We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the essence of all we love of Scotland at the Golfview House”
Review of Golf View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golf View House
Ranked #1 of 15 Tain B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
pacific grove, ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the essence of all we love of Scotland at the Golfview House”
Reviewed June 10, 2010

The beautiful home of Bill and Sue who make you feel like immediate friends is set down a tree lined drive with views out across open fields to the Tain golf course. The attention to detail is evident in every aspect of their home...delicious morning meals, super clean surroundings, comfy lounge to hang out in and read a book, and great beds.

We came as strangers and left as friends....a home of true hospitality full of that great Scottish kindness!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoutdogPacificGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
107
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This is a beautiful B&B with great rooms and fantastic views. It really does have a feel more like a country house hotel than a B&B. This is the best B&B that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights last week with my husband whilst visiting family nearby and would just reiterate all of the previous reviews. Bill and Sue make you feel at home in this gorgeous house with wonderful views and comfortable and elegant rooms. Have Sue's "full monty" for breakfast and it will set you up for the day although there are many other choices on offer. Bill's welcome and helpful tips of things happening in the local area led us to see the Tain Pipe Band on Friday night in the square which was lovely. Next time we will be staying for longer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneDSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2010

After travelling to Scotland i couldn't have asked for better accommodation. Golf View is set in lovely quite gardens with spectacular views over the golf course and the sea.
The owners Bill and Sue were very friendly from the moment we booked till the moment we left and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms and facilities were of the standard you would expect to find in a top hotel with lovely little touches and very high cleanliness levels. I couldnt recommend a better place to stay. Great breakfast as well!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki_morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

I love Tain and have previously been well satisfied with an accommodation here. But on this occasion I wanted to spend a little more and was tempted by Golf View House.

I arrived on a sunny May evening shortly after seven when the place, and its unrivalled views across the Dornoch Firth were at their most stunning. You're well away from the road here and all you can hear is birdsong which can be a treat in itself.

A friendly welcome was followed by a quick tour of the relevant interiors which included a breakfast room commanding some of the best views in the place. My bedroom and the en-suite bathroom were huge. Everything was in the best contemporary style while still managing to blend in with the historic features of this lovely building. The peace and quiet and the cleanliness were so relaxing and you start to unwind immediately.

Breakfast is served from eight in the morning for a limited time but they did make an earlier exception for me on request. The food and drink options were wide-ranging, generous and of excellent quality.

I don't like the concept that the place you stay is only a place to sleep. I want to be able to feel as comfortable there as I do in my own home. This place is professionally run and it was a delight to be able to spend a few days there. In fact, as far as some of the amenities were concerned it was BETTER than being at home!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Lovely B&B. Very nice hosts. We enjoyed it.

The view from out our room was beautiful !!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertDinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2010

This is a supererbly well run family owned guest house. The service, quality of rooms and decor throughout was truly first rate. If you are looking for a break away from it all, Golf View garanties a splendid opportunity. We had a marvallous time and can't recommend it highly enough. Thank you Ian and Sue.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
356 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Glenmorangie House
5.1 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View House

Property: Golf View House
Address: 13 Knockbreck Road, Tain IV19 1BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf View House is a Michelin accredited Guesthouse B&B located in Tain in the Scottish Highlands about 40 mins North of Inverness. We offer 5 comfortable en-suite rooms, a spacious dining room and guest lounge with sea views. Situated in a secluded location on the outskirts of the town we have a large private parking area for our guests and the town centre is a short 3 minute walk where a there are a number of restaurants and bars. Tain, Dornoch, Golspie and Brora Golf Courses are easy driving distance as are Dalmore, Balblair & Glenmorangie Distilleries. Also of interest are Tain Through Time Museum, Dunrobin Castle and the Salmon Leap at the Falls of Shin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golf View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View House Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing