We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Museum Cafe

Museum Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“great home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I've been a number of times to the cafe,with both friends and family.It is clean and friendly and the cooking is excellent.Their macaroni cheese and hand-made chips is unmissable.They offer all sorts of staples such as mince and tatties and stovies.The cakes are excellent value too,Well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mofos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    23
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Strathpeffer Museum cafe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great setting, very friendly staff, the food was wonderful, there was even biscuits for our German shepherd. We had between our family, chips, veg soup, tomato soup, Tuna melt, cakes and drinks. This was all piping hot, the tomato soup was fabulous, the cakes were so moist. We visited twice in our two week holiday and we have promised ourselves that we will be back on our holiday next year. The staff are so friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Vague about name of cafe, but this is about the one on the old Strathpeffer railway station platform, next to the Museum of Highland Childhood. Very friendly, light hearted service, greatly appreciated. Lovely soup choice, dangerous cake and scone offering. We were there for lunch, but according to the menu the breakfast options seemed awesome and terrific value....we'll be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonVectis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Strathpeffer Museum Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had the ploughmans lunch which was very tasty and on our way out we noticed the cake stand, well deserved a second visit the cakes look delicious!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A perfect stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We called in to the Museum Cafe for afternoon tea on a hot and sunny day. The cafe is located in the old railway station, with the outside seating actually on the old platform beneath the old Victorian columned glass roof. The service and quality of the home cooked food and baking was excellent, and in such a quaint setting, we really enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hillcrestroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Cafe also viewed

Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
 
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
Dingwall, Ross and Cromarty
 
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
Contin, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Museum Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing