We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A joy not to be missed”
Review of Golf View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golf View House
Ranked #1 of 15 Tain B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A joy not to be missed”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Thanks to Bill & Sue, for a wonderful 5 day stay. The sea view room was wonderfull, with stunning views over the sea and golf course. The food was fantastic. The quality and consistency really is of the highest standard. I would recommend everybody to try it.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
107
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Golf View from June 14 thru 18, 2013. This was our 10th trip to Scotland for golf. This is the first time we have stayed in Tain. The Golf View is top notch, Bill and Sue are terrific hosts. Sue makes and unbelievable cook to order breakfast that is simply superb. We had a room on the front of the house with a million dollar view of the Dornoch firth and the Tain Golf course. It was an easy 10 minute walk to downtown Tain for our evening meal with plenty of choices of good food at a reasonable price.

The room was spacious, well appointed and the bathroom was huge. Everything in the house was spotless clean. This is our new favorite place to stay in the Highlands. We will be back, soon I hope. Thanks Bil and Sue for a wonderful 5 day stay.

Randy & Debra Kern
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twins87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for a lovely review. Trust you both got home safely and look forward to seeing you again in the future - Happy Golf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We rode our bikes up the drive to the house. A beautiful place with stunning views. Bill greeted us as weary travellers and took us in for the night. This place is just one of thise things that you have to do in life to appreciate what makes the difference between quality and the rest. Superb rooms. Every detail taken care of in a thoughtful way. A breakfast menu that makes everyone else's look decidedly shabby. I was expecting the price for the night to be horrendous, but was more than pleasantly surprised. For once a place where true quality didn't make you pay through the nose.

This isn't just a night at a guest house, it is an experience.

Room Tip: There won't be any room in this place that is less than top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evrynameistaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you both for a great review. Hope the journey back home was dry and the legs weren't too sore. Pop in and see us next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Bill and Sue run a very friendly B&B with a full menu for breakfast. As we stayed 5 days it was fun to choose each day. The ambience is relaxed, the rooms high quality, And the proximity to Tain and surrounds have us the perfect holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at Golf View for one night on a flying visit to Tain, cant recommend this B&B highly enough, Bill and Sue great hosts and there property is a credit to them in what can be a thankless occupation at times, very high standard of rooms and decor through out and first class food, if you go for the full on breakfast make sure you are a hearty eater as its quite a portion and not for the faint hearted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAPELTOWN, SHEFFIELD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Golf View House is the only place my husband and I would consider staying at whilst visiting Tain. We arrange our visits according to room availability at the Golf View House, and were very pleased to learn recently that it is now open most of the year round.

We have therefore just spent a most enjoyable 3 days in my home town of Tain, visiting friends and the old familiar places around the town and surrounding area.

Bill and Sue are exceptional hosts, very friendly and welcoming, the rooms are beautiful, and the breakfasts are wonderful.

Anyone wishing to visit Tain should enquire first at the Golf View House for availability.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROLE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Lovely to see you both again and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay once again. Look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottom of a mountain Scotland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here twice a few years ago! Sorry to have never left a review. This is a lovely place and you are made to feel very welcome. Both times we had a large beautiful decorated room at the front of the house with a very comfortable bed and an amazing bathroom. Breakfasts are excellent. I would highly recommend to anyone. The only reason we haven't been back is because we moved only a few miles away. If you are looking for a place to stay in Tain then you've found it don't hesitate to book

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tain hotels
0.4 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Glenmorangie House
0.8 mi away
Dunbius Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Shandwick House
Shandwick House
#6 of 15 in Tain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View House

Property: Golf View House
Address: 13 Knockbreck Road, Tain IV19 1BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf View House is a Michelin accredited Guesthouse B&B located in Tain in the Scottish Highlands about 40 mins North of Inverness. We offer 5 comfortable en-suite rooms, a spacious dining room and guest lounge with sea views. Situated in a secluded location on the outskirts of the town we have a large private parking area for our guests and the town centre is a short 3 minute walk where a there are a number of restaurants and bars. Tain, Dornoch, Golspie and Brora Golf Courses are easy driving distance as are Dalmore, Balblair & Glenmorangie Distilleries. Also of interest are Tain Through Time Museum, Dunrobin Castle and the Salmon Leap at the Falls of Shin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golf View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View House Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing