We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golf View House
Nearby Hotels
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dornoch Hotel(Dornoch)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
167
16
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
16
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursedornoch firthb bgreat hostsdouble showerguest loungeplace to staygreat breakfasttop classfirst classmodern amenitiescomfortable loungebeautiful outlookbefore easteranyone wishingwalk into towna wonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 185 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012. Spacious & clean rooms, unbelievable vistas, great hospitality and super breakfasts. I was with my wife and parents and we were in the Highlands for golf and the whisky trail. Golf View House is conveniently located with easy access to Royal Dornoch Golf Club (~ 10 mi) and Glenmorangie (~3 mi). I would recommend to anyone visiting the Scottish Highlands.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your very kind review of Golf View House - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We've been to Tain before and I tried to remember where we stayed then, but could not find the place back. We then saw a B&B sign, looked at each other and said: Well, it may still be early in the day, but why not just give it a try. So we drove up the driveway and rang the bell. A very friendly lady answered the door and sure, no problem, come on in, led us to a very spacious room 'with a View'. And what a garden! It must look wonders in spring. We stayed for three nights, it was just great. They're doing a wonderful job up there. Close to the village (through the fence door in the garden) and a great central location for a beautiful day in the Highlands, or as the name indicates, a game of golf, I suppose. When ever we're back, we'll come calling again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We wanted a one night stay in the top end B@B and thats exactly what we got. A friendly reception, rooms very fresh and excellent breakfasts. Would recommend to coules on highland trips. It is only 2 hours to the top of scotland from here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian&Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our original plan was to stay in Dornoch as a base for a few days but this accomodation came up on search. How lucky that Bill and Sue we're first to get back to us to confirm availability for the days we were visiting. The Golf View is stunning, with a fabulous vista over the sweep of fields to the sea looking over to the Dornoch coast. A shortcut walkway through the expansive front garden takes you near the end of the main high street on the Portmahommack Road.
This property is beautiful, all rooms finished to a very high standard of interior decoration with the flavour of Scotland, without being drowned in it. Our twin bed room was to the rear overlooking our hosts private garden with a huge well appointed en-suite double shower facility.
Be prepared for breakfast. A wide choice of menu. I recommend the fruit compote; delicious and very filling. Warning though; full monty breakfast means you'll need to do a marathon to work it off. We tried our best and only managed 1/2 of it. We only took it on the first day off three as we would have needed to buy bigger clothes to fit.
We asked to view other rooms before returning home; one with a four poster and views across the bay, another enormously proportioned double with dual aspect windows, flooded with light and the largest en-suite we've ever seen. Many people return and book well ahead so check it out.

Room Tip: The standard of all the rooms was fabulous. The four poster room was the darkest and the cream suite the brightest, both at the front of property, however the twin bed room was bright as well. It will be an individual preference, depending on circumstances. Internet access throughout.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayemem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Golf View really is the most fantastic place to stay. This is my second review of Golf View - it's every bit as good as I thought it was last time - so I thought I would add another!

The room we stayed in was beautiful - it has the most fantastic views across the Dornoch Firth and to the mountains beyond - it's wonderful to be able to sit in bed and look out over such a great view.

The bathroom is top rate - with a great shower. Everything was perfectly clean. The breakfast is really excellent.

This place on it's own makes Tain a destination to visit! Can't wait for our next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews