We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value for money”
Review of Linnmhor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Linnmhor House
Ranked #3 of 9 Strathpeffer B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just returned after a 3 night stay in this remarkable B&B, which is more like a 4/5 star hotel! The owners, Rhona and Michael, are charming - welcoming; efficient and providing a level of service that puts most hotels to shame.
The house itself is lovely. Built in 1901, it is full of character and furnished with flair with a wide range of "antiques".The rooms were spotless, and decorated in a contemporary way, with tweed curtains and throws. Our double bedroom was spacious and very well furnished with a pleasant seating area, as well as a very comfortable bed. Clean linen and towels were provided every day and the en suite facilities were spotless. A range of high quality toiletries was provided.
Even though the house etc. were wonderful, there is no doubt that the highlight of the stay was the food, which was truly remarkable! The breakfast demonstrated the imagination and attention to detail that is the hallmark of Linnmhor House, with a wide range of fresh fruit, home made bread and a bewildering choice of hot dishes, all prepared on demand. However, the best part was dinner! We would urge any guest visiting to book to have their evening meal as part of their stay. The food id to die for!
With 2 choices for each course, with dietary and personal preferences catered for; with the food cooked freshly and presented in a way that you usually only find in a top notch restaurant; and served in an atmospheric dining room with a real fire; and all for £30 for 3 courses including wine and coffee and mints, it must be the bargain of the decade!
We cannot recommend this establishment highly enough and we certainly intend to return.

Room Tip: Go for the doubles as they are more spacious than the twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canda_arm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in Linmhor house for just one night. despite our very late arrival our hosts were happy to help - they gave a hand with our luggage, helped us to get organized in our rooms and tol d us that all the administrative details can wait until morning.
The rooms were really nice and comfortable. The food was Great! Real Scottish breakfast.
The Linnmhor House is recommended for every traveler away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a great place to stay. The house has wonderful period features and has been tastefully decorated. The dining room has lovely wood panelling and a wood fire in a traditional fireplace. The evening meal was really lovely - contemporary Scottish fare and very well cooked. Great breakfast too, with a lovely fruit salad, homemade oatmeal bread and a choice of cooked breakfasts including a great kedgeree. The owners are very friendly, and I hope to come again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALISON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed one night at the beginning of June and thought it quite exceptional. The house (and our bedroom) was spacious, full of character and furnished in keeping with its period (early 20th C). The bed was large and very comfortable, plenty of storage, average size shower room. Spending more than one night would not have been a chore.

We had booked to stay in for dinner and the food, with a choice at each course, was of a very good restaurant standard. Breakfast started with the best, most comprehensive fresh fruit salad we have ever been offered! and the cooked elements were a welcome change from the normal full English/Scottish, using a wide range of local ingredients.

We would very happily visit again, recommend it to everyone and even go so far as to say it was worth a detour in an itinerary in order to experience Linnmhor House

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent 1 night at Linnmhor and would say that "guest House" or "bed and breakfast" simply do not do it justice.
Fantastic accommodation all round and the food was worthy of a top class restaurant. We couldn't believe the menus and opted to stay in for dinner and it was worth it! We'd highly recommend that you have dinner, freshly cooked by Rona , in the cosy candlelit dining room by the log fire.
Rona and Michael are very welcoming and deserve full credit for their hard work and excellent taste. We have no hesitation in highly recommending it - definitely where we'd go back to if we're next in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philomena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is by far the best Bed and Breakfast that we have stayed in.It is more like a boutique hotel than a B&B. The accommodation is luxurious and retains many period features. The hositality and food is superb. Rona and Michael are so accommodating and work to your timetable not theirs - how refreshing! If you want a true taste of highland hospitality this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The kingsize room is large and big enough to accommodate an extra childs bed. The room was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We came here for a couple of nights as part of a weekend to see the band Dr Feelgood at the Pavilion, and were warmly welcomed. Our evening meal was absolutely excellent, eaten by candlelight in front of a blazing open fire , and we had the dining room to ourselves - a special treat. Really nice bedroom, huge comfy bed and a good sleep.
Breakfast was also excellent if a little more adventurous than the usual B&B, my haggis on a rosti with chantrelles etc was superb, and good advice from Michael about the area (and a brilliant wood fired pizza place in Cromarty we'd never have found)
All in all a brilliant weekend in a lovely original Arts and Crafts house which Michael and Rhona are looking after well, and I wish them all the best - maintaining a house like that isn't easy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strathpeffer hotels
0.5 mi away
Craigvar
Craigvar
#1 of 9 in Strathpeffer
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holly Lodge & Cottage
Holly Lodge & Cottage
#2 of 9 in Strathpeffer
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Strathpeffer Hotel
Strathpeffer Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnmhor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnmhor House

Address: Linnmhor House Park Road, Strathpeffer IV14 9BP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Strathpeffer
Price Range: $62 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnmhor House is a fully refurbished Edwardian villa offering superior quality, luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in a beautiful Highland location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Linnmhor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linnmhor House Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing