We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days at strathpeffer”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 days at strathpeffer”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

stayed at the highland hotel for 5 days with a shearings holiday. the hotel was a bit dated but clean, food was plentiful and well cooked. staff were fantastic nothing too much trouble. the room was adequate with a lovely shower/bathroom (room 15). the rooms were also quite warm. entertainment not to bad, but if you don't like Scottish music or bingo there is a quiet lounge.

Room Tip: room 15 had a temperature controlled shower although this was over the bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks for your kind review,

Glad you enjoyed your break and the staff looked after you well.

Hope you welcome you back soon,

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    320
    86
    42
    22
See reviews for
85
414
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have just had the best value for money holiday ever, and can totally recommend the Shearings experience . The hotel has the faded splendour of an old Victorian hotel, the room clean and adequate, the food plentiful and we had a choice of dishes served by attentive and helpful staff. The entertainment was a bonus, good clean fun!!! The village is charming, the locals friendly, and there are lots of walks with lovely views if you choose not to take the tours and do your own thing. We would not hesitate to use this hotel or Shearings again. The only negative experience was that the hotel does not have wi fi and the staff gave wrong information as to where wi fi was available, it is available at the community centre by the way!! Wi fi, we feel is important if you are a long way from home, ( we are from New Zealand) or need to plan your onward journey. Bay Hotels please note, you could also try asking people to be considerate and turn the volume down their tv s ?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
It's great to hear that you found your holiday to be great value for money.
You are right about the situation with WiFi, everyone is using the internet now. We are hoping to have wifi installed later this year.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Room spacious & clean. Entertainment not my cuppa tea. However, the pensioners loved it! Meals, well you won't go hungry (unless you are very fussy). Good portions & lots of vegetables. Choice of starter, mains & desert. Breakfasts will satisfy all. The village is small with not much to do or see. However, I like to travel solo & book a last minute get-away for Sanity's sake! For the price I paid for 3 nights I have no complaints!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank myjugssmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Great to know you left with no complaints.

Hope you'll be back to join us soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from The Highland Hotel after a 5 day break and found this to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in. It is a lovely hotel in a lovely location. It is very clean and spacious and the food is fine. We felt like we were living in a stately home it is so nice. Credit to all staff and management for making our stay so pleasant and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WakefieldTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely comments, Great to hear you had a lovely time.

Looking foward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great value for money, clean rooms in a great location but I found the food to be less than average. The hotels main business is to cater for the coach tour industry. I found the hotel to be tired in need of a makeover or refurb but always clean and tidy. The staff on the whole very polite and courteous, although I did find the attitude of the gent on reception (Sunday night) to be aggressive when I told him of the poor evening meal we had on Saturday night. I was really taken aback after witnessing his handling of the older coach traveller's complaints of bad meals. He assured them that it is very rare for the hotel to get complaints about the food, I did remind him then, that had been 4 or 5 in two days. The room was clean and comfy with the smallest TV I have seen in 30 years and the remote did not work. No shower in the bathroom - major error, mismatched porcelain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank1964Falkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We aim to offer great value for money and I’m glad you found this to be the case.

I will certainly investigate your comments regarding the Duty Manager on Sunday night. As you will see from previous comments it’s highly unusual to receive any negative comments regarding staff.

I will look into the other points you raised but again I must state they don’t reflect previous comments left on Trip Advisor.

Thanks again for taking time to write your review

Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Visited this hotel on a self drive three nights for the price of two on bank holiday weekend,
food excellent, staff all very helpful, room clean and plenty of hot water. This was our second visit to this hotel, nocomplaints first time round and the same this time. Entertainment very
good, all acts very enjoyable .The manager, Alastair ,runs a very efficient hotel and I think
with him at the helm the ship will never flounder.
An added bonus was the good weather, which allowed us to do some walking, this is a beautiful
part of Scotland and we will be back in the near future.
Thank you to management and staff for making our stay such an enjoyable one.
.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chalkyglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
It’s really appreciated that you took the time to write such a lovely. As you say we are in a lovely area of the country with some great walks about. It’s nice the weather was kind you and you enjoyed them.
I’m very lucky to have great team of staff here at the Highland, they work really hard and it’s great to know they made your stay enjoyable.

Look forward to seeing you soon,

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just returned from another shearing holiday to strathpeffer. Staying at the highland hotel. The hotel is situated in a beautiful setting. We had incredible views from our room. The room was fine, warm comfortable. The menu was varied and the food was good both at breakfast and the evening meal. The dining room staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. There was entertainment on three evenings which we enjoyed. Staff all round were really helpful. The two coach drivers we had Wayne and Gary were both entertaining and knowledgable. So to sum up the highland hotel although a little tired was lovely, staff helpful . Coach drivers fun. Beautiful setting. The minus being a long journey. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We found the double room we we had very small so asked for a another room. We were given a larger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delphine646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thanks for your review,
Great to hear you enjoyed your holiday and everyone looked after you.
Hope you'll be back to join us soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
569 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
53 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
138 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Property: Bay Highland Hotel
Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing