We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine setting but avoid the bus crowds”
Review of Ben Wyvis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
NYC
Level Contributor
213 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fine setting but avoid the bus crowds”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Pros: Lovely setting with a wide variety of rooms at a good price. Good service. Pretty town with great casual restaurant nearby.
Cons: A bit worn at the edges. Watch out for the bus crowds at breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mclpcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    156
    124
    92
    83
See reviews for
64
272
33
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This grand old Victorian mansion has the kerb appeal and is filled with period-reflective furnishings, but a bit of sympathetic refurbishment wouldn't go astray.
Due to its age, the room sizes differ throughout the hotel, the furnishings are age appropriate, and the squeakiness of the floorboards can be regarded as both a blessing and a curse.
The room I stayed in was small with only a single bed, and a crappy tv, but it did have a view over the side garden.
The restaurant was grand, and the dinner we were provided (as part of my tour) was first class, and blew my mind. Not what I was expecting.
The staff do need to work on their level of friendliness, but on a positive, they were helpful.
Overall, this hotel is perfect for a 1-2 night Scottish highland getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedDevil1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The grounds and the facade are great. Good breakfast as well. As for everything - bearable for one night stay. The interior needs a serious update - rather worn down. We arrived around 8pm and the restaurant was closed already, I suppose we were more tired than hungry so did not bother going out - complimentary short bread in the room and some single malt in the bar did the job. Good breakfast, but grumpy staff. The lady at the reception was helpful, but not welcoming whatsoever.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina_Latviune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is an absolutely beautiful, stately old building, set in lovely gardens.

Because of the age of the building, the guest rooms are of varying sizes, which we were unaware of at the time. Some of the other members of our group said they thought they had been give the ballroom, their rooms were so big. Check the photo of the partial floor plan.

We paid the same amount for our room but unfortunately I think we were given the broom closet.
It was a tiny tiny room! The beds were fairly uncomfortable and we couldn’t turn off the heater. We contacted reception and someone came and turned it off when we were out. Later that night it was quite cold and we couldn’t turn it on again.

The little village shops are 2 minutes walk away and if you’re lucky, as we were, you will get to see and hear the local pipe band practicing in the town square!

Be aware that this is an old building and the rooms and furnishings reflect that, but I quite liked the atmosphere and overall, value for money, I would recommend this hotel, but definitely check the size of the room first!

Room Tip: Ask to see a floor plan before you accept your room!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Avntheothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
758 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Hotel needs facelift. Rooms very ordinary, old furniture, squeaky floorboards. Poor choice of beer in bar - half the taps were off during my visit. Slow service. Only saving grace was wifi which was free and had reasonable connection. 2 large bus parties stayed when I was there. Recommend you get down to breakfast before them as dining room becomes very busy very quickly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strathpeffer hotels

glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Myself and my partner spent a relaxing weekend away at the Ben Wyvis and thoroughly enjoyed it. The grounds are magnificent and very well kept, the building itself is Victorian and full of charm. The staff are excellent the level of customer service is very high, food is of high quality and plenty of it. The rooms are a little tired and could do with a little updating but the décor of the room does not take away from the wonderful experience we had, after all the decor does not make your break the food and service and the company you are with do :) The bed was huge and very comfortable and the rooms spotless.
Thanks to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable we will certainly be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo88Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here with a group of hill-walking friends as the Strathpeffer location is very convenient for the Easter Ross hills. The large Victorian hotel is in need of refurbishment and as a consequence accommodation and facilities are only of an average standard. Breakfast is buffet style and the food is also average. The low rate we paid was commensurate with the limitations of the hotel and made it good value overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
24.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
771 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
128 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Wyvis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Wyvis Hotel

Property: Ben Wyvis Hotel
Address: On the A834 Dingwall To Contin/Garve Road, Strathpeffer IV14 9DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Wyvis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Ben Wyvis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Wyvis Strathpeffer
Hotel Ben Wyvis
Ben Wyvis Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing