We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“been, seen, not again”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went by coach - late booking & got a poor room on the 3rd floor. Had requested a shower but only got a bath. Rang reception and they sent someone up with a key for a 'superior; room on 2nd floor. We had to pay an extra £10 per night but it was worth it. Lovely comfortable bed, larger bedroom & bathroom with shower & bath - brilliant. Breakfast good but dinner a bit disappointing. Menu promising but when delivered, disappointing. Service throughout stay was absolutely brilliant - full marks to the staff. Obviously a hotel in the process of upgrading its rooms so bare with them - they're trying. It's clean & warm- in fact we had to turn off the heating in our room, it was too hot. No Wifii which was a bit surprising and not acceptable in this day and age. Even us oldies like to keep up with the news, family, etc Overall, warm, comfortable and great service from staff. From what others in our party said, more rooms need upgrading.

Room Tip: ask for room 203 for a good comfortable bed, bath & shower. Be prepared to pay an extra £10 per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thanks for taking time to write your review.
I’m glad you enjoyed one of our upgraded rooms. We are aware of the situation with wifi and it will installed later this year. It’s great to hear you found the service absolutely brilliant and the rooms nice and warm. We are working on upgrading all of our rooms and recently completed 12 earlier in the year.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 804 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

food poor,rooms very basic most don`t even seem to have showers in bathrooms. Staff very helpful and friendly.Lounge the most uncomfortable i have come across in a very long time.walls seem to be made of paper,noise transference very bad. could hear people in next room having a wee.I was in a downstairs room,and the corridor to my room smelt really bad. very much in need of an upgrade,shame really as beautiful building.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the Highland Hotel. We are working towards upgrading all of our rooms and completed 12 earlier in the year. If you had contacted reception we would have done our best to offer you a alternative room.

It’s nice to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful. I hope you will return and try one of new upgraded rooms.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from the Highlands Hotel Strathpeffer Scotland as part of a coach touring holiday .We found it very disappointing.Once a beautiful, old Victorian building in keeping with the village of Strathpeffer. It is now a tired and jaded hotel. Be aware the standard of the rooms varies greatly . The standard rooms are very small and have poor decoration. We arranged to have a room upgrade. This room was larger with a views over the village, but still had dated furnishings. Food is basic and uninteresting, cooked to a low budget.

Plus points- the staff are all pleasant and friendly wanting to be able to help you enjoy your stay.
the hotel is set in a beautiful and interesting Victorian village.

Room Tip: Do not choose a basic room an upgrade made the stay bearable. These rooms are much larger lighter an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JUDIShrivenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m glad to hear you found the staff friendly and keen to help. Sorry to hear you found your room disappointing. We are constantly upgrading our rooms and completed 12 earlier this year. As you are aware we upgrade rooms available that are big and airy and have lovely views over the village.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we certainly got a surprise at strathpeffer highland hotel this place is in the middle of nowhere hotel is not very welcoming entry is via rear entrance,hotel is not very good for older people although they seem to be the people that stay there including ourselves via coach trips.rooms very dated only a bath in many rooms if you wanted shower you had to go to third floor. entertainment was poor with exceptiom of Scottish singer jonnie ross lift only carried two persons despite 4 coaches in when we were there,beds were clean though drinks not much choice would not return

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Many thanks for taking time to write your review.
We actually have 63 rooms with showers on the ground, first and second floors. It may have been the case that the only rooms that we had left with showers during your staff were on the third floor.
Sorry to hear that you the entertainment poor as you will see from the other Tripadvisor comments most of our guests enjoy the evening entertainment including Ronnie Ross.
Sorry to hear that you won’t be returning but I’m glad you found the Hotel to be clean.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

stayed at the highland hotel for 5 days with a shearings holiday. the hotel was a bit dated but clean, food was plentiful and well cooked. staff were fantastic nothing too much trouble. the room was adequate with a lovely shower/bathroom (room 15). the rooms were also quite warm. entertainment not to bad, but if you don't like Scottish music or bingo there is a quiet lounge.

Room Tip: room 15 had a temperature controlled shower although this was over the bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thanks for your kind review,

Glad you enjoyed your break and the staff looked after you well.

Hope you welcome you back soon,

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have just had the best value for money holiday ever, and can totally recommend the Shearings experience . The hotel has the faded splendour of an old Victorian hotel, the room clean and adequate, the food plentiful and we had a choice of dishes served by attentive and helpful staff. The entertainment was a bonus, good clean fun!!! The village is charming, the locals friendly, and there are lots of walks with lovely views if you choose not to take the tours and do your own thing. We would not hesitate to use this hotel or Shearings again. The only negative experience was that the hotel does not have wi fi and the staff gave wrong information as to where wi fi was available, it is available at the community centre by the way!! Wi fi, we feel is important if you are a long way from home, ( we are from New Zealand) or need to plan your onward journey. Bay Hotels please note, you could also try asking people to be considerate and turn the volume down their tv s ?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

It's great to hear that you found your holiday to be great value for money.
You are right about the situation with WiFi, everyone is using the internet now. We are hoping to have wifi installed later this year.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Room spacious & clean. Entertainment not my cuppa tea. However, the pensioners loved it! Meals, well you won't go hungry (unless you are very fussy). Good portions & lots of vegetables. Choice of starter, mains & desert. Breakfasts will satisfy all. The village is small with not much to do or see. However, I like to travel solo & book a last minute get-away for Sanity's sake! For the price I paid for 3 nights I have no complaints!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank myjugssmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Great to know you left with no complaints.

Hope you'll be back to join us soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
416 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
58 reviews
23.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: $63 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing