We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it for what it is”
Review of Ben Wyvis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a HUGE old Victorian home/ hotel that must cost a fortune to keep up The room that we had was of normal size with12 foot ceilings, a decent bathroom, and a decent bed. Not the best bed mind you but decent. Staff was courteous and helpful. Parking is a bit of a problem. Also eating is something of a problem. The dinners were 20 pounds each so we opted to find something out. Good Luck with that. We were there on a Sunday and Monday and the only restaurant that appealed to us thru TA is closed both days. In High season?? What's with that?? Strathpeffer is very small so there ain't much happening. We ate at McKay's. Forget it. Had breakfast at the Ben under the B&B plan. It was good but nothing to shout about.
The grounds were pretty and it was fun walking to the Eagle Stone. Don't miss that. Otherwise, I'll keep on driving.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speckul8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Speckul8r,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for our team at the Ben Wyvis hotel. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be courteous and helpful, as always I have passed these comments on to the team. The Ben Wyvis is defiantly a spectacular building with some fantastic characteristics such as the high ceilings, grand restaurant and great gardens.
I am sorry to hear that you found parking to be a problem and that you struggled to find somewhere to eat. Had you mentioned either of these issue to our team we would have been delighted to help by offering you some specific requests where possible in our restaurant or recommend some good local places to eat.

Thanks again for your comments.

Best Wishes,

Margret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
There are newer reviews for Ben Wyvis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 586 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

By saying this is the worst place i have ever stayed would be an understatement . The floor in our room had a drop of more than 10cm with the bed head at the lower end .No towels or pillow cases when we checked in (late afternoon) It made Fawlty Towers look like the Westin . They were understaffed in the Dining room (food was reasonable ) and the receptionist that checked us in was rude and when we requested to be moved wasn't the least bit interested . The grounds were untidy and overgrown .The best part about it was the bar staff , very friendly and acccommodating. A warning to people who even think about staying there .... DON'T

Room Tip: don't go by the web site or brochures .. gives you a false sense of grandure
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear John L,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for our team. I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay at the Ben Wyvis hotel and found it to be not as you expected on this occasion.
In regards to your comments about the floor in your room this is due to the age and style of the building, some features are crooked and uneven and our team do their best to manage these whiles maintaining the charm and character of the old building.

I can only apologise for your room not having towels and pillow cases when you arrived, as the reception team explained on arrival we’d had a delay with our delivery and the housekeeping team were doing everything possible to get these items to all the room as soon as they arrived at the hotel. As always, I have passed your comments on to the team who share my disappointment and echo my apologies.

Thank you again for your comments.

Warm regards,

Margret
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ended up staying at this hotel with our cosmos tour group, hotel like a rabbit warren with different levels and passages every where. Bed room had only a double bed, far to small for two big Australians. Did have an ensuite, not big enough to swing a cat in. Cooked breakfast was ok, however most upset with late opening bar, management didn't seem to care. Expensive in house dinner menue.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnb255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear John255100,

Many thanks for your comments and taking the time to leave them for them team.
I am disappointed to hear that you found our hotel to be like a rabbit warren. The long corridors are due to the style and size of the Victorian building built in 1886. I feel this part of the charm and character of our hotel.
In regards to your comments about our menu, we have recently introduced a new menu into our restaurant which will run along side our daily set menu and is individually price to allow guests to chose a dish which they will not only love but will also be in their budget.

Regarding your comment about the management that you felt didn’t seem to care, we are now under new management and I can assure you, I do care and I will be working with the team to improve all aspects of our hotel and the service we offer.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ben Wyvis to see the improvements and restore your faith in our hotel.

Kindest regards,

Margret
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Love this place, it isn't the Hilton but as you would expect in a small country town it has its own character and charm, reminded me of being in an oversize B&B. Great grounds and wonderfull view at the front. Friendly staff, basic clean rooms, good hearty scottish breakfast and nice evening meals. Piano and a little cinema were added extras. This was our second visit and we will come back.

Room Tip: At the front will give you a view of the hills
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter2651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Peter2651,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for our team. I have passed your kind comments on to the team who are always grateful for the feedback. We are, recently under new management and the whole team is working tirelessly to offer our guest the best service. Fantastic comments and guest feedback such as yours goes a long way to motivate and encourage the team to further improve.

I hope to welcome you back to the Ben Wyvis again soon.

Kind Regards,

Margret
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is truly a grand old residence and the upkeep on a building of this age would be astronomical - having said that our room was magnificent but some in our group were less lucky. Some of the plumbing is very old but the rooms are very spacious and the beds comfortable with crisp clean linen and efficient heating when needed. We actually looked out of our window and were able to see snow on the tops of the mountains in the distance. Beautiful gardens. Food could have been better and the staff were a little off-hand - possibly because English was not their first language

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FOSSHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Fosshill,

Many thanks for your feedback; it is always great to hear guest feedback. As you mentioned the Ben Wyvis is a truly grand old residence, I am very lucky to call it the office. The upkeep of the building can be challenging at times but we do our best to act on issue as soon as possible and our maintenance team do a fantastic job. I am disappointed to hear that the food and staff were not in line with your expectations. As always I have shared your comments with my team who were also sorry to hear this and will focus on improving this in the future.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Margret
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just spent a night at the hotel with my wife, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the room was very comfortable and the
food was good. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We would certainly return, the hotel is very well situated for people touring the north of Scotland.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Alex D,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at the Ben Wyvis hotel. Our team were particularly pleased to hear your comments, the team work tirelessly to offer the best service to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warmest regards,

Margret
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

stayed here a couple of times this year first visit in feb wasn't to good, but must say last visit (may) was brilliant what a difference, food was much better than previous visit will be looking to come back shortly hope its up to same standard keep up the good work

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvh0ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear luvh01s,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for our team. As you may already be aware we have had some changes within the management team at the Ben Wyvis Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you have noticed the improvements and the hard work our team have been doing. I have passed your comments on to the team and we all look forward to you returning very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Debbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
24.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
147 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
806 reviews
24.1 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Wyvis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Wyvis Hotel

Address: Garve Road | On the A834 Dingwall To Contin, Strathpeffer IV14 9DN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: $77 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Wyvis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ben Wyvis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Wyvis Strathpeffer
Hotel Ben Wyvis
Ben Wyvis Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing