We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time!”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Cotswold Way
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back in time!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Didn't want to be here as I had been bumped out of the Strathpeffer Hotel, where I had booked 10 months previously, along with 14 other couples. Entering this ageing edifice was like stepping back in time! The first thing I saw was another guest complaining he had no shower and being given a rubber hose to put on his bath-taps! We were given a poky little room overlooking the staff car park, which was the dimmest hotel room I have ever strayed in - main lighting consisted of two wall brackets, and the bedside light was not bright enough to read by. Most of the electrical sockets did not work, and the desk light had a faulty switch. The walls, floor and ceiling were paper thin so we could hear everything , including the snoring from the next door room. The bathroom floor squeaked like a pregnant hippo. There were no toiletries. The wallpaper was peeling and the paintwork badly chipped and scratched. Breakfasts were so chaotic it was funny - no tables laid for us, three different waiters took our orders for tea and coffee, but we had no cups to drink it from when it arrived, and no sugar.,No butter or preserves to put on the pasty slices of warm plastic bread which may have been in close proximity to a toaster but probably not actually in one. Cooked breakfast was stale, overcooked and lukewarm and included a dark brown roofing tile which on closer examination turned out to be a portion of hash brown which I think may have been cooked several days before and re-heated for each breakfast since then. Some jugs of warm liquid turned out to be what passed for orange juice, but it seems most of the orange mix had been omitted. The level of staff service was awful - bar staff who don't know their own stock and who charge for double when pouring singles, chambermaids commandeering the tiny lift with laundry trolleys, leaving elderly residents with walking sticks to hobble downstairs, coffee cups left on outdoor tables at breakfast still there at lunchtime. My advice - don't go there!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HMSOldSodbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
As you state at the start of your review you didn't want to stay at the Highland Hotel. I'm afraid it was not our decision to book you out from the Strathpeffer Hotel. I have to disagree with the comments you have made regarding Highland Hotel They certainly contrast with the majority of comments left by other guests.

Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    324
    87
    43
    22
See reviews for
89
421
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

First of all, we didn't book to stay here. We were re-located from the Strathpeffer Hotel which had overbooked (their own admission) and had arranged for us and several other couples to move here instead. All of us were disappointed.

This is predominantly used by Shearings coaches and is consequently aimed at that market - rather than independent travellers. The building looks beautiful externally. Internally it is clean, with tartan almost top to toe (including the coffin sized lift!). I am Scottish, but I do think the hotel has overdone the Scottish-ness of its decor.

Public areas are large, oak lined and sadly quite oppressive in feel. The bedrooms (at least on the third floor) are small, stuffy, and have no showers. Again they were very clean. (We did get a key to a separate room enabling us to shower - so that was helpful)

The hotel billed Breakfast as having 'premium bacon' and 'Cumberland sausage'. However neither was as described; I would describe 'premium' bacon as being locally-produced high quality and it appeared to be neither. Breakfast was also over-cooked including the toast. So overall a disappointment.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor. Rooms do not have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stunning location and architecture.

However this was let down by the service and food.

This was probably related to my expectations on seeing the amazing building in its grandeur.

Many residents appeared happy, and relaxed.

Would recommend for the older generation and then very good VFM

Room Tip: Ask for those already re furbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

There was so much wrong with this hotel.
Walked in, and it looked lovely, but as soon as I entered my room I felt like i'd been transported to 1960. I was part of a large group which was 4 seperate couples. 3 of these were all on the first floor, wheras me and my lot were put right at the top on the third floor. We soon discovered that this was the staff floor??!!
Having setteled in and realised that this was just going to have to do (they were fully booked) I explored the other members of our party's bedrooms. Here i was dumbstruck. I walking into their bedrooms and it was like another world - totally modernised, clean, refurbed and just lovely. I could not believe it.
Dinner on the first night, we went down and the manager in the resteraunt could not find our names stating simply "theres so many of you with the same name" and walking away with nothing else to say. Of course we all had the same name - we are all in the same family!! Eventually we were seated and after waiting 15 minutes we were finally served. Having previously spoke to the receptionist who had ok'd it we requested that the chef plated us up an extra meal for one of our party who would be missing dinner (we had already paid so wanted to get our moneys worth) however this turned into a huge problem and whilst we had a 3 course meal, all we were given for the missing member was a chicken sandwich.
Let me talk about the food, it was basic. The first night 2 of us got really bad food poisoning.

We had to ask the maids into our room by day 3 as they still had not visited. The windows also only opened by about 20 cm and it was the hottest days Scotland had seen in a long time so we all had an incredibly restless sleep as no A.C/fans (not ideal when you have a wedding to attend)

Being someone who works in this industry i was simply appalled at the bad service and attitude of all staff, the terrible standard of food and the unfair dishing out of rooms within the same group of people.

The best thing that happened all weekend was the bingo which I won.

DONT GO HERE, OR IF YOU DO DONT EXPECT MUCH.

Room Tip: DONT. 3rd floor is staff floor, why on earth would you put guests up here?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lottie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
I would be grateful if you could take the time to contact me directly to discuss whether you have the correct hotel.
Our staff accommodation is located is separate building away from the hotel in another area of the village. We certainly have never had any cases of food poising reported.

Alastair Grantham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked a weekend break at the Highland Hotel and found it very good indeed. I had read some reviews that criticised the meals and standard of the rooms but perhaps we had more realistic expectations. Our room was clean and comfortable; the evening meals were delicious with good helpings and the service was excellent. There was a good choice at breakfast. The evening entertainment was appropriate for the hotel and guests. Strathpeffer is a delightful place with nice walks etc. We would hope to return next year for another short holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarTer735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks for leaving such a lovely review.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your weekend and will return to see us next year.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Food and staff were excellent. Nice dining area with plenty of leg room. Bedrooms clean and tidy although as on 3rd floor were in desperate need of updating. Beds were lumpy and uncomfortable. No internet and tv programmes very limited. Sound proofing needed as could hear people next door talking. Plenty of different seating areas and covered outdoor seating area. Lovely location although not much to do in local area. Great highland dancing display with 2 pipers, very enjoyable. Ronnie Ross good but other entertainer too full on - pushing his cd all time. Disappointed that real ales and scotch whisky were not available at the bar. General appearance of hotel good. Would recommend. If our rooms had been better I would have given a very good rating. Disabled access very good.

Room Tip: Choose lower floor for better quality or pay for upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write your review.

Great to hear you enjoyed the food.
We do have a selection of 12 malt whiskies and two local ales available at the bar.
We are currently installing wifi and it should be up and running soon.
Glad you enjoyed the entertainment and found the staff excellent.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed at highland hotel was put on the top floor and had to climb up loads of stairs but can use a lift. Rooms were not too bad the meals were on the small side! lasagne was good,,, ask for a second floor room or a ground room the entertainment was great and location some fantastic views would stay here again.staff were very nice Raymond chuchch is a scream ..........

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mickeyoo2o2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and would come back to see us again.

Thanks for your review

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
578 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
145 reviews
2.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
56 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Property: Bay Highland Hotel
Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing