We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Ben Wyvis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at the Ben Wyvis Hotel recently on business and am very happy to write a favorable review. The hotel is part of the Crerar Hotel chain who based in Edinburgh operate a number of hotels across Scotland. The Ben Wyvis is grand imposing Victorian venue in the very pretty town of Strathpeffer north of Inverness. The hotel picture up a fantastic image of Victorian grandeur and for a very reasonable £39 per night provided an excellent spot, and surprising comfort. The Jacobite Restaurant is very again surprisingly good, the staff are all obligingly helpful, and efficient – All for £39! – Very well done well worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy_hartigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind review on the Ben Wyvis Hotel. We do work very hard here to try an ensure that all our guests have a pleasant stay. Please consider staying with us again when visiting the area.
Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    160
    129
    98
    84
See reviews for
68
285
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Bought a deal with 5pm to stay in this hotel for 2 nights....it was cheap and unfortunately it's true what they say 'you get what you pay for'. Strathpeffer is a beautiful Victorian Village but sadly it's full of hotels that only cater for coach trippers and felt disappointed with the standard of accommodation and food in the area. The hotel from outside is stunning like the village and reception and downstairs areas nice. The staff really nice and friendly and the food on the first night was acceptable considering what we paid....BUT I have NEVER slept in a more uncomfortable bed and could hear everything in the rooms all around me....especially the man next door chatting then snoring. On the 2nd night (a Monday) we decided to go out for dinner...BUT (again) the only place recommended for dinner in the area 'The Red Poppy' was shut for dinner. We make the mistake of trying another local hotel for dinner and what a mistake that was....frozen processed over priced food is all I'm going to say about it. Come on Strathpeffer I'm Proud to be Scottish & we can do better than this for our tourists. If visit again I'll probably be on a coach trip and too old to drive myself to Strathpeffer....sorry!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackPudGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay recently at the Ben Wyvis Hotel.
All the staff work extremely hard to make sure your stay was as enjoyable as possible.
We hope you will return to the Ben Wyvis when visiting the area again.
Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Pleasant surprise at standard of this hotel. After booking a short break consulted trip advisor and found a significant number of poor reviews so was concerned about the visit. The hotel sits in impressive and well maintained grounds. A request for ground floor rooms due to mobility issues was accommodated which was really helpful and all the staff were very pleasant. Our evening meal was lovely with a good choice and huge helpings. Breakfast was also great and set us up for the day a help yourself buffet of traditional fried breakfast goodies and cereal fruit and yogurt for the more disciplined guests! Would have no hesitation in staying here again great value for money.

Room Tip: Request front view room to take advantage of beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Guesst we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at the Ben Wyvis, we will pass on your kind comments to all our team who like us will be happy that you enjoyed your time with us, Our aim to make is to ensure that all our guests enjoy their time with us however long they are at the hotel. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future

Kind Regards

The Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

we went back as the last time we were there 2 years ago it was first class but is now only average the staff are still very helpful, we were on a wine&dine break the food was not as good as before also the bar prices were very high, our rooms were clean&comfortable and the one night that there was entertainment was good,we have been to several hotels run by this company and they all seem to have different standards some are better than others,we will not be going back in a hurry

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to the Ben Wyvis, we are disappointed that it was not as good as your previous visit to the hotel. We will of course discuss your comments with all our team here at the hotel.

We hope that you will in time reconsider and that in the future choice to visit us again

Kind Regards

The Management and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Pulling up to the hotel it is a very imposing building which looks fantastic from the outside. We were tired and had driven miles so quickly checked in to one of the hotels 'best' rooms - and it wasn't cheap!
On further inspection ( once I had been made to pay for my room up front first - do they have runners? it wouldn't surprise me), I found a large amount of irritating housekeeping and maintenance problems to include curtains half hanging off the rails (not seen when drawn back), a loo which would not stop after flushing, a shower that took 20mins to turn off, waste basket from previous guests not emptied, an extension lead coursing across the floor.......I could go on but will continue now to review the joke of the food served there.
We were advised that dinner came in 'sittings', so we opted for the first 'sitting' at 6.30pm. We had no choice of A la Carte menu although the hotel info states that it DOES have an Al a Carte. We were given a set menu and told we had to order the starter, main AND dessert at the same time? (what's that all about? - to defrost the dessert I expect) of what I can only describe as 1970's retro food which was absolutely appalling and of a very low standard to include pate that had obviously been sat in the kitchen for hours as it was dry, the salad had no dressing, it was as limp as and it was obviously not cooked or prepared on the premises. The main course was Venison Casserole which was bland, tough and mass produced, the dessert was profiteroles which were still frozen!!
Breakfast is from the Bain Marie, the eggs were dried out (again there for hours). no choice of a Continental breakfast and yet again this hotel information sheet stated that this was available. There was nothing appealing about the inside of this hotel, and indeed we did speak to the General Manager who stated that he had acted on previous reviews on here? I don't darned well think so. Don't go there, it's a gorgeous building with an awful interior in every way. Get it sorted once and for all eh Mr General Manager?

Room Tip: I cannot recommend a room in this hotel, we booked a garden view, THE best room in the hotel and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest

As we discussed yesterday we are very disappointed that we did not meet with your expectations at the hotel and hope that you will accept our sincere apologies . Please let me assure you that we do take all customer feed back seriously, I have already discussed your comments with the relevant members of our team and we will work together towards improving all the areas you have mentioned, as a team we work very hard to look after all our guests to ensure they enjoy their stay.

Kind regards

The General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strathpeffer hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a let down. The exterior makes this hotel look fabulous. It's no wonder they make a big thing of it on the website!

Inside - not sure it should even have 3* status but the rooms are clean and I'd be fine with the rooms if they didn't cost the same as a 5* hotel for the night! Upgrade the rooms or downgrade the price.

My main beef was the food. I wouldn't be writing this if it weren't for the food as all other observations are pretty minor. But my goodness it was BAD!

Warm mackerel served on fridge-cold potatoes? Followed by a "seafood medley" of foul tasting bland fish, locked together in one lump and collectively undercooked in the middle! No idea how you manage that but it was pretty horrible.

Unbelievably, I couldn't even eat the veg! The turnip was overpoweringly pungent and inedible. Probably the worst meal I've ever had in a hotel.

I agree with previous reviews - the pace of the service made the factory nature of it pretty obvious.

Great potential but one to avoid unless they sort all this out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushi_Ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest we are very disappointed that we did not meet with you expectations on your recent visit to the Ben Wyvis Hotel, as with all feed back that we receive we will discuss with all our team to ensure that improve on the areas you have mentioned. As a team we all work hard to deliver the experience our guests expect and hope you will accept our apologies for not meeting them, we do hope that you will return again in the future to see that we can deliver what we promise

Regards

The Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Works mainly with big groups, small rooms, bathroom quality very low for a 3star hotel
Decent breakfast, avoid the restaurant for dinners at all costs, dishes limited, only heated at the moment of the request.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabrizio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest

We are extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Ben Wyvis, we will of course review your comments and pass your feed back to all our team to see if we can improve any areas you have mentioned.

Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
24.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
874 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Wyvis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Wyvis Hotel

Property: Ben Wyvis Hotel
Address: On the A834 Dingwall To Contin/Garve Road, Strathpeffer IV14 9DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Wyvis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ben Wyvis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Wyvis Strathpeffer
Hotel Ben Wyvis
Ben Wyvis Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing