We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Inclusive Self Drive Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend Inclusive Self Drive Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I went with my parents who love to dance. The food is good and the service is excellent. We have visited a few of the Bay hotels for weekends and have enjoyed them all and found them to be excellent value for money. My favourite is the Highland Hotel because of the layout of the reception and entertainment area and the beautiful wooden staircase. The entertainment also better suits our taste and we certainly weren't disappointed on this occasion. There are parts that could be doing with renovation but can see that a lot of work has been done in the past 7 years since our first visit. We can't wait to go back again and hope to return early in the new year.

Room Tip: Upgrading seems to remove the gamble element. Some basic rooms are a little small and don't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jillyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review,
It's great to hear you enjoyed the food, service and found us to be excellent value for money.
The wooden staircase is a lovely feature. Many a photo has been taken there.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    305
    84
    41
    21
See reviews for
80
393
46
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just arrived back from a 5 day shearings break to strathpeffer . Food, , Hotel & Entertainment very good ,hotel in need of upgrading in parts especially the bathrooms but plenty hot water &the whole place was nice &warm, Excursions very interesting, drivers very friendly & knowledgable
of the area,
Very creaky floorboards we were woken early by people above walking about very early in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ding20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Glad you enjoyed the food and entertainment. With regards to parts of the hotel needing upgarding we are planning on refrubishing several rooms in January to address this issue.
It's good to hear you enjoyed the included excursions and found the drivers friendly. I'll pass on your kind comments.

Hoping you'll come back and join us again soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and i have just returned from 5 days (4nights) with a bus trip to the Highland Hotel,we really enjoyed ourselves,and this was down to the staff in the hotel, who couldnt do enough for you,also their was an excellent choice of menu every morning and evening.Although the rooms were probably need of upgrade,but in fairness they were very clean.

Room Tip: Ideal for walkers, with a lovely countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1terence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Many thanks for taking time to write your review. It's always fantastic to receive a five star review.
It's great to hear the staff looked after you well and you enjoyed the food.
We are planning on upgrading rooms in January but I'm glad you found the current ones clean.

Hopefully we will see you back sometime soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just Returned From Second Visit To The Highland Hotel 5 Day Break . Staff Brilliant Cant Do Enough For You , Food Cant Fault, Hotel A Great Welcome And Warm Area Great For Walking. Thank You To All The Staff For A Great Stay Keep Up The Good Work.

Room Tip: Up Grade Well Worth It.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for such a kind review.

It's great to hear the staff looked after you so well and you enjoyed the food.
Glad you enjoyed the local walks, there are some great routes with fantastic views.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for three very relaxing nights and used it as our base for exploring a lovely part of Scotland. We loved the ambience of the grand Scottish baronial style of architecture. The food, service, entertainment and quality of the rooms were all very, very good. There were no downsides and we hope to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review.
It's great to hear you enjoyed your holiday and had such a great time.


Looking foward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is the first time for us in Scotland and the hotel was a good place to tour from, the food was good with enough variety at each meal, the rooms were clean ,but sadly the beds were very sorry things far too small and spongey , the staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you especially Kristina in the restaurant who went out of her way to please.Evening entertainment was there if you wanted it, two nights with bingo, Scottish dancing and a singer .

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxylady242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review.

Strathpeffer is a lovely place to tour from. We are central for visitng much of the Highlands.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your meals and Kristine looked after you well. I will pass on your comments to her.
Sorry to hear you didn't find the bed to your liking, we are planning on upgrading several rooms in January.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a shame, this hotel would have been fantastic in its' heyday, but sadly that is long passed. Staff were fantastic, polite and courteous and couldn't have done more, food very average. Our room was VERY dated, and our bed tiny. Clean though. Clearly catering for the coach tour holiday market, and perhaps we are a little more discerning! Very cheap, and I guess this is reflected in what you get. Wouldn't recommend or stay again, but hotel serves its' purpose, what a pity that this once grand old lady would take a fortune to bring back to former glory. It actually mad me feel a bit sad :(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julia q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments.

It's great to hear that you found the staff fantastic and courteous.
I'm sorry to hear you found your room dated. As the say the rooms are"Very cheap" and I believe we offer great value for money.
We are planning on upgrading several rooms in 2013 so hopefully will offer even better value for money next year.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strathpeffer Hotel
Strathpeffer Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Property: Bay Highland Hotel
Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing