We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Duthus, Tain”
Review of St Duthus Hotel

St Duthus Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Duthus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The guest house proprietor told us to go to the Royal Hotel and to avoid St Duthus which was a bit loud and not recommended. We went to the Royal which was dull and stuffy and we were turned away even though several tables were empty. So we tried St Duthus which was quite well filled but the staff welcomed us and showed us to a table in a bright clean dining room. The witresses were interested in their work, talked freely and took our orders. We were served with excellent meals without undue delay and two waitresses came back at intervals to ask if we wanted anything else. We asked some questions about the local area which they answered patiently. St Duthus is easy to recommend to anyone going to, or through, Ross & Cromarty.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

Booked an overnight as myself and two friends attending a wedding at the Carnigie Hall, in Clashmore. We were warmly greeted by the manageress and shown to our very comfy rooms. After settling in, we had a light delicious meal in the bar and the service along with the food was great. All in all an excellent place to stay if your visiting this beautiful region.

Room Tip: Book Room 2 as it has an ensuite, friends had to use the communal bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishgal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We were on our way to Falls of Shin, looking for somewhere to eat, and we decided to go in Tain to look for a place to eat, when we saw this restaurant (we did not stay at the hotel). We did not have high expectations, but we were very very surprised when we started our meal, what a great restaurant. The food was really very very good, the deserts were incredible! The waiters are very friendly and warming, but also very profissional. It was a very good surprise and is tottaly worth the visit. If you are going to visit Falls of Shin and Rogie falls, have lunch here and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoaoTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We are local and visit every couple of months for lunch - so haven't stayed in the hotel. Thought it was about time we left a review.

It never changes, the staff are friendly, the menu is simple but good choices, and we've never had a bad meal. Best described as a "down to earth place" which is ideal when there's no special occasion involved, and the small bar adjoining is also comfortable to sit in and have a drink or two. This is not a criticism in any way, just an appreciation of somewhere that offers a real welcome.

Recently we thought we'd try the Royal Hotel for lunch, a few yards up the way, as heard it had a first class chef and we had not been there for a while. It was OK, nothing more, and quite expensive in comparison to The Saint.

Have also been in the public bar with visiting friends who had a dog (which was allowed in with no fuss). A thoroughly nice experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank InvernessChoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Matteo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tain
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Glenmorangie House
4.9 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
479 reviews
4.7 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Duthus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Duthus Hotel

Address: 2 Tower Street | Ross-Shire, Tain IV19 1DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
St Duthus Hotel Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing