We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Romantic Castle”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at this amazing hotel over last weekend and had a fantastic break. I had always wanted to stay in a castle and loved every minute. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and the owner mixed freely with the guests. A stunning place and we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    57
    43
    15
    11
See reviews for
38
94
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is not the first time in Mansfield Castle because is a great hotel.The staff is really very friendly, all time asking if is something else they can help me
Romantic style and very clean room.
Food delicious and very confortable dinning room.
Beautifull park to enjoy outdoor,not only in the hotel. Is beautifull place to visit.
The barI is very friendly and they have a wonderful whiskys

Room Tip: If somebody come with a partner I would recommend the room in the tower, they looks so romantic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esmeralda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed the last 2 nights and absolutely loved this hotel. The quality of the food, the ambiance and the attention to detail from the staff far exceeded our expectations. A great place for a romantic break.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Btaperell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

To sum it up, my friends and I are still laughing at the Trip Advisor reviewer who described this hotel as "Faulty Towers Without The Laughs." They could not have been more accurate!

Our room was the Croftsmary and it was a disappointment from the moment we opened the door. It looked like the interior of a creepy dollhouse with a tiny canopy bed in the centre and old, outdated wallpaper throughout. An ugly old couch at the foot of the bed was concealed by a slightly less ugly quilt. Worn out carpet lead down a couple stairs into the bathroom which could be described as nothing short of an adventure. The toilet worked only some of the time, often requiring multiple flushes before it would finally kick in enough water pressure. The shower is a joke - it's a hand sprayer designed for a tub, hooked up high at the end of its cord to act as a shower head. This works well...unless you're taller than 5-feet in which case you'll have to duck down to have a shower. The towels are old and smell musty as those bleach can no longer clean them. For bath products, the hotel didn't even offer conditioner (just shampoo and something that I think was bubble bath but we used it as shower gel). The plumbing is so troubled, the cold water tap screams at you when you turn it on. The bed was cramped and uncomfortable with heavy, old blankets that left you sweating through the night. Pillows felt like they were stuffed with sawdust, not feathers, but again likely a result of simply being too old yet still in use.

Other furniture throughout, including the bar and library, is outdated from, I'm assuming, the 70s or 80s. To find stains on fabric furniture was not uncommon. All over the hotel are vases of weathered old fake flowers that should be thrown in the trash. I read another reviewer mentioned that a stereo plays Top 40 music in the main lobby and that is still correct. Our party found that extremely odd and it definitely took away from any "castle" charm.

After that scathing review, I must say food at the hotel is delicious. That is one thing you will likely enjoy above all others. We had dinner at the hotel both nights during our stay and were impressed both times.

We found service at the front desk to be fine and the staff there were helpful when needed. Alternatively, bar service was bad. You could be the only one sitting in there and three people behind the bar would busy themselves drying glasses instead of take an order. The exception to this was a man named Gordon who was very friends and made himself constantly available.

On the matter of service however I will touch upon management. For most hotels when they receive a bad review on Trip Advisor, I've seen them reply with a polite response and a promise to improve. I couldn't help but find it appalling to see Mansfield management reply to other negative reviews with name calling and blame, even saying one reviewer was "snobby." This makes me wonder - if you were to complain about something in person at the hotel, how would they treat you or would they think you too were just being a "snob?"

This hotel needs a complete renovation to restore its old world charm yet modernize bathroom facilities. I would not be this harsh with the hotel if they were charging significantly less than £170+ per night. At that cost, their guests deserve a far superior experience.


Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Niki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansfieldTain, Owner at Mansfield Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Niki,

Thanks for the review,

We take all reviews on board , good and bad and try and improve as we progress.

Re the cost of the room,as you are aware,you booked via an agent.With this agent we dont control the end price,The room booked was a standard double.
The room had a 4 poster bed and jacuzzi, Your friends booked a superior double and therefore had a larger room.

The towels are laundered via a laundry company twice a week,and are changed daily.Pillows are replaced regularly,and pillow slips daily.

Niki, I realise this room is to the side of the hotel and does not have a view etc.It may have been able to be resolved , should you have mentioned it during your 3 day stay..

Thank you for the positives re the food and some of the service..the food is mainly local produce all cooked from fresh.
The bar service is perhaps slightly different to Canada,where we wait for the customer to indicate they need service after the initial round of service,this is to be, not intrusive ..
They should however have been attentive to the point,where ,service would be quickly forthcoming.

Again we thank you for the review and will take all points on board..

If you are in Scotland again,please give us another opportunity to change your mind.

As you can see from the majority of reviews, most are positive,and I can assure you,we always try our best.

The review previous to your review was actually for the wrong hotel,unfortunately, trip advisor reviews can be rather misleading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Horrible hotel,bad experience,very rude employers,the ladies work on the reception all the time look upset,never help you,especially the ladie with red hair.
The internet is a crap,never work inside the room and very slow.
The slower all the times is cold,the heating is off all night.

I had horrible stay on this hotel,never again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 688John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansfieldTain, General Manager at Mansfield Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Have emailed John,

Think he has the reviewed the wrong hotel,as he has a picture of another hotel in Tain,on his reviews page.
We dont have a red headed receptionist etc etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were 4 tired cyclists arriving later than expected so we fell into the gorgeous, comfortable bar for drinks & remained there for dinner, which was delicious. Although the rooms were a bit of a hike away, we were offered help with our panniers. The rooms were perfectly adequate for our needs and most importantly, clean. Our bikes were stored safely overnight & the staff were extremely accommodating & friendly. We were sorry not to imbibe in Bloody Marys at breakfast tho they were on offer!

Excellent stop-over for anyone cycling Sustrans route from Inverness to Tongue & beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near to Reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImpressmeEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

On arrival we were told that we were being upgraded to the Tower Suite: an excellent beginning. The Tower Suite was a collection of rooms in the tower above the main entrance. A fascinating collection of rooms with access to the top of the tower and splendid views. The small minus was the canopy over the bed which made it feel a wee bit claustrophic.
Staff in the hotel were welcoming and enthusiastic and helped make our stay more enjoyable - though being able to distinguish between singular and plural 'you' would have helped. Or is 'yous' now just standard?
Breakfast was excellent; dinner the previous night not so - but good enough. Beer at the bar was limited - sadly.
Overall, I would recommend Mansfield Castle Hotel: enthusiastic and helpful staff; a warm ambience and a good location from which to explore the area.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to the Tower Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
0.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
196 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
415 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
771 reviews
19.4 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansfield Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Castle Hotel

Property: Mansfield Castle Hotel
Address: Scotsburn Road, Tain IV19 1PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mansfield Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mansfield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansfield Castle Hotel Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing