We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great food and staff but accommodation not good value for money”
Review of The Torridon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Torridon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great food and staff but accommodation not good value for money”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The Torridon Hotel was recommended by friends who have stayed before. When I booked, I went for a superior room and was happy to pay more for the privilege.

We arrived on a cold wet afternoon and were warmly welcomed by Lisa (outstanding member of staff) who checked us in and welcomed us in the drawing room for afternoon tea. Seeing how tea can be served has made b go back to it after many years of just drinking coffee. Great start.

The 5 course dinner was excellent and many thanks to the chef and his wife (pastry chef) for such wonderful creations. Our waitress (Irish accent) was very good and showed a clear knowledge of the food on the menu.

Extensive wine list and whisky selection. Good range of games for evening entertainment. Comfortable drawing room to relax in during the day and evening.

Breakfast in the morning was very good - particularly the fresh fruit platter.

Now for my only gripe...
The 'superior' room (Room 6) was lovely in respect of the bathroom and bed (decor and size) but felt small and dark. It also did not have a superior view looking out the back of the hotel over the roof. We paid £350 for dinner, bed and breakfast and if you deduct £100 for the dinner, this means £250 for bed and breakfast. Whilst the accommodation was comfortable, it did not provide value for money. I am not looking for budget value for money and do not mind paying a premium for luxury. However, this was too high a premium - particularly given the quality of room we were given for a 'superior' room.

If money is no object, go for it.

Happy to provide any direct feedback to the hotel.

Room Tip: Have to book more than a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibirdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear KiwiBirdScotland,

Firstly I am delighted by all the positives which you have found with the hotel. I have passed on to all of the staff your kind words about their service and cuisine. On that front I am very plkeased that you found everything to be to your taste.

In terms of the value of the room, whilst I appreciate the lack of view in room6 I am sure you will understand that not all rooms can have a view, although all of our Master and Deluxe rooms and a number of our superior rooms do.

Ultimately I hope that you will visit again, and if you let us know your intentions to do so, we will, if possible, offer you a complimentary upgrade to a room with a view.

Kind Regards

Dan Rose-Bristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    61
    33
    17
    10
See reviews for
72
398
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed four nights at Torridon and it was just what we needed. The room was beautifully decorated,the bed very comfortable and bathroom modern and fully functional.Evening meals were excellent starting with the aperitfis in the drawing room overlooking the lawn and the 'heeland coos'. Sleep came easily, very little sound to disturb the peace and we were happy to come back each day after sightseeing, walking, exploring. Staff were very welcoming and attentive. Unobtrusive but friendly, they were most obliging and were able to provide information about the area and activites or refer us to someone else. The surrounds are beautiful and the property well cared for. Good value for money, given the quality of the accomodation, food and service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryhelen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We are very glad that you enjoyed your time at The Torridon, and that you found our staff to be so helpful. We aim to provide all of our guests with good local information to ensure they enjoy their time in the area, and it is nice that you enjoyed this during your stay.

We hope that you will return to The Torridon in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is a hotel where everything is done the way it should be. The welcome is warm and genuine; comfort level is high; staff are personable, professional, knowledgeable, well trained and, well, just delightful. The food is quite wonderful and the wine list has many choices for everyone. We tried as many as we could fit into the week. The chef is ambitious and delivers on his vision. The pastry chef (Chef's wife apparently) is extraordinary as well.

Having flown from New York and made the long drive from Edinburgh - it was worth the trip. Tons of activities, magnificent surroundings and walks. If traveling could always be this wonderful, no one would stay home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twothereandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review of The Torridon, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found everything to be to your taste. We very much hope that you will return to the Torridon in the future, although we appreciate we are a long way from New York.

We hope that you enjoyed your time in Scotland, and if you would like to visit again please just let us know.

Kind Regards,
Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

No personal touch, rooms poorly accomodated. We were rather disappointed

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Our kids wanted to see Scotland, so we looked around online and found the Torridon. We booked months ago, and every stage of the booking process and organisation were flawless, including the booking of activities and the services of a ghillie for fly fishing.

The hotel itself was great. The boys were well looked after and the staff were all very good with them. The food and service in the restaurant were excellent, complimented by a warm welcome in the Torridon Inn, where we ate on a couple of occasions during our five night stay.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaJiWiAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Torridon, and hope that your children enjoyed seeing what we think is one of the best parts of Scotland. I am glad you found our staff helpful both during the booking process and whilst you were staying with us.

I hope that you will return to The Torridon in the future to enjoy another relaxing break.

Kind regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose Bristow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

What a stunning place and excellent albeit remote location!

A beautiful hotel with very friendly staff. The grounds have you reaching for your camera, with the loch and the wee hairy coos. The food is very good - right down to the whisky on the porridge for breakfast.

Our single criticism - and it is a tiny one that arose through circumstances during our stay - is that there was not a torch in the room. That became an issue during a blackout that hit just before dinner service and ended around midnight.

Dinner went well - at least for the guests - under the circumstances. A delicious meal was served and it was pretty great to be in an Agatha Christie novel for dinner and drinks afterwards in the blacked out manor house.

Going up the stairs was a bit hairy in the dark (although the drinks afterwards may have contributed to that) and finding our way around our room without light would have all been made easier with a torch.

Our room was excellent - second floor at the front of the hotel with the bathroom in the turret.

The price here rivalled the other couple of expensive hotels that we stayed in on this trip, but in the scheme of things and given that the tariff includes a first class dinner, it provides very good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyOrstralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Torridon, and that we were able to provide an enjoyable evening in the midst of a power cut. We are looking at the possibility of providing a small torch in each room to aid guests should the power fail and this would certainly make the walk back easier.

Otherwise, we are glad you had a pleasant time and we would be glad to have you back at The Torridon and hope that you will consider us for future breaks.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

For a relaxing getaway in remote breathtaking part of scotland you can't go wrong with the Torridon. Excellent service and tremendous food.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Torridon, and especially so that you enjoyed Bruno's cuisine. We would be delighted to see you back at The Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
12.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
140 reviews
15.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
264 reviews
10.0 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
185 reviews
13.9 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
145 reviews
10.2 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon

Property: The Torridon
Address: Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torridon is a luxury hotel in the northwest of Scotland. We provide exclusive luxury with a personal touch to all our guests and we invite you to come and visit us and experience some of the best scenery and hospitality that Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Torridon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
Hotel Loch Torridon
The Torridon Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing