We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A complete gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Hotel

The Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Tain
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A complete gem!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We love the food at the Royal. I have reviewed the carvery before and it wasn't as amazing as the food in the main bar/ restaurant.
The highlights are the roast of the day, the goats cheese salad starter and the most delicious garlic mushrooms starter.
Amazing, delicious, we would go every week if we could.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barkwilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    55
    23
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ardgay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mother's day lunch”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I took my Mother, wife and kids to the Royal for lunch on Mother's day. The kids had prawn cocktail, we had the chicken terrine which was excellent.
My wife and kids had roast beef with all the trimmings. There were two large thick slices of beef on each plate. The only thing I could fault was that I like my beef a bit more pink but that's just me. My mother and I had lamb which again was ample and delicious. None of us had puddings as we were full.
Would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank finlaymcculloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottom of a mountain Scotland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a lovely meal at this hotel. Friendly staff, huge portions and very tasty, would recommend. The place has a nice atmosphere

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent lunch”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Attracted by the wide choice in lunch menu displayed at entrance to hotel we both eventually selected the roast beef as main course. The beef was cut well and tasted sublime. The vegs served separately were hot and not overcooked. Service was very good. Only negative was no ice available with drinks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff Night Out”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We did have a nice meal but it just didn't have the WOW factor. Serving prawn cocktail in wine glasses made it difficult to enjoy it and to get all all of it out of the glass. It was just an okay meal

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Auchlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Hotel also viewed

Tain, Ross and Cromarty
 
Tain, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing