We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We have stayed at many Shearing's hotels over the last ten years. The Highland is one of the best. The staff are very friendly and helpful, whilst being efficient. The hotel rooms are clean and well serviced. The meals are well prepared and presented attractively. We prefer the self drive option, but we didn't feel pushed out by the coach parties. All in all an excellent break. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aloverofholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

·It is incredibly satisfying for all the staff and I to know that the you have had such an enjoyable stay with us. It is very important that we cater for both our self drive and coach customers as we appreciate that their needs may well be different and we strive to ensure that your expectations are met. I would like to thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel and very much look forward to seeing you in the near future
Again Many Thanks
Donald MacLeod
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 810 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and myself have just returned from a 5 day trip to the Highland hotel, Strathpeffer. The trip was organized through Shearings Holidays.
As someone who had never done this kind of thing until two weeks ago I was a bit apprehensive. I had no need to be. The ride to Strathpeffer is a long one, but the scenery is fantastic. Strathpeffer itself is only a small place, with about four hotels. It is about 17 miles north of Inverness.
The Highland Hotel could not be faulted. The rooms were very clean and tidy. The bathroom was spacious with bath and shower. I did not see the housemaid , Irita, nor did I need to see her. Our room was kept spotless. The restaurant was very grand, it was very spacious, and oak panelled. The evening meals of starter , main course and sweet each had a choice of at least four alternatives. Our waitress, Lita, always had a smile on her face and was only too willing to help.
The only downside for me was the compare/bingo caller/ quizmaster, who you would think was talking to kids who had just started school. It was taking him maybe 20 minutes to call out about 60 numbers, he obviously liked the sound of his own voice, and thought he was funny. He was not. He would not attract anyone under 80 yrs of age to return to the hotel.
A must see is Strathpeffer golf course, for those fit enough to climb the road up to it.
Probably the most undulating and scenic golf course you will ever see.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CommanderSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thank you for your review of the Highland. I am delighted that you had such a good time with us. We pride ourselves in providing excellent value for money and an atmosphere that makes you feel at home. Our hotel is certainly full of character and retains all the charm that it had when it was built 100 years ago. Like you have said the scenery alone is worth the long journey and we are only 25 minutes from Inverness which makes it ideal for a day visit.
We try to include everybody in our entertainment evenings and as such have different artists to cater for the inevitable different tastes.
I will pass on your comments to all of my staff who will be very happy to hear you had a great stay. Thank you again very much
Donald MacLeod
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

THE HOTEL.
Old parts very dated could do with extreme make-over old wooden panels give
it that dated appearance. Rooms you get what you pay for! some are good some
basic although adequate.

FOOD.
Plenty to eat - good portions. Always two or three different to choose from -
starters - main course - sweets. Breakfast- again plenty of choices.
Overall could not moan about the food

STAFF
Very good could not do enough to help including the foreign workers(waitresses)

ENTERTAINMENT
Not every evening don't expect alot just grin and bare it! very mediocre

ROOMS
Adequate nothing special -no shower in ours just a plastic tube that fixes onto
the tap to form a shower. The room itself had the normal run of the mill amenities

CLEANLINESS
Our room quite dusty certainly not vacuumed everyday!
Hotel itself not bad but in such an old building it did not seem to sparkle.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mick029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry that aspects of your stay were not up to your expectations; as a company we pride ourselves on the product we offer for its value and content. We have an extensive refurbishment program and annually have areas that are renovated as with a hotel as large and busy as the Highland there is always going to be wear and tear. I feel it is important that we do not interfere with the character of the hotel, as its features are one of the many aspects that bring back so many customers to us year on year. I will pass on your praise of the staff and again thank you for taking the time to write this review

Donald MacLeod
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

On a coach trip and stayed here for four nights. Caters for coach parties (age 55+). Room ok, nothing special but adequate. Entertainment Tuesday thru Saturday a Scottish theme, somewhat repetitive. Meals, well you won't go hungry (unless you are very fussy). Good portions & lots of vegetables. choice of starter, mains & desert. Breakfasts will satisfy all. We had a traveller who needed gluten free and just mentioned this once & every meal the staff pointed out what was OK and GF bread was served without asking.
Overall value for money very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JohnPShipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. It pleases us no end to hear that a customer has enjoyed their stay with us and it is always good for us going forward when the customer gives an honest opinion of what they experienced. Our staff always goes out of their way to accommodate any need where possible and are only happy to help. I am very proud of the hard work they do every day. We try to mix our entertainment as much as we can to cater for everybody and so try to have different acts performing different styles. We hope to see you again and thank you very much

Donald MacLeod
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Lovely old fashioned hotel with tartan carpets and old style bar. Good value as price £79 pp for two night stay included dinner and breakfast. Dinner was 3 course TDH which was reasonable quality, breakfast was full Scottish which was good.
Rooms were very tired and aquamarine blue suite in bathroom with no shower...the hotel provides a rubber attachment shower hose but it didnt really work. Bed was ok, windows didnt open and heating was on so quite stuffy.
Place was clean and staff friendly but most of the clientele are blue rinse coach tours!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julesr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thank you for your honest review of the Highland. We are keen to attract all age groups to our hotel and ensure that a good time is had by all. Our company has a regular refurbishment plan and we are always trying to keep the Highland in the condition it deserves. The hotel itself is full of charm and traditional character which endears itself to all our guests and we are very happy to have this hotel in our estate. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again
Donald MacLeod
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed in the hotel this being my first holiday alone. The staff did everything they could to make my stay extremely
enjoyable. The entertainment was briliant
especially Raymond chuckchuck who's show was Tuesday and Thursday. Raymond compaires and plays the accordian.He had the audiance in laughter with his jokes and in awe at the way he played and sung. A definate must see entertainer. I will definatley be returning. Thanks to the manager Allister and his staff and two enjoyable Raymond evenings. Barb Woodward ( Sheffield).

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foreveryoungw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thank you so much for your great review of the Highland. Its great to hear such high praise for the Hotel and all of our staff. I will be sure to pass on your comments and thanks to them all. Hope to see you again very soon, all the best

Donald MacLeod
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

First thing I thought when we pulled up to the hotel was wow! What an amazing building!... Then we entered. Decor a bit tired, a few too many patterns, but that was fine, it gave it charm. When we got to our room, however, the first thing we noticed was NO SHOWER. Not even a shower head, just one of those hose things that fit on the taps. Lots of stains on the carpet and an overwhelming smell of disinfectant and stale air also contiributed to a bad first impression. At dinner we were greeted by overworked staff who were run off their feet. Dinner came quickly but was pretty average. We enjoyed the after-dinner entertainment but thought it was a bit steep charging £4 a bottle for beer from a mile down the road. Breakfast was okay but mostly cold and over-cooked. The icing on the cake, however, was coming back the second night to find that our room hadn't been cleaned and the damp towels were still damp. We would have asked the desk clerk for fresh towels but there was no one on duty (leaving the room keys of everyone who was out for the evening open to anyone passing). Overall we were completely underwhelmed by the effort put in to making this a comfortable hotel. Get rid of some of the tat and bowls of potpourri and concentrate the focus on maintaining the standard of this one-time magnificent hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sputnikwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland hotel ... s, Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Thank you for your review of the Highland.. I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met as we pride ourselves on providing a high standard of service to all our customers. As you will notice we have had many customers write excellent reviews of our hotel. I will have to address the situation with the room not being serviced with my housekeeper, as this is something that does not happen. The hotel has an extensive refurbishment program, which is implemented in sections year on year. With regards to reception cover there are usually at least three members of staff between the bar and reception at nighttime and two during the day so security is not an issue.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review, your feedback is appreciated.

Donald MacLeod
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Strathpeffer
425 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
945 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
799 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: $67 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing