We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben Wyvis Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I wouldn't have chosen this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews but my husband booked it as part of a 5pm deal and it was much better than expected. Staff were all lovely and friendly, the room was comfortable although small and a little bit tired - it could have used a really good clean as a few of the nooks and crannies were noticeably dusty, visible without actively looking for it. Our view was of the grounds at the back of the hotel and in autumn with the leaves turning it was beautiful.

Breakfast was fine, the usual selection of cooked stuff, porridge, cereal and toast. I'd have liked to see a better selection of fruit (there were a couple of bowls of tinned fruit) but maybe that isn't so popular when there is cooked bacon on offer! Potato scones would be nicer and more traditionally Scottish than roast potatoes. Dinner was nice, not amazing but more than acceptable given what we paid. We couldn't get a table at the time we wanted either evening, but they could offer one ten minutes before or after which I thought was a bit weird, but not a big deal.

I'd stay there again. Only thing I'd say is avoid the hotel when there is a wedding on. It meant that both the cosy looking bar and the dining room were closed to the public when we were there. If you wanted a drink you had to go to a bar in a bare looking function hall with two tables, and dinner was in a small function room which felt silent and a bit awkward. I have to point out that they did warn us of this on booking though, so can't complain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to the Ben Wyvis, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, we will of course pass on your comments to all our team.

We hope that you will visit us again very soon

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    152
    117
    90
    76
See reviews for
63
259
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carluke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is set in the quiet village of Strathpeffer. On arrival we were greeted by friendly reception staff and quickly checked into our room. The room was clean although the furniture was a little tired and dated, the view we had looked out onto an enclosed roof area so not the best. The food was good, a couple of reviews have mentioned the small menu, the menu is small with three starters and three mains but there was something for everybody. Breakfast was a traditional Scottish buffet style which was a great way to start a day exploring the Highlands. My girlfriend and i decided to eat in the nearby village of Dingwall on the second night as the package we booked only included dinner on the first night. There was a slight hic up at checkout as we were charged for two nights dinner on top of the rate for the room, but after we explained that we had already paid for the meal and ate out the second night the manager was more than happy to take the cost off of the bill.

Overall for the price we paid I can't complain, good location for sightseeing and good food. More suited for older guests too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guests

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Ben Wyvis Hotel, we will pass on your kind comments to all our team. We hope that you will visit us again very soon.

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just home today from a 3 day visit, and we enjoyed it very much, staff were very kind especially Natasha! Food was good, wine was good and room was very comfortable and very cosy. Nice walks round about and the victorian feeling was still there in parts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BraveheartWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guests,
Extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Ben Wyvis Hotel recently. We will of course pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team at the hotel.
We hope that you will visit us in the very near future.
Kind Regards
The Management and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Ben Wyvis Hotel for 5 days at the beginning of September 2012. We had a lovely comfortable room with great views

The food was excellent and the staff were really friendly and they couldn’t do enough for us.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerendipitousD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guests

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to us at the Ben Wyvis, we will of course pass on all your kind comments to all our team here at the hotel. We hope that you will return soon to see us all again

Kind Regards

The Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

When I booked I saw some of the trip adviser views and was slightly concerned. I said to the wife this is going to be interesting. We arrived for a two night stay 27th Sept. 12. Delightful drive up to the hotel with lovely mature trees. Large old building which seem well maintained both inside and out. Staff helpful to a point. Obviously used to accepting lots of touring coaches. But nevertheless food was excellent and served quickly. We stay at lots of hotels during the year and haver never had such fast service of three courses. 30 minutes start to finish. Normally we could wait two hours at some hotels. Dining room large and pleasant 1887. Drink lounge very large. Staff very good on the whole, pleasant as well. Our room had a pleasant outlook at the front but a bit small. Large double bed. Bathroom up todate. Our stay beyond my expectations. Staff and management to be complemented. An excellent stay. I forgot to add that we only paid £178-00 for two nights Dinner, Bed and breakfast. Extras plus obviously. Incredible value for money these days.

Room Tip: Only two sized rooms. Small and slightly larger. So ask for a larger bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Williamthebrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review it was a pleasure to read, we have passed your comments onto all the staff concerned. We hope you will stay with us when you visit the area again.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stopped at this hotel on a bus tour . It was very old, however it was unique. The bed was a full size...smaller than what we are used to . I'd ask for 2 twin beds if I stayed there again . A band was playing in the evening, however we were too tired to stay up . Our group was served a 4 course meal, either chicken or lamb. I had leg of lamb for my evening meal and I thought it was "to die for" . So delicious . We didn't have much of a chance to explore the town .

Room Tip: It's better to push twin beds together, unless you're use to a smaller full size bed .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkfargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and our team, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, we will pass on your comments to everyone here at the hotel. We aim to make everyone feel part of our little family here at the Ben Wyvis. We look forward to seeing you again and hope it will not be too long before you visit us once more.


Kind Regards

The Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has had some upgrading. You will get good service, well cooked food with good choices. Nothing was too much bother for the staff. The rooms were warm and cosy. This s good base to explore strathpeffer and surrounding area.

Room Tip: Single rooms are a bit on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicbirdUdddingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guests

We are so please you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Ben Wyvis, our aim is to ensure all our guests enjoy their time with us whilst at the hotel and hopefully feel part of our small family. We will of course pass on your kind comments to everyone. We hope you will visit us again very soon and we look forward to seeing you.

Kind Regards

The Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
23.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
13.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Wyvis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Wyvis Hotel

Property: Ben Wyvis Hotel
Address: On the A834 Dingwall To Contin/Garve Road, Strathpeffer IV14 9DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Wyvis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ben Wyvis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Wyvis Strathpeffer
Hotel Ben Wyvis
Ben Wyvis Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing