We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strathpeffer Surprise!”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Strathpeffer Surprise!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

As part of a Shearings holiday my wife and I stayed at the Highland Hotel In September 2013. The hotel has a prominent situation overlooking the village and although its decor, i.e. oak-panelled lounge and restaurants, tartan carpets, may not be to everyone's taste, it is steeped in late Victorian and Edwardian history when Strathpeffer was the most northerly spa village in the U.K. with a railway running from Inverness.
Our standard room initially had a problem with the bed which was promptly attended to by the hotel manager, Alistair in a very friendly and efficient manner. The room was adequate in size and contained all the usual facilities including t.v.; tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer etc. We had opted for a room with a bath which meant we had to be provided with a hand shower to fit on the bath taps for hair-washing. The standard of cleanliness of the room and throughout the hotel was excellent and a number of the rooms were in the process of being refurbished.
The food provided at breakfast and for the three course evening meal, with different daily menus, was superb. Bar meals were also available during the day. Waiting staff were efficient and friendly serving large numbers very quickly. A special mention has to be made for the waitress, Justine, who was extremely careful and helpful in attending to my special dietary needs.
The entertainment provided was excellent and varied. A highlight was the evening of music and song with the brilliant musician, Raymond Chuchuk together with an appearance of the Ben Wyvis Scottish Dancers.
Shearings included excursions by rail on the 'Kyle Line' from Dingwall to Kyle of Lochalsh; a ride on the Funicular Railway up Cairngorm Mountain and an optional half-day excursion to Inverness.
This was an excellent short break which was extremely good value for money. The hotel staff were always friendly, helpful and cheerful. The village history was wonderfully portrayed in the Pump Room and interesting shops and a cafe occupied the former railway station. For the energetic there were a number of interesting walks in the district. We were fortunate to receive an added bonus.....Good Weather!

Room Tip: Our standard room was on the third floor, which was very quiet and provided a view over the garden t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review.
It's always great to hear that someone has had a fantastic holiday. All the staff work very hard to try to ensure everyone enjoys their holiday. It's lovely to hear that our guests have really enjoyed themselves.

Will pass on all your kind comments to the staff.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    313
    86
    41
    22
See reviews for
84
406
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
257 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a shame about the general condition of this once fine building. It reminded me of an elderly relative left to decline in an old people's home. If could and should be a whole lot better. The staff are great and the entertainment was terrific, but the food was just edible because you were hungry and even then I couldn't stomach some of it. No excuse these days for having to cater for a lot of people all at once or providing tasty food for a good price. The mattresses are a health hazard with no support and springs sticking through the worn ticking, honestly it is so very important to provide a good night's sleep. Are Shearings really so penny pinching that they risk the repeat bookings business? Bad policy to let it get to this stage of wear and where are the showers? Or at least a shower attachment? It lets the rest down. Get on with it Shearings.

Room Tip: If you want a shower make sure you ask for one as some rooms only have a bath and no shower at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrandgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for your feedback.
We are constantly upgrading rooms at the Hotel and shower attachments are available from reception. If you had reported your mattress during your stay we would happily have changed it for you.
Great to hear you found the staff great and the entertainment terrific.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great 4 day self drive break in the middle of August. Room very comfortable and furnished to a high standard.Dietary requirements dealt with very well. Lounge rather dated. Staff very friendly and always helpful. A well positioned hotel for visiting lots of different places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HomebirdNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your break.
Glad to hear the staff looked after you well.

Hope you'll join us again soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back to West Yorkshire after a 7 hour drive. I know it was a long way for a 3 night stay, but it was well worth it. Most Shearings or Bay hotels are much of a muchness. Basic food and accommodation at a fair price, but the Highland was far superior. Our room on the 2nd floor was lovely ,beds made every day inc Sunday , clean and not boiling hot, which most Shearings are. The shower was lovely and powerful too. The food was the same as the other hotels, but just seemed better and tastier. The staff are all very attentive and have a smile. The hotel itself is a beautiful building with a majestic staircase . My only negative comment was there was no entertainment on a Saturday evening , but a good turn on a Friday when most people arrived and go to bed earlier , but apart from this I would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
A seven hour drive is a long way to come and visit us 3 nights. I'm glad it was worth the journey.
We don't have entertainment on a Saturday night during the summer season as we find most of guests make their way to the Square to watch our local pipe band and Highland Dancers.
Glad you enjoyed Fridays’ entertainment and had a great weekend.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A one night stay on route to Orkney Islands. Hotel building looks awsome from a distance but close up looks as if it needs a makeover. Our room was fine but others were not as happy. Food was good but service in the dining room was below par.

Room Tip: No specific suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanleyedmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write your review,

Good to hear you found your room fine and enjoyed the food.

Hope you enjoyed Orkney.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just back from coach tour with Caledonian travel, thanks to driver Robert. This hotel ok not much going on in evenings, drink a bit pricey. Hotel staff friendly, enjoyed the food, single room spacious,room and bed clean, no shower only bath, tv dated and very small.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallysweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write your review,

Glad you found your room spacious and clean and Robert looked after you well.

We are currently upgrading Tvs as we refurbish rooms.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was my first coach holiday with Shearings and was focused not only on the Highlands but also on railways up there. It was very good value for money all round and I was more than satisfied with the Bay Highland Hotel where the holiday was based. it is an old, stately hotel built by the railways over a hundred years ago and is being upgraded in stages - so I can only comment on what I found on 1st floor where my single room was located. I had noticed on reviews that some of the bedrooms in this hotel just had a bath and as I particularly needed a shower, I contacted the hotel to let them know. They were very helpful and I was given this airy room with a good shower. The cleaning on this floor was very good and I thought the 3-course meal each evening was "value for money" with at least 4 choices each evening. A good breakfast was also available. As for the trips - these were excellent, being taken on wild narrow lanes throught he Highlands and with a good driver/courier to give humorous and informative comments. The holiday was "railway focussed" and these were very good giving you the opportunity to see the countryside from a different viewpoint. The funicular up the Cairngorms was optional - but I would strongly recommend it. Staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful at all times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Great to hear you had an enjoyable holiday and enjoyed the excursions.

Hope you'll join us again soon,

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
558 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
128 reviews
2.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
52 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Property: Bay Highland Hotel
Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing