We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Week in Tain”
Review of Golf View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golf View House
Ranked #1 of 15 Tain B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very enjoyable stay in Tain in August. Accommodating owners, comfortable bed, great breakfast and really helpful in getting wet gear dried off.

Also helpful in pointing me in the right direction for evening meals and what to do around Tain.

Couldn't find any faults!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over towards the Golf Course
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your review - so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Golf View House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 184 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

I would highly recommend The Golf View House. The owners, Bill and Susan were very accommodating. Their home is beautiful, great view of farm land and Rain Golf Course, and my.overall experience was favorable. I stayed in 4 B&B's during my vacation in Scotland and The Golf View House was the only one with a guest den area for relaxing and watching TV on large flat screen. Laura N., Boston, MA USA.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lngolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your review - always a pleasure to accommodate our friends from the USA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

It was a wonderful experience to stay at such a beautiful place, with very nice and competent hosts. We could easily combine to play Golf, to go for a trip to the West Coast and to have dinner in some nice Restaurants. It was a relaxing time for us. Thank you very much for that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrediZwahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and the lovely photos. hopefully see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A very good B&B. Our bedroom was top class and the bathroom was amazing. Lovely views and great hosts. The stone built house standing in it's own grounds above the Dornoch Firth is just the perfect setting. We needed an overnight stop on our way North, and could not have made a better choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hector W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for a great review - hope to see you again next time you travel North!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Golf view House in September 2012 and really enjoyed our stay!
The rooms are fine and very clean. Great window seats in the bedroom. The breakfast room is fantastic in setting, design and with view over the golf. The breakfast was one of the very best we had in 3 weeks journey through Scotland and also the setting and decoration of the tables was extraordinary beautiful. And of course: the owners were very friendly and run the house very professional but with a great heart.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Golf View House - Vielen Dank!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012. Spacious & clean rooms, unbelievable vistas, great hospitality and super breakfasts. I was with my wife and parents and we were in the Highlands for golf and the whisky trail. Golf View House is conveniently located with easy access to Royal Dornoch Golf Club (~ 10 mi) and Glenmorangie (~3 mi). I would recommend to anyone visiting the Scottish Highlands.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your very kind review of Golf View House - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We've been to Tain before and I tried to remember where we stayed then, but could not find the place back. We then saw a B&B sign, looked at each other and said: Well, it may still be early in the day, but why not just give it a try. So we drove up the driveway and rang the bell. A very friendly lady answered the door and sure, no problem, come on in, led us to a very spacious room 'with a View'. And what a garden! It must look wonders in spring. We stayed for three nights, it was just great. They're doing a wonderful job up there. Close to the village (through the fence door in the garden) and a great central location for a beautiful day in the Highlands, or as the name indicates, a game of golf, I suppose. When ever we're back, we'll come calling again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
0.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Glenmorangie House
5.1 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
469 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View House

Address: 13 Knockbreck Road, Tain IV19 1BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tain
Price Range: $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf View House is a Michelin accredited Guesthouse B&B located in Tain in the Scottish Highlands about 40 mins North of Inverness. We offer 5 comfortable en-suite rooms, a spacious dining room and guest lounge with sea views. Situated in a secluded location on the outskirts of the town we have a large private parking area for our guests and the town centre is a short 3 minute walk where a there are a number of restaurants and bars. Tain, Dornoch, Golspie and Brora Golf Courses are easy driving distance as are Dalmore, Balblair & Glenmorangie Distilleries. Also of interest are Tain Through Time Museum, Dunrobin Castle and the Salmon Leap at the Falls of Shin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golf View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View House Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing