We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise”

Greens Market Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Tain
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Just of the High Street in Tain, on Market Street, Greens Market Restaurant is a bright & stylish restaurant with 3 lovely large windows letting in lots of natural light. The menus offer our customers teas, coffees, wines, drinks, snacks, lunches and evening meals at the weekends. Using seasonal ingredients we offer modern cuisine in a modern setting.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I didn't know this level of cuisine existed in the Highlands. We had such a fantastic meal here. Great variety and great value

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarnegieHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    21
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Excellent value for money, food wonderful and great staff. So good we had to come back for a second evening. Given how busy it was I think booking is essential

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndrewT N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
“BEST STEAK IN THE HIGHLANDS!!!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

After Greens Market being recommended by so many people and nine months later, we finaly had our meal at Greens Market!! It was well worth the wait!! Made to feel so welcome, never rushed and looked after, from the second we arrived until they bided us farewell. Worth every penny!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 908michael_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreensMarket, Owner at Greens Market Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of our restaurant. We pride ourselves on our good food and hospitality and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food in a very friendly atmosphere. Obviously a popular local restaurant. Try the cheeky local cheese fondue starter - a delight!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Haddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreensMarket, Owner at Greens Market Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our restaurant, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonar Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“THANK YOU”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

...we are locals, living 20 miles away and been in for a lunch last Saturday. What a PERFECT experience, thanks a lot.. The restaurant was completely booked ou, but it wasn`t noisy, the food was excellent and we are glad that we live so close to this restaurant... we`ll come back soon and will recommend this restaurant to our friends and guests ( tour operator is our profession).

The only thing which should be improved is the Espresso... :) it was not an Espresso

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreensMarket, Owner at Greens Market Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review of our restaurant, we are glad that you enjoyed your lunch and we look forward to seeing you again. We are sorry that you didn't get an espresso, if you had mentioned this to a member of staff we would have easily changed this for you.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greens Market Restaurant also viewed

Tain, Ross and Cromarty
Tain, Ross and Cromarty
 
Tain, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Greens Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing