We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit with Shearings”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Back at the Highland Hotel for our second visit.We left from Gretna Green on the 10th December in brilliant sunshine & had a good trip up to Strathpeffer. I quick change & back down for a very nice evening meal. The staff & food very good @ all times. The room we had was 301 on the top floor no view as such, carpet had a large white stain, room warm, comfy bed. Ronnie Ross was our entertainment on the Wednesday night, once again Ronnie put on a brilliant show. I would recommend this Bay Shearings Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gtritchie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thanks for a lovely review.

It's great you enjoyed your holiday. Ronnie Ross receives lots of praise on trip advisor, glad you enjoyed our entertainment.

Looking foward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 792 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

just came back from a 5 day stay food hotel entertainment and staff were brilliant cant fault them on one thing . was a very memorable stay with them and will defo be going back and also will be highly recomending them to freinds and famly . also the day trips what the organised was spot on and very eventful and interesting . our bus driver tony was absalutly fab great fun and full of infomation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nicola r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thanks for taking time to write such a nice review.
It's great to hear you enjoyed your holiday.

Looking foward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have just returned from The Highland Hotel Strathpeffer after spending Monday 10th - Friday 14th December. I would like to thank all the staff and Shearings drivers for an excellent holiday experience. Credit where credits due the holiday represented extremely good value - we were well fed, kept warm on the cold Scottish nights and entertained to a reasonable hour. WELL DONE BAY and Shearings!!!

My wife would like to add to anyone who moans about this holiday (and there are always some) - get a life!

Room Tip: 2nd Floor with view of village - good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank furglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Many Thanks for leaving such a lovely review.
It's great to know you had a good time and the staff looked after you well. I'll pass on your kind comments.

Thanks Again.
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

the hotel was a fantastic old victorian type building a little faded and in need of some tlc in places but overall a wonderful place to stay. the staff were outstanding and the service provided by the tour operater and the hotel were marvellous. the value for money provided was unbelievabley good and the only downside was the long journey from and to out home in york

Room Tip: we upgraded to a superior double room. we got a very large triple rppm overlooking the village . m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thanks for your lovely review,
It's great you found your break to be excellent value for money.
We are currently giving the Hotel a bit of TLC, 12 rooms have recently been refurbished and the exterior side elevation has just been painted.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I went with my parents who love to dance. The food is good and the service is excellent. We have visited a few of the Bay hotels for weekends and have enjoyed them all and found them to be excellent value for money. My favourite is the Highland Hotel because of the layout of the reception and entertainment area and the beautiful wooden staircase. The entertainment also better suits our taste and we certainly weren't disappointed on this occasion. There are parts that could be doing with renovation but can see that a lot of work has been done in the past 7 years since our first visit. We can't wait to go back again and hope to return early in the new year.

Room Tip: Upgrading seems to remove the gamble element. Some basic rooms are a little small and don't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jillyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind review,
It's great to hear you enjoyed the food, service and found us to be excellent value for money.
The wooden staircase is a lovely feature. Many a photo has been taken there.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just arrived back from a 5 day shearings break to strathpeffer . Food, , Hotel & Entertainment very good ,hotel in need of upgrading in parts especially the bathrooms but plenty hot water &the whole place was nice &warm, Excursions very interesting, drivers very friendly & knowledgable
of the area,
Very creaky floorboards we were woken early by people above walking about very early in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ding20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your review.

Glad you enjoyed the food and entertainment. With regards to parts of the hotel needing upgarding we are planning on refrubishing several rooms in January to address this issue.
It's good to hear you enjoyed the included excursions and found the drivers friendly. I'll pass on your kind comments.

Hoping you'll come back and join us again soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and i have just returned from 5 days (4nights) with a bus trip to the Highland Hotel,we really enjoyed ourselves,and this was down to the staff in the hotel, who couldnt do enough for you,also their was an excellent choice of menu every morning and evening.Although the rooms were probably need of upgrade,but in fairness they were very clean.

Room Tip: Ideal for walkers, with a lovely countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1terence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Many thanks for taking time to write your review. It's always fantastic to receive a five star review.
It's great to hear the staff looked after you well and you enjoyed the food.
We are planning on upgrading rooms in January but I'm glad you found the current ones clean.

Hopefully we will see you back sometime soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
409 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
58 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
149 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: $89 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing