We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, Great hotel + Great company”
Review of Strathpeffer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathpeffer Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Just arrived home from fri-mon break in Strathpeffer Hotel. My husband and i were on a coach tour with caledonian,there were 36 passengers and such a mixture of characters on board. The hotel was beautiful, staff were amazing and friendly. The food was great and plenty of it, the rooms were very clean and a good size. Mimi was a great host and nothing was any trouble to her. Strathpeffer itself was like a step back in time, gorgeous victorian houses and the locals were very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Strathpeffer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 223 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2010

Just returned home from a fab week at the Strathpeffer Hotel. Food was brilliant and plenty of it! Entertainment varied every night and Mimi really looked after us all. great hols....would recommend........

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Just came back from a mon to fri break with glenton coach holiday .good company on the coach wasonly 20 of us .good excurisions every day .had room 28 on second floor at the back could have cried when saw room .had 2 bed side lamps the one nearest to the radiator was think with dust even radiator was same .the loo had new wash hand basin and new w.c.but the bath was stained with ingrained with tide marks .i went to unpack case and would not put clothes in drawers they had like tea stains .the headboard ones our granny would half that was all dusty as well .the cleaners only ever changed towels and made bed never smelt any cleaning matirals .the room was so hot could not get good nights sleep meals were basic nothing fancy .lyn done good party night .shame the maids for bedrooms did not do good job lets hotel down .going in through frount door behinde one of the red chair had dirty towels behinde it still there this morning when left .would not recomend this to any one it needs major face lift

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nell51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Have just returned from our stay at Strathpeffer Hotel and must say that as a party of seven on a bus tour with Urquhart Travel we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The staff were very helpful and friendly, the food was excellent as was the service, the entertainment could have been improved on but was o.k., Lin's party night was great fun. The rooms were clean and we were provided with clean towels daily. A special mention to Peter the barman who worked very hard trying to please his customers. Well done to Lin and all the staff and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triggerAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Having read some bad reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. However, Lin was a smashing host, the staff couldn't do enough for us and we were very well looked after. The hotel is comfortable and great value for money. Some rooms have been refurbished and looked more modern, but even those which have not been given a makeover (lkike mine!) were, as far as I could see, clean and cosy, if a bit old fashioned in furnishings. If some money was put into updating the furnishings and decor in all of the rooms, then it would make the hotel even better. Hot water was plentiful however, and the room was nice and warm, with tea and coffee making facilities and a wall mounted tv. The beds were very comfy and I had a great sleep there! The free bar every night was very good and the bar staff were friendly, good fun and helpful. Entertainment was provided each night and seemed to go down well. Overall, the hotel gives very good value for money. It isn't a five star hotel, but more than makes up for any downside with the friendly and warm welcome provided. The food was well-cooked, had hearty portions and was served quickly and with a smile. Its strongest point is its staff, who were among the nicest I have met, and who just couldn't do enough for us, especially the owner, Lin, who is charming and soooooo helpful, always ready with a smile! I would certainly go back there and have told my friends that it is a nice wee hotel with lovely staff. It is very well-placed for touring to Ullappol, Gairloch, Skye, etc. The village of Strathpeffer itself is quiet but lovely with some scenic walks and there is also a cracking wee cafe right beside the hotel which does delicious home baking. For entertainment in the evenings, there is also the Pavillion which has some really good musical concerts and shows.Overall, I think this hotel has had some bad (and pretty undeserved) press in some of the reviews I have read - but after my experience there, I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuttyami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Before we went to Strathpeffer we read the reviews on the internet and almost cancelled. The reviews were dreadful. However we did go on the trip. The reviews we had read were giving a very negative view of this hotel. Our experience was excellent. While we would agree that the hotel could do with a make-over, we found a warm welcome from Lin, a small, but clean, room, good home - cooked food, which was served by really kindly staff. Breakfast was so good, with unlimited tea and toast, we didn't need any lunch, and dinner was three courses, which, although plain food, was very good quality, and as with breakfast, was filling and satisfying.
There is obviously no pleasing some people, especially considering the price, great value.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroleandjohnBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We were not sure what to expect as we booked quite late and no other hotels available in Strathpeffer and this hotel was rated 8 out 8. However we were pleasantly surprised as we had booked a room for 2 adults and 2 children aged 8 and 15. Expecting one room with a pull out sofa for the kids to share we found ourselves in room 7 which had a little entrance area and bathroom off this with 2 seperate rooms, both very spacious with the children having a bed each. As some of the previous reviews have noted the decor/furnishings are quite worn and old, however all the bedding etc. was clean and the rooms tidy.
This proved to be very good value for money and most enjoyable stay. I am not sure what the negative reviews are about, if you want 5* quality you need to pay the 5* room price and move to a different hotel.
The staff were very friendly and polite especially Lin who we dealt with on most occassions.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank china5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
57 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
807 reviews
14.5 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathpeffer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathpeffer Hotel

Address: The Square | IV14 9DF, Strathpeffer IV14 9DW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: $51 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Strathpeffer Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Strathpeffer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathpeffer Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing