We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality.”
Review of Craigvar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigvar
Ranked #1 of 9 Strathpeffer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed at Craigvar in September. The location is great, in the heart of the village, and the house is beautiful. Craigvar is a family home and I was made to feel very welcome by Margaret and her family. The breakfasts are fantastic. I would recommend a stay to anyone.

Room Tip: There are two double rooms, both of which are beautiful, and only one single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_S_M_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 137 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I booked into Craigvar for a night as we were attending a concert in the Pavillion.
We were greeted with a very warm welcome by the couple before being shown to our room.
The cleanliness and attention to detail in this B&B is outstanding to say the least.
We had quite a lengthy chat in the morning after breakfast and when we left to return home to Wick we felt as though we had known this couple for years.
A very comfortable and personable establishment.
We will return and will recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

booked this for my stay while attending the wedding of 2 good friends. All the other good reviews are well deserved. It was by far the best accommodation in Strathpeffer. Upon arrival I was immediately given home made shortbread and a cuppa. Lovely welcoming couple who couldnt do enough for you. Beautiful clean room and Ironing board put out in the morning to iron my outfit. They even called in a girl to do our hair and she only charged £12 each for a curly style! Result. The B and B is a wee gem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therealmcbeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a first class experience of Craigvar, from our initial welcome to our talks after breakfast before leaving. The room was extremely well appointed and the welcoming glass of sherry in the room was an excellent introduction. The house has been modernised and furnished to a high standard and completely in sympathy with the age and style of the handsome Georgian building .Located in the centre of the village of Strathpeffer was ideal for the central square and shops.

The facilities in the rooms provided everything we needed and the appointments were most comfortable - and tasteful. We would have no hesitation in warmly recommending Craigvar to any of our friends, including the most discerning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This B & B is Superb. There was a very friendly welcome when I arrived. The room was VERY comfortable and Very well appointed. This is an impressive place to stay, the cleanliness is of the highest standard. The attention to detail is amazing. The food was delicious, well presented and promptly served. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for my hosts, who were helpful and informative. The location is Central to the village but at the same time retains its privacy.
I would DEFINATELY recommend CRAIGVAR to anyone looking for accommodation in this area.
It gets 10 out of 10 from me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balbirnie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This B&B is outstanding. Our room was beautifully furnished with everything we needed (though no shampoo, oddly!) including fruit, water, shortbread and tea-making facilities. Our twin beds were very comfortable with high quality linens. Breakfast was generous and comprehensive with attentive service. Most welcoming hosts, friendly and helpful. We can highly recommend a stay here in a unique Victorian spa village.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moiquise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Craigvar is literally in the centre of Strathpeffer overlooking the square so very convenient for the local places of interest. It is an impressive, clean, country establishment and the owners were very welcoming. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable and our double rm overlooked the square so excellent for viewing the bagpipers display on Saturday the evening! In keeping with the age of the house, furniture was of the antique squeaking variety but could probably do with a bit of t.l.c. or even replacing with something a bit more comfy. Lounge available. Good breakfast next to the grand piano!

One word of warning re: Strathpeffer - if you are NOT booked into a dinner, bed & breakfast establishment there is, NO WHERE TO EAT IN THE EVENING at reasonable cost, especially if you are reluctant to battle it out as a non resident with the large coach parties at one of the local hotels. Unbelievably there is no cosy pub down the road or even a friendly fish & chip shop! As we were reluctant to drive anywhere we resorted to sandwiches from the supermarket - and we weren't the only ones!! Evidently the Red Poppy Restaurant normally fits the bill but is currently moving to a new location in the village... you have been warned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinTinCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
810 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
421 reviews
16.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigvar

Address: Craigvar The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Strathpeffer
Price Range: $134 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craigvar is a distinctive house offering luxury accommodation and wonderful food and is in the centre of Strathpeffer, an outstanding conservation village in the Highlands of Scotland. It was built in 1839 and has been offering hospitality more or less continuously ever since. Resident host Margaret Scott aims to give all guests a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Craigvar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigvar Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing