We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great amenities [Gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room]”
Review of Mackay's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mackay's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great amenities [Gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room]”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Friendly staff, accomodation in Travel Lodge very clean and modern. Entertainment okay, if you like that sort of music. Not a lot to do in Village, but some nice walks. Overall a nice Hotel to stay in, would go again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marklanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    137
    79
    63
    56
See reviews for
66
179
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This hotel is one to avoid at all costs. Our room was supposed to be an apartment, im sure it was staff quarters, an apartment to me is more than one room and a bathroom, which stank of urine. The food was very bland and very small portions. The decor of the older buildings is in need of a lick of paint, all in all it is a very shabby place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giantsrfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strathpeffer hotels

cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed here over 4 nights on a coach holiday. Hotel stuck in a time warp and in need of a lick of paint etc. Having said that, we enjoyed our stay. Restaurant clean and and well presented. Good breakfasts. Evening meals were ok, but with a limited choice. Didn't like the dated idea of being seated with strangers, or choosing evening meal at breakfast. This holiday was at little cost and good value which eased the gripe. Evening entertainment good and on every night. Drinks £1.50 per pint. Staff were helpful and cheerful. The surrounding area is beautiful and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ursron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Traveled here on a 5 day Urqhart break and what value for money at a cost of £149. Yes our room was small but had everything you needed, clean comfortable bed, en-suite, tea and coffee and tv. Meals weren't going to get a michellin star but they were hot , filling and tasty. Nothing was a problem for the friendly and efficient staff from the warm welcome on arrival to the cheery good moring at breafast and still a smile at dinner. Leisure facillities were great and the hot tub very relaxing after a day tour the beautiful highlands. Travel, accomodation, meals and 3 tours well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albalass_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIRE
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

My sister and I stayed here while on a David Urquart tour. Taking into consideration the price paid for a 3 day break at this hotel it's very hard to find fault. The staff were excellent taking customer service very seriously. Both the manager and assistant manager, when on duty, constantly checked on guests to ask if all was well. The spa and leisure center is very clean and welcoming with jacuzzi, pool, steam room and sauna. Entertainment was provided on both nights which was enjoyable made even more so by members of both coach parties spending the weekend there. The £1.50 bar also helped.
Only faults I could find were there were no hairdriers, irons or toiletries in the rooms. The rooms, although pretty basic, were clean with plenty of clean towels. Food was a small portion of school dinner standard for evening meal but breakfast was very tasty and plentiful .
All in all - for the price we paid for the D Urquart tour we had excellent value for money. After all we didn't expect the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thingimayjig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

This is a very poor hotel. We could not open the window in our room, a rip in the sheet on the bed no shower and the food the worst we have had in an hotel. Tinned vegetables and fruit. No fresh produce at all. Fruit juices are from cheap concentrate. Breakfast was nothing like a proper breakfast and even the porridge was poor. The friendliness of the staff did not make up for the other deficiencies

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paugood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewaton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Although the decor in this hotel looks a bit tired, everything else was great. Staff were fantanstic. Meals were good although vegetarian options could have been better. Entertainment was very good. My party of 44 were reluctant to leave.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marchbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
578 reviews
2.6 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
146 reviews
15.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackay's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay's Hotel

Property: Mackay's Hotel
Address: The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackay's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Mackay's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Strathpeffer
Mackay's Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing