We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to this Hotel (Self-Drive holiday) and we were very impressed by the staff who couldn't do enough for us. My husband does a lot of mountain walking and they advised him on routes and printed the local weather forecasts out for him. He set off at 5am one day so was going to miss breakfast. He decided to order some sandwiches which he should have paid for but they waived the charge and the Night Porter kept them in the fridge for him. I have M.S. and rest in the afternoons so after being told the cleaning staff made sure our room was cleaned in the morning. The staff in the Dining room were very accommodating. If you weren't sure of the food when it was served they would change it for you, not that we never needed to. All the staff were always cheerful extremely helpful and interested in how your day had been when you returned. They all worked very hard aswell. Everywhere was very clean, but could probably do with a lick of paint in some areas. The hotel is in a beautiful area and Stathpeffer itself is a lovely village. We will definitely be going back in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thanks for your lovely review.

I remember your husband well as we both have a common interest in hill walking. It was lovely to meet you both and great to know we looked after well.

Looking foward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 809 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I returned to the Highland for the third time and were not dissapointed we upgraded to a superior room with view,the meals were good and varied and I considered value for money.Our room was kept clean and tidy and well stocked with biscuits and selection of beverages.The Hotel is well located for visiting some of the most stunning scenary in this country, I am sure we will be returning again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior rooms better views and more modern facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thanks for leaving such a lovely review.
It's great to hear you a good time and enjoyed the Highland scenery.

Look foward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Have stayed and enjoyed weekend breaks at the Highland for several years. The hotel is a beautiful building set in the lovely village of Strathpeffer. The staff are great, they can't do enough to please. Rooms are very clean, maybe a little worn in some cases but this doesn't really matter because as I said they're very clean and warm. The meals are okay, not exactly cordon bleu, but are enjoyable. The staff in the restaraunt very pleasant and can't do enough to please, and, although the food is meant to stop being served at 8.00 when we went on a local train journey and found that we wouldn't be back until about 8.10. we had a word with one of the staff who made sure a dinner was set aside for us ( don't tell the manager, don't want to cause any trouble).
To sum up it's a lovely hotel, comfortable, warm, friendly staff, beautiful scenery. What more could you want. Excellent value for money. We'll certainly be making the 450mile journey from the midlands to go there again. It's well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
It's lovely to hear you enjoy your visits to the Highland. 450 miles is a long journey to make. I'm glad it's worth it.
I will pass on comments to staff, they will happy hear you find them so helpful.

P.s the Manager alrerady knows we let guests late in dinner sometimes, glad we could go the extra mile for you.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is a monument to Victorian grandeur. A little tired but still doing its job. It is clean, with good food and service and in an excellent location for exploring the scenic beauty that is the highland of Scotland. Some facilities are a little Victorian – not all rooms have showers. Most evenings there is some form of entertainment

Room Tip: If you are a shower person make sure you get a room with one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chasmac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thanks for your review,

Strathpeffer is a great base for exploring the Highlands of Scotland. I'm glad you your holiday and found everthing clean and enjoyed the food.

Look foward to seeing you soon

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Arranged 60 bikers to stay here over the weekend of Friday 24 – Sun 27 August this year at ScoTrek, some travelling from as far a field as Devon, Hereford & Northern Ireland, using the Bay Highland Strathpeffer as a base for some 200 mile days out on motorbikes.
The staff made everybody most welcome, as they arrived in dribs & drabs on the Friday, the tartan carpeted staircase & traditional furnishings of the lounge areas added to the period ambiance of the hotel. Plenty safe parking.
Some of the rooms could do with a freshen up & have showers installed, but other than that they were comfortable enough & ideal for our needs.
The Friday night entertainment went down a treat with the 2 coach loads of oldies who had arrived, it kept them a way from the bikes & telling tales from back in the day when they had a Triumph Trumpet 350 that they could rebuild at the side if the road with 3 spanners, 2 screwdrivers, a banjo string & a roll of electrical tape.
The food was fine, with plenty of choice, maybe not haute cuisine, but perfectly adequate to keep all but the most ravenous happy. Breakfast was fine with a good selection of options available, great that the staff were able to accommodate our 0800 request, but this was not surprising as they were all very helpful.
Saturday night we enjoyed a good meal in a private dining are set aside for ScoTrek competitors, where the ever helpful staff had set up a screen & projector for us – well done.

At £79pp for 2 night DBB & £99 for the 3 night option no wonder so many who had travelled far stayed the extra night….GREAT value for money & we would not hesitate using a Shearing’s hotel for future weekends away.
A big thank you to Donald (asst manager) & Simon (head waiter?) who organised things so well for us.

A big thank you also to Fiona Gardner at Shearing’s HQ in Torquay for all her help in organising the rooms.

Stuart & Alison Anderson
Hamilton, Scotland

Room Tip: At £5pppn this is what Single Room supplements should be instaed of the usual daylight robbery fees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Strathpeffer is great base for bikers. There are some fantastic roads heading all directions. Recently we had a large BMW bike group staying from Ireland and they had great time too. Your right at £99 for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast I believe we offer a great value for money.
It nice of you to mention that you found all the staff welcoming and helpful and we managed to keep you all happy.
It was a pleasure to have you all stay and I look foward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I travelled to this Hotel with Shearings and stayed for 7 nights the first week in September 2012. It was my first time in Scotland and our first time with Shearings.

The journey was an all day affair (starting in East Midlands at 07.15 via a feeder coach and arriving in Normanton near Wakefield around 09.50. Left here in a Shearings luxury coach at about 11.00 and arrived at the Highland Hoterl around 20.00). There were plenty of toilet/drinks/food/'leg stretch' stops on the way - all went well.One big plus was that our luggage was handled for us from start to finish. We thought that we would be the youngest couple but ages ranged from people in their 40's up to their 90's - apologies if there was someone in their 30's on our trip.

ROOM
The Highland Hotel is old and yes many rooms are dated - however we always take the view that we are not here to spend the majority of time in our room and as long as it is clean and has all the amenities then we're happy. If you want more luxury then you will have to pay for it!
Our room was quite small and on the top (3rd) floor. We took the lift going up and the stairs coming down. Our room had a wardrobe with pleny of hangers, a dressing table with mirror, a full length wall mirror, telephone, small tv, tea + coffee making facility,hairdrier, 2 chairs, one stool, radiator and a double bed. The bathroom was quite large and consisted of bath with shower, hand basin with mirror and shaving point, toilet, radiator and extractor fan.
Tea,coffee,sugar and milk were provided daily (free). Towels were changed as frequently as needed (if placed in bath). The only problem we had was that the radiators were cold but this was sorted immediately and a portable radiator was supplied.

MEALS
Breakfast was from 07.30-08.45 and consisted of cereals/porridge/ prunes/grapefruit segments (self service). Tea/coffee/fruit juice. Then waiter/waitress served full english or any variation you requested. Oh yes and as much toast as you could manage.
Dinner was from 06.30-07.45 and consisted of tea/coffee (self service), bread roll and then 3 course menu. There were plenty of choices for all 3 courses. The braised beef was my favourite main course. A wine/alcoholics drinks waiter was also on hand.
I have to say that the quality and choice of all the meals was excellent and that the mainly east european staff were very quick and efficient and pleasant. Not once did we have to wait around wondering when the next course would arrive.


HOTEL & ENTERTAINMENT
The Hotel has a very wide staircase covered in a striking tartan carpet - I liked it. I also liked the Scottish history in the form of paintings and maps that kept me interested as i descended each stair level.
There is a huge lounge with dance floor and various forms of comfortable seating. As expected drinks were pricey compared with home (£1.70 for half a lager and £3.35 for a pint of strongbow. A cocktail was on offer at £3.95).
I registerd my debit card at the beginning of our stay and settled the bill on the morning of departure.
There was entertainment on 5 nights out of the 7. Nothing on Saturday - our day of arrival but there was a bagpipe, drum and dance band performing in the village square which is only a stones throw away from the Hotel. Entertainment in the hotel consisted of Bingo at about 21.00 for half an hour or so and then either bagpipe & Scottish dancers (charitable event), Ronnie Ross - singer (very likeable chap & very humorous who performed on 2 evenings) or live music from the resident entertainments guy.
There is a lovely sheltered balcony area, just off the entertainments area, with fantastic views of the nearby hills - a good place for the smokers to get acquainted and have a laugh/chat.
There is also a large tv lounge with large flatscreen.

SHEARINGS TRIPS & LOCAL AREA
Our holiday included 3 full day excursions. We were also offered 2 extra trips - half day on the Sunday to Moray Firth & Comarty and on Tuesday a full day to Falls of Shin (waterfall). We did the Sunday one.
On Monday it was Loch Ness with a couple of hours stop at Fort Augustus (canal locks etc). On the return journey we stopped at Inverness (walked over the River Ness etc).
On Tuesday we walked around Strathpeffer. Looked around the Spa pavilion, the disused railway station, managed to find the pictish eagle stone and then onto the golf course clubhouse, at the top of a hill, for a well deserved drink (prices were surprisingly cheap). We bought a couple of packed lunches and then followed the edge of the golf course towards Loch Kinellan. I don't play golf but when you get a birds eye view of some of the greens you start to envy those who do.
After a few miles (and after spotting 2 swans, some coots, an eagle and a buzzard - well thats what i think they all were), we crossed a field full of sheep and found the main road back to Strathpeffer.
Wednesday was a 'free' day and quite a few of us from the hotel bussed it into Dingwall. On arrival we all went our separate ways. Lots of shops, a large Tesco, a quaint railway station, some war memorials, a castle (didn't visit this) and some cafes.
Thursday was an excursion to Brodie Castle (stateley mansion-like with very interesting paintings, furniture and decor - plenty of history - the well informed guide was included). Then on to Speyside heather centre for lunch , souvenirs and plants etc. Finally a short stop in Aviemore which has a very nice railway station, a pleasant walk under a bridge by a stream and more shops and cafes oh and another supermarket.
Friday's excursion was a trip to the west side of the Highlands to Kyle of Lochalsh. A lovely scenic journey throughout. After seeing the waterside industry, the railway station and cup of coffee, we headed over the Isle of Skye bridge and stopped at an otter 'museum/shop' (approx £2400 and the most expensive otter sculpture could be yours). Then on to Eilean Donan Castle (£5 entry fee each). A Scottish piper in full costume was busking in the car park (another fiver - if you wanted to be generous). My wife bought some souvenirs and then it was time for the return to our Hotel.

LIKES - Choice and quality of food. Good service. Meeting other travellers - whether on our coach or staying at the same hotel or out and about. Some of the Shearings drivers being knowledgeable, witty and fun. The surrounding walks and views. Getting to see lots of places.

DISLIKES/IMPROVEMENTS - No wi-fi or internet. Decor in some parts. The Strathpeffer wasps. ps. the midges were not a problem.

Finally I would like to mention that the people we met on the coach and at the Hotel were fantastic and fun to be with and chat to. They were of various age groups and from all parts of the UK and helped to make our holiday a brilliant experience - thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Nimrod54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write an in depth review.
It’s great to know you had such a good time on your first Shearings holiday.
It’s nice that mention the local wildlife you spotted while out walking. Many our guests return from walks reporting that they have seen red kites, buzzards, eagles and even the odd deer and badger.
I will pass on all your kind comments to the staff and drivers
Look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We are just back from a 5 day stay at the Highland Hotel and it was when they had the virus. I cannot believe the one star reviews.
The staff were first class they kept us informed at all times most of the problems were the guests. They were asked to stay in rooms and phone reception if they had symptoms but no they were wandering around or sitting down stairs with sick bags. To tell you the truth I felt so sorry for the staff and as for being left in the room with 3 bottles of water (drama queen one would say) I came down with the virus not nice but the staff bent over backwards with the service they provided.
Aside from the virus the holiday was great food was decent and entertainment first class. Coach trips were really good and a great way to see the amazing scenery.
A big thank you to Donald, Sandis and the staff at the Highland Hotel you had alot to deal with and all handled it proffesionaly a credit to Bay Hotels and Shearings. We will be back

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Guest.

Thank you for such a lovely review. It really is appreciated when someone takes the time to recognise the hard work the staff do in difficult situations.
It's great to know you still had a lovely and enjoyed the food and entertainment. I will pass on your comments to Sandis and Donald and all the other staff.

Thanks again and look forward to seeing you soon

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
420 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Strathpeffer Hotel
Strathpeffer Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
223 reviews
23.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: $64 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing