We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just my thoughts”
Review of Mackay's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mackay's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Reviewed September 3, 2008

we have just returned from this hotel after a stay with david urghart travel , the food was reasonable but sometimes cold ,the choice wasnt great either , however the puddings were delicious , the service was good most days but some days it wasnt so good , ..they were happy to exchange choices of meals if you didnt like them for any reason ..ie one of my fish dishes contained bones and i was put of the dish by this so they gave me another meal choice , they were also happy to make a special childs meal ie chips nuggets or burger etc for our little girl

the shower in room the shower cable was very dirty and the shower switch broke the day after we arrived , the room was clean and tidy but was very basic ,no phone , very old portable tv , no dvd player etc ..

the pool was very small , but im told the gym and sauna etc was ok
overall a little dissapointing , i would suggest update the rooms , improve the pool size and make the meal times self service buffet style ..and re vamp the front of the hotel its very tatty looking ..

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vandeenaminis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 417 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2008

The staff make this hotel. I have never met a friendlier atmosphere, nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are fine, food o.k., staff perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisamscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

mum and i stayed in the hotel 3 nights 4 days enjoyed the meet and greet by the lovely bubbly Lorna, room keys are quickly dispensed and in no time your luggage is at the door our room was at the front of the hotel so we had a good view of the village .The beds were clean as was the room the bathroom wasn't up to much and the shower was a nightmare .Breakfasts and dinners were always tasty,hot and well presented with plenty of choice the staff were cheery and pleasant nothing was a problem to them <the waiters in some hotels in Spain could take a leaf out of their book>. The entertainment suited the majority of the age group in the hotel this is a warm comfy hotel to which we would return we were there with an Urquhart tour it is definitely value for money and if like us you might meet some lovely people along the way

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

I spent 3 nights at this hotel.It could be doing with an upgrade.It is quite grubby in parts and smells a bit damp.Our room had no shower or telephone..It did have an old fashioned bath.The rooms were clean but gave the impression of being grubby because it needed painted.
The food was no more than adequate and on occassions it did not achieve adequacy.
However,hotel has plus points.It has fantastic staff.Without exception they were all very friendly and attentive.ossibly the best staff I have seen in a hotel in recent times.
Entertainment was on in the bar on each of the 3 nights.
I only paid £80 for this weekend and despite the failings in its presentation standard I still think it was value for money.
The owner just needs to have a look at the pennies and get moving on bringing the hotel into the 21st century.
Finally I just want to emphasize the importance the staff play in this hotel.They were great young people and I thank them for making my stay all the more pleasureable.

Stayed: October 2007
4  Thank GreatGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

We have just returned from the Mackays Hotel, the room was very comfortable, and spacious and well equiped.
The food very acceptable, served quickly and well presented .
The coach tours were well organised, and all together a really enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank annegreatwyrley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

This hotel is in a good position on the town square. We were based in the older part of hotel were the decor was clean but basic and the bedding and towels were spotless.The food was very good and plentifull.The entertainment was enjoyable.Most of the staff were pleasant and friendly altogether a pleasant stay.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank zappaWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We stayed here in July 2007 as part of a David Urquhart coach holiday - 4 nights for £199, so we weren't expecting a four star hotel.

Just as well. The hotel is old, shabby and just about 2 star. Our room was a reasonable size, but the ensuite consisted of a cheap 70s style plastic bath with a rubber shower attachment - no way to use this standing up so back to hair washing at the sink - I haven't done that in thirty years! No complimentary bathing products were supplied.

14" TV had remote held together with sellotape. Weirdly it would only select channels from 5 up. When management were asked to fix this their response was that they had no spares - indeed that we were lucky to have a remote at all!

Despite the hotel having been closed for three weeks immediately prior to our arrival our room had a dead bulb in the (one) bedside lamp, which was promptly changed.

Restaurant wasn't too bad. It's in two parts - an inner section which is cramped and very gloomy indeed and a sunlounge affair which is cramped but bright, but intolerably hot when the sun is on it.

Food was OK, choice of 3 mains and a couple of starters. Service was pretty hopeless; the staff consisting of either Eastern European youngsters or Scottish young people. No Maitre' D meant that they ran around like headless chickens most of time.

The hotel has no lounge to speak of - it has an annex with a bar where the evening 'entertainment' happened - which was usually a club singer of very average quality.

Major disappointment for us was that the leisure facilities were closed following the Legionnaire's outbreak.

Under no circumstances would I stay here again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
610 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strathpeffer Hotel
Strathpeffer Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
223 reviews
4.2 mi away
National Hotel Dingwall
National Hotel Dingwall
#3 of 3 in Dingwall
170 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackay's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay's Hotel

Address: The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: $71 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackay's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mackay's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Strathpeffer
Mackay's Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing