We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful log cabin in peaceful location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stewie219...
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful log cabin in peaceful location”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stunning Log cabin in a peaceful location set in the village of Strathpeffer. With woodland and wildlife all around. The owners are truly lovely people who cannot do enough for you. The log cabin is very well equipped with everything you could ever need, with a lovely welcome tray sat on the dining table which was so nice and enjoyed by all of us. It's location means it is a great place to chill out and the tranquillity says a good nights sleep is guaranteed. The village of Strathpeffer is very pretty and Dingwall is just 5 miles away, Who could ask for more. We have already booked again for next year, but this time for a longer stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ttbbsskk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, daughter and I stayed for a week in October. We had a really great stay and didn't want to leave. The lodge is situated on the outskirts of Strathpeffer with all amenities close by. Strathpeffer itself is a beautiful Victoria spa town and is a great location from which to tour the Highlands. Jane (the owner) was lovely. She was available when we needed her to be and provided an excellent welcome pack of fresh bread, cakes, jam and muffins - very nice indeed. The lodge had everything you would need; it was always warm and cosy and there was plentiful hot water. Jane had laminated cards available for a number of local walks which was really helpful. The cabin was situated at the entrance to a forest which made you feel like you were really getting away from it all. Wifi was available too. All in all I would highly recommend Rowan Lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2015
Thank you for such a wonderful review, we couldn't be happier that you had such a great time! I know you didn't want to leave this time but Rowan Lodge will still be here for you any time you wish to visit, we'd love to have you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicholasp...
Godalming
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent spot, thoughtful hosts”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We, parents plus one adult son, much enjoyed our visit.
Jane and her husband Kenny could not have been better "hosts".

The lodge is compact, warm, comfortable and quiet. (And, immediately we had noticed and reported that the microwave cooker seemed to have been damaged, a new one was produced and installed).
We unreservedly recommend this place to visitors to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The lighting in the living room.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Beauly, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything provided that you could want.”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were met by the owner, who ensured we had everything we needed, including a blanket for the dog! She was unobtrusively on hand during our stay. The welcome pack was delicious, the chalet was spotless and very comfortable to return to after a day out walking in the many, diverse venues locally, none of them too challenging for either ourselves or our elderly dog.
For a quiet holiday in beautiful woodland surroundings, you couldn't do better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing