We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Stayed for a week at this hotel on a holiday with Shearings. Food was good from a varied menu - a different dish each day for the evening meal and was not lacking in quantity. Allocated room was on the front overlooking village (we did not pay extra for this). Well furnished and clean although the sash windows might prove draughty in cold/windy conditions. The bed was far from comfortable having a very well worn mattress and creaky base. Obviously, the hotel management either do not inspect these or they have a policy of not replacing them until they fall apart.

Entertainment on most evenings ranging from Bingo to Scottish dancing but the bar left a lot to be desired. No local Scottish ales on tap - only a run of the mill English beer, Guinness and a lager.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Densue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 809 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2009

My wife and I spent a most enjoyable 3-night stay here 18th-21st.September, 2009 on a half-board basis. The room was clean and comfortable and the public areas were spacious with adequate seating despite the hotel being very busy. Evening entertainment was easy on the ear with a different entertainer each evening of our stay.

Breakfast was the usual buffet style for juices and cereals with cooked dishes ordered through your waiter/waitress. Dinner in the evening catered for most tastes with a choice of starters, main courses and sweets. Service was excellent and the staff worked extremely hard as the restaurant was virtually full each night. Coffee is served in the lounge area.

The hotel is situated on an elevated location in the centre of the village. The village itself is totally unique due to its Spa history and is unlike any other highland village. The Victorian architecture is evident everywhere and the restored Victorian Railway Station is a real showpiece. Strathpeffer is also convenient for visits to Dingwall, Inverness and Ullapool.

Having stayed at several other Shearings hotels, the Highland Hotel in Strathpeffer is very much in line with the others and offers clean, comfortable accommodation and, in today's market, offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carimakan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I could not fault the food or the staff, and the rooms are spotless. For an early new year break this was fantastic value and I would definitely return. The village is small and is lacking a Pub or Restaurant for people who want a night out and a bit of a change, but the hotel did offer some nice entertainment. There was no midday meal on our trip so we had no choice but to go on the included excursions as there was nowhere else to get a meal or a drink, but as I said for the price it was fantastic value. They did do meal packs to take away, but rather basic. All in all, Well done Shearings.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItusedtobeNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Victorian listed building. We had a shower in the bathroom, twin beds. Tea/coffee making facilities. We never used the TV in the room. The only thing missing was a phone, but what do you expect of a 2 star? It was as good as some 3 star we have stayed in! There was a choice in the menus each day. The plates were large, and some thought there was too much to eat.
There were a few shops nearby , and places to walk. Our driver took us to different places each day, so there was plenty to see. there was some entertainment at night. The staff were all helpful, and the Chinese manageress was charming. She waved us goodbye as the coach left for the return journey Lovely very warm weather; no coats needed.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flika75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Was very pleased with my recent visit to the Highland Hotel. Room was comfortable, food was great and the entertainment in the hotel each night was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful too. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiddlerjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

we recently (June 09) travelled with a Shearings Coach Tour to the Highland Hotel on a last minute deal, the driver Leo could have been on Mastermind with all his knowledge. Hotel was very clean and warm, in a lovely setting,Strathpeffer is a small Spa hamlet very pretty, buses to Inverness cheap and frequent. Hotel staff were v helpful. The decor was getting a bit tired but then it is a 100 years old! We didn't get a shower in our room ( you need to ask for 1 with a shower when booking) but the bath was ok and plenty of hot water. The food was good and well presented in the pleasant dining room, however as a vegetarian my only gripe would be that almost every dinner had cheese in it but the chef was willing to do me something else. The inc tours were also v good but I wouldn't bother with the opt Loch Ness tour, boring and expensive! We really enjoyed our holiday. Well done Shearings.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highlifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I stayed for a week at the Highland Hotel on a Shearings holiday. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. I thought the menu was good and varied and the staff were very efficient and helpful.


John
Surrey

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SurreyJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
418 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Strathpeffer Hotel
Strathpeffer Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
223 reviews
23.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: $64 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing