We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golf View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golf View House
Ranked #1 of 17 Tain B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

After arriving late in the evening, I was given a friendly welcome and made to feel at home in an instance. The couple running this place couldn't be friendlier. It was a pleasure to stay here, and would recommend it to anyone. In a way, it was as if I was in a home away from home, Just what I needed!x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyjaneburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and super review. Hope to see you for longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
106
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed there for a night during a driving trip. It was everything we needed. Welcoming and helpful owners, a nice clean room, a fantastic breakfast. I would try to go back to see Tain and enjoy the Golf View House again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and hopefully see you both for a bit longer when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Golf View. Bill was very welcoming and helpful, told us where best to eat. Room was nice and clean, well appointed with everything you need, even had an iron and ironing board on request which isn’t always a given in B&Bs. Tain is a very picturesque Town to visit. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Great to have you both to stay and so glad you had such a successful weekend at the wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruden Bay (Port Erroll), United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is the best B&B I had the good fortune to be in The House is very well presented and I felt at home at all times the breakfast was fantastic so was the service. the view from the house was great Iwill look forward to going back.

Room Tip: If you like a good view and good accommodation + good breakfast and a warm atmosphere book here yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobby261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review - very much appreciated - and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

this is the fourth time we have stayed here and yet again it did not disappoint.
under new owners,(it's been a good few years since last visited), but the rooms, breakfasts- especially the muesli-compote fantastic. views to die for and Bill and Sue friendly and relaxed and very professional.
Bedroom 5 has the best view over the firth but there is a lovely garden to sit in and enjoy the view from which we did on the 2 nights we stayed.
my advice ; when up this part of Scotland do not be a fool and miss out, book in at the Golf View B&B and enjoy ,you will want to come back again.

Room Tip: for view over out to sea room 4 or 5 ,but any one and you will have a fab stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Glad you made it back to Tain and glad you came back to Golf View! Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the best B+B I have stayed in. The rooms are immaculate, and Bill and Sue are friendly and professional.

The breakfasts are a very high standard in service, content and presentation.

The location of the house has amazing views out over the Moray Firth and is secluded enough to give a good peaceful nights sleep.

In summary this is a very high standard B+B which I highly reccommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for a great review. Keep your head down and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

But this place is amazing. We played Royal Dornach for 2 days, and stayed in Tain for three nights, and I would stay here in a heartbeat over anyplace they can offer me elsewhere. Not only is the place/the rooms wonderful, but the people of pleasant and thoughtful. Every night I had a cocktail with ice, well on his birthday they went out and we were at the house by ourselves, in the small refrigerator, with a note above, was bag of ice for me. It is only a small thing, but it is an example of what they do there. We are playing Dornach next year, and hoping we can book the B&B again. He also gave me good directions for an all day trip to the west side, that was on very small roads, but it was such a good recommendation, if you have the time, ask him about it; also ask him about his dad. Joe and Diane Schwab

Room Tip: Even if not playing golf, stay here for a wonderful evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovegolfsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for a great review! Keep hittin' 'em straight and hope to see you both next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tain hotels
0.4 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Glenmorangie House
0.8 mi away
Dunbius Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Shandwick House
Shandwick House
#7 of 17 in Tain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View House

Property: Golf View House
Address: 13 Knockbreck Road, Tain IV19 1BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Tain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf View House is a Michelin accredited Guesthouse B&B located in Tain in the Scottish Highlands about 40 mins North of Inverness. We offer 5 comfortable en-suite rooms, a spacious dining room and guest lounge with sea views. Situated in a secluded location on the outskirts of the town we have a large private parking area for our guests and the town centre is a short 3 minute walk where a there are a number of restaurants and bars. Tain, Dornoch, Golspie and Brora Golf Courses are easy driving distance as are Dalmore, Balblair & Glenmorangie Distilleries. Also of interest are Tain Through Time Museum, Dunrobin Castle and the Salmon Leap at the Falls of Shin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Golf View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View House Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing