in a certain lack of intimacy.

After the messed welcome the farewell was equally disappointing. On leaving the place, nobody asked if we enjoyed the stay.

We will not dispute that The Torridon is still an unrivaled upscale hotel in this very remote area of the Scottish Highlands. But once having experienced the lack of personal care, there do appear alternatives. Maybe, a lot of people still feel happy with the basic service provided in relation to the stark prices demanded. Sadly, the management does not seem to be aware of the imminent decline. We agree, the hotel has gone down a certain road. We also shall not be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Gerhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Recently we went to the Torridon for dinner. Starting in the bar we were offered a choice of 270 single malt whiskies. the bar looked out over the loch and provided an intimate spot to relax before dinner.
Dinner was served in an adgacent dining room. Service was attentive. Food quality and variety was excellent and this coupled with a fine choice of wines from their cellar.
Coffee was served in an adgacent room.
A beautiful spot.

Room Tip: Look for loch view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tytaany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us following your dinner at the hotel restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed it so much. It’s a long trip over from Canada but maybe we’ll see you again. Regards, Dan and Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

as above... perfection.

This hotel is set in beautiful grounds. The food is exquisite, rooms luxurious, spacious and tiny faults were rectified immediately.

There is a strong focus on excellent service, which is at no point intrusive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you ever so much for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and that we fixed any small faults promplty for you. We do try to offer the best service at all times to our guests so they can enjoy their stay and relax in the beautiful setting that we have here. We look forward to seeing you back in Torridon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

As previous reviews state, although not cheap, the Torridon is a luxurious stay. Beautiful rooms with views over the Loch to match. We felt our bathroom let the room down, feeling a bit 'cold and uninviting' compared to the rest of the hotel and the luxury of our bedroom. The public rooms were warm and cosy on a dull and wet week. Open fires, warming whisky from a selection of over 350 and impeccable service. The evening dinner was a dining experience, served with charm and knowledge by the charming waiters. If you want something special on a trip to the heaven on earth that is Wester Ross then treat yourself to the Torridon.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank HethEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews