We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
78
77
54
20
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
77
54
20
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower suite dining room private access lovely castle large bathroom stunning place room was clean and comfortable great service and food jacuzzi tub executive room real castle lovely surprise poster bed lovely night an absolute gem public rooms wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 248 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

I fully expected this hotel to be dated in keeping with the history of the place but do think it needs freshened up - we had stains on our bedroom ceiling. I would also suggest investing in proper black out linings in your curtains.

We had a really lovely night away and staff very down to earth and friendly. We liked the fact we could choose from the bar or A La Carte menu and food was great as was breakfast in the morning. We loved the black pudding!

We scored it down for what I would call scottish tourist music on repeat while we eat dinner and actually we didn't sit in the bar after because we found it so irritating! In this day and age the music could be so much better and still Scottish and a lot more relaxing - such as folk music.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mazry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

Had a fabulous 2 night stay at this lovely castle hotel. Charming, welcoming hotel, lovely friendly staff, beautiful surroundings. Ooozzing with character. Great location. Quiet setting but within walking distance into the town centre. Lovely choice of food on menu's. Good quality of produce. Excellent Breakfast. Would definitely visit again. Thank you "Mansfield" for the experience.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Aqua321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

Very historic and interesting place to stay. The room was quaint and old fashioned which suited the over ambiance of the hotel. Enjoyed sirloin steak cooked exactly to our liking and would definitely recommend this.
Full cooked breakfast was very filling, and for a hearty appetite.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank TheLotusEaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2016

We stayed in this hotel in December which on business. We had dinner which was absolutely delicious as was breakfast the next morning. The staff were very pleasant. The room was more than adequate but maybe a wee bit too warm. Woluld definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

Very nice hotel staff could not be any nicer. Had dinner and it was lovely.Room was real large and spacious bed huge .Only fault a could give was small tv in such a lage room.Breakfast was good asked for poached hadock but they had none left so tried the kippers realy nice . Would definetly stay again next time i am in tain

Stayed: December 2015, traveled on business
Thank ALLAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews