We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely tearoom”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Wee Swally Victorian Tea Room
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely tearoom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Found this this hidden gem on Saturday 19th October. Had delicious Scottish rarebit(Scottish cheddar and egg mixture on a toasted muffin) perfect for a quick snack followed by the best Victoria Sponge I've had in years, decent tea and coffee too. A very pleasant owner. We enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank louforart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little Tea Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We happened upon this lovely little tea room after a morning out in the car. We parked up in the square and noticed the sign for Victorian Tea Room so thought we may as well try it. Upon entering we were greeted by a lovely lady who was talking to some of the customers. It's a small tearoom with approximately 5 tables but it's quaint, warm, welcoming and homely. The food was equally as good as the service, we had scottish rarebit on a muffin which I could have eaten again it was so nice and a jacket potato with tuna mayo which was also delicious. The whole menu sounded lovely, it was a just shame we were full or else we would have tried the cakes.
Hidden Gem which you must try if you're in the area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pee12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you're in Strathpeffer try finding this Victorian styled tearoom situated in a house just off the square. A variety of teas, (loose leaf), coffees, Lovely open sandwiches, Cakes are home baked and lovely. The Victoria sponge was to die for. All served on bone china. Lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hughcunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stumbled upon this little place while we were trying to find one of the other cafes in Strathpeffer. And what we found was old world charm, bone china, interesting herbal soft drinks (I had a refreshing nettle cordial), good quality ingredients in the sandwiches and toasties (I'm sure the cakes were equally well made), friendly service and excellent value. It set us up perfectly for the second half of our drive north to Ullapool.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wee Swally Victorian Tea Room also viewed

Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
 
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing