We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and a warm welcome”
Review of The Torridon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Torridon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was our fourth stay at The Torridon and probably our nicest yet. We were originally booked in to stay for 3 nights but decided to stay on for another night as we just weren't ready to leave! We chose to stay in the same room as our last visit as the view across the loch to the mountains is just stunning. The room itself was absolutely spotless and the bathroom in the turret is great! My husband enjoyed sitting by the open fire with a glass of whisky recommended by the barman according to your personal taste. Just what you need after a 3 hour walk in a howling gale! We ate at the restaurant for the first time, usually preferring the more relaxed atmosphere up at the Inn. The 5 course dinner was just fantastic and the waiting staff all knowledgeable, professional and friendly. We can't wait until next year when we will be back. Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful, relaxing and luxurious stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

We are happy that we have been able to improve on your previous stays and delighted that you had an enjoyable experience at The Torridon.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 633 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

A six star experience. Undoubtably expensive, but well worth it. Our room was very well decorated, maintained and welcoming and the very large bathroom only lacked a separate shower – the over the bath example being OK for its type but with so much space why not improve the experience ? In every other respect the Hotel is first rate. The food was extraordinarily good and the wine list extensive and reasonable value. The hotel also has a simply staggering whisky array and an extensive gin list. Then factor in the views and it’s a must stay. Great staff too. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trencherman1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind review, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

With respect to the separate shower in the room, we appreciate the feedback and will certainly look at the options available.

Otherwise, I am glad that you enjoyed everything and I hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We spent four days of our honeymoon at the Torridon and had an amazing time. The welcome we received was second to none and the level of hospitality and comfort exceeded our expectations. The food was sensational too. I would highly recommend the Torridon for a romantic visit. We'll be back as soon as we can! A perfect end to a perfect wedding and honeymoon

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

We are delighted that we were able to help you enjoy the end of your honeymoon, and we are glad that you enjoyed you stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you get a chance to visit Torridon.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The owners couple is very friendly and helpfull.Rooms are very clean and beautiful.we will stay again, because this is what scotish friendliness means.The dinner at the hotel was great, even in the torridon inn the dinner was great.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms, every room is a very good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jochen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Torridon.
Kind Regards,
Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The Torridon Hotel was a pleasure from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.

On my previous trip to Torridon in about 1993, The Hotel was being replenshed and I stayed at a B&D in the vicinity. The clouds were low and visibility of the marvelous scenery was strictly limited.

This time my experience to Torridon was a joy. We drove down in perfect sunshine with hardly a cloud in the sky. I just wanted to stop and get out and climb as we passed each inviting mountain. It was just one of those fantastic days you pray for, and when they come you have to savour every minute.

We arrived at The Torridon Hotel in the late afternoon and from the moment we arrived we enjoyed the fantastic service. The staff were all friendly. We enjoyed their well polished service, but getting over the formalities they were also very friendly with wonderful stories to tell.

The room was perfect. Well furnished with a very comfortable bed. We stayed in the luxurious room so we had a lovely view of the loch and the mountains. Maybe more enjoyable was the view of the hotels resident Highland Cattle in the field nearby. The coffee and tea making facilities offered more choices than I've seen anywhere.

There is a living room with a fantastic view and open fireplace. Here you can enjoy afternoon tea. It is here also that your evening dining experience will begin where you can review the menu and make your selection while enjoying a pre-dinner drink. The dinner is excellent and every dish is a joy.

The hotel also has an inn if you are looking for a less formal eating experience. It looked very welcoming but we did not try it.

The hotel provides activities and provided detailed maps and descriptions of many walks which are available in the area. The walks are rated from easy to hard and times vary depending on your preference. We headed into the hills to work off some of the calories.

The hotel also has one of the best stocked whiskey bars in the world. There are over 350 whiskeys available. They had some Japanese whiskeys and even an Indian whiskey (Amarut), but these seemed to have collected more dust than the more local varieties.

This was a great place to stay for a few days and we were totally relaxed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAWASAWA_Bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in The Torridon and that after your 18 year wait to stay in the Hotel it lived up to your expectations.
We are glad that you enjoyed the food, and your whole Torridon experience.

We hope that you will return to The Torridon, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My wife and I just stayed for 2 nights following our wedding. Everything was just perfect from the moment we arrived to leaving. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel out towards Loch Torridon, the view of which was spectacular. The decor was modern in design and the room large and comfortable. We dined in the restaurant both evenings and the menu was varied and delicious, the service was impeccable.

We found the staff to both friendly and attentive without being overbearing, and we will definitely return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boyakasha_2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Honeymoon stay at The Torridon, I hope that in years to come you will return for a wedding anniversary and fondly remember your time here.

We look forward to seeing you again at The Torridon.

Kind Regards,
Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Visited on 15th September with friends, fantastic evening with the most amazing food, no shortage of attention to detail and the staff serving the food were very knowledgeable - this hotel is in the most stunning setting with adorable "Heelan Coos" and guaranteed tranquility, would love to stay here for a special occasion. 11 out of 10 !!!!!! Spectacular whisky bar !!!!!! My husband would like to return to try them all out at some point!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilledtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Hotel and enjoyed the whisky bar; we look forward to having you back to sample some more of our malts.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
12.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
185 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
303 reviews
21.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
376 reviews
16.9 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
219 reviews
10.2 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon

Address: Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Price Range: $219 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torridon is a luxury 5 star hotel in the northwest of Scotland. We provide exclusive luxury with a personal touch to all our guests and we invite you to come and visit us and experience some of the best scenery and hospitality that Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Torridon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
Hotel Loch Torridon
The Torridon Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing