We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Class all round!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linnmhor House

Linnmhor House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Linnmhor House
Ranked #2 of 8 Strathpeffer B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“1st Class all round!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent 1 night at Linnmhor and would say that "guest House" or "bed and breakfast" simply do not do it justice.
Fantastic accommodation all round and the food was worthy of a top class restaurant. We couldn't believe the menus and opted to stay in for dinner and it was worth it! We'd highly recommend that you have dinner, freshly cooked by Rona , in the cosy candlelit dining room by the log fire.
Rona and Michael are very welcoming and deserve full credit for their hard work and excellent taste. We have no hesitation in highly recommending it - definitely where we'd go back to if we're next in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philomena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
55
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is by far the best Bed and Breakfast that we have stayed in.It is more like a boutique hotel than a B&B. The accommodation is luxurious and retains many period features. The hositality and food is superb. Rona and Michael are so accommodating and work to your timetable not theirs - how refreshing! If you want a true taste of highland hospitality this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The kingsize room is large and big enough to accommodate an extra childs bed. The room was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We came here for a couple of nights as part of a weekend to see the band Dr Feelgood at the Pavilion, and were warmly welcomed. Our evening meal was absolutely excellent, eaten by candlelight in front of a blazing open fire , and we had the dining room to ourselves - a special treat. Really nice bedroom, huge comfy bed and a good sleep.
Breakfast was also excellent if a little more adventurous than the usual B&B, my haggis on a rosti with chantrelles etc was superb, and good advice from Michael about the area (and a brilliant wood fired pizza place in Cromarty we'd never have found)
All in all a brilliant weekend in a lovely original Arts and Crafts house which Michael and Rhona are looking after well, and I wish them all the best - maintaining a house like that isn't easy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night after our wedding, Michael and Rona were so helpful and lovely. The house is decorated lovely and our room was big, clean and a comfy bed. We had a bathroom in the room which was also very clean and well decorated. Breakfast was amazing!!! Would stay again if in the area and would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowLlaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The service was superb and Rona and Michael very frienly and welcoming.
Food very good but if anything a little elaborate for a small guest house.
Twin rooms very clean but a little cramped with no wardrobe if staying more than a couple of days.But otherwise cannot recomend highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had booked ahead for accomodation but decided to have dinner only around 5pm. However, this did not seem to phase Rona at all and we were served a delicious meal with really nice wines to accompany it. Michael acted as our waiter and a friendlier one you could not have wished for. The room was nicely furnished and the bed comfortable. B reakfast was also very tasty with enough to set you up for the day ahead. All in all, it was more like staying with friends than at a paying establishment. I cannot recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and were impressed. The room was tastefully decorated, bed very comfortable and warm. The hosts, Michael and Rona were helpful and friendly, provided great recommendations on places to eat and visit. The dinner at the house was delicious and the breakfast simply great. There was no time schedule and you can eat when it suits you. The perfect place to relax and be pampered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodieForres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
1.3 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Dower House
The Dower House
#1 of 1 in Muir of Ord
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnmhor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnmhor House

Property: Linnmhor House
Address: Linnmhor House Park Road, Strathpeffer IV14 9BP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnmhor House is a fully refurbished Edwardian villa offering superior quality, luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in a beautiful Highland location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Linnmhor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linnmhor House Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing