We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good value”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Blaydon-on-Tyne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good value”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

my husband and i went on a National coach trip for 3 nights.We had booked for Braemar but trip cancelled so chose this one instead. Having read previous reviews I requested a room with a shower and the room we got was clean and spacious with a bright clean updated bathroom with proper shower. The decor was alittle dated but was clean and perfectly adequate. This is a large hotel with several coach parties in at any one time, but very well organised. breakfast in the large characterful dining room was very good with self service starter and waiter main course. Dinners were ok, plenty of it, but remember they are catering for a lot of people. The people on our table who had soup one night sent it back as it was thin and tasteless, but it was quickly replaced with another alternative . The staff in restaurant and indeed in all of the hotel couldn't have been more helpful. This hotel has been very grand in its hey day and the public rooms reflect this. The one thing I would say is that the lift was broken all the time we were there and many elderly people struggled with the stairs. One lift is not enough for the size of this hotel. We certainly found our break to be excellent value for money and Strathpeffer is a pretty town offering plenty of walks. Do visit the old station!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maxicanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    314
    86
    42
    22
See reviews for
84
408
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

just got back from a week shearings coach holiday from highland hotel hotel was in a lovely village food was great service great anna always had a smile the 3 coach trips where good loved the cruise on loch ness the weather was sunny what more do you want you always meet people to talk to and have a laugh with on these coach holidays i would recomend this to anyone i had the room looking out to the front garden the view was something else

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tommywindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moray
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for a short break. I share the view of the guest who had an issue with the rubber hose which was the shower!! My room was dreary but clean but the bathroom was dirty, grubby and dated. The public areas of the hotel were in good condition but slight 'old folks home' vibe!! The food was really nice and the staff were generally lovely (except the chap on reception when asked for room change!!). The state of the bathroom kind of spoiled my weekend - but make up your own mind - you might get a decent room and bathroom!

Room Tip: Ask what faciltities your bathrom has when booking!! We were told that the small print says they ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cocoMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here for a 4-night mid-week "break" as part of a 2 week tour of the highlands, staying in B&Bs for the rest of the time. We chose the Highland as it offered a great base to explore the area, including Loch Ness, the Moray Firth, Inverness and the Great Glen. We've used various grades of Shearings hotels for a few years now and have always been impressed with the value. We went for the dearer option of the "premier" room - very large, enormous modern en suite, big TV and huge four-poster bed and a good view from the windows. We were not disappointed with any of it. The bed was very comfortable and the area was very peaceful, ensuring a good nights rest. We found all the staff very efficient and helpful. Dinner menus and times were a little limited, but suited us well. Restaurant service was excellent. A very nice touch was complimentary chocolates, fruit bowl and mineral water in our room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J0hn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Strathpeffer is an amazing location for exploring the Highlands. I glad you found it value for money too. We receive lots of comments regarding our lovely premier rooms. I glad you found it to your satisfaction.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

From the moment we set foot in the Hotel nothing was too much trouble. The staff were friendly,and smiling, they actually looked like they liked being there.
Our room was very spacious, with lovely views over the village, and mountains.It was clean, and there was everything we needed, although we did pay a small upgrade, mainly because I needed the space with being disabled. The food was fantastic, plenty of choice,and the service was great. Its only a short walk into the Village, and its very interesting with an old fashioned feel. Do try the Pump Room very interesting if you get chance. There are so many places to go, and visit we needed more time, so we will be definitely be back I hope very soon.

Room Tip: Best to upgrade especially if you are disabled, and you want to be comfortable and enjoy the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madeaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
It’s great you hope to come back and see us soon. Strathpeffer is lovely little village with lots of interesting history to explore. Thanks for kind comment regarding the friendly staff. Most of them have been here for several years and really enjoy meeting our guests.

Best Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

lovely food.service. view to die for.staff great..... we are elderly and they even got a wheelchair for my husband to use,Ok,some rooms where jaded, but clean, we had a power shower in our rom,not a rubber hose,altho some rooms did have these.. food was plentifull,if not too much.. buffet start to breakfast was good,but you were brought the cooked part.
We loved the oldness of this place and the sweeping staircase,we found the entertainment was fine for us,and loved the singer.lift part was small only four people at a time,but we managed.The overnight stops were excellent and really broke the journey up.

Room Tip: second floor seem to be best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank montoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
We receive lots of comments on the grandeur of the Highland Hotel with it’s oak panelling of sweeping stair. We are an old building but I feel that adds to its character. We work very hard to ensure the hotel is clean and we provide great service. Thank you for your kind comments.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Just returned from 8 day break with Shearings. Can only speak positively about our experience here.Reception was well organised on our arrival and we found our room on the top floor as requested with a wonderful view of the charming village of Strathpeffer.The room was clean and spacious if somewhat dated. Food and service in the restaurant was very good and staff friendly and helpful. Located a short stroll from the village centre where a selection of small shops and cafes are available.The old railway station, the Museum of Childhood and the victorian pavillion are all worth visiting. Trips to Loch Ness, Ullapool, Brodie Castle,Kyle of Lochalsh and the Isle of Skye, Aviemore and Inverness were all most enjoyable. We would definitely stay at the Highland again. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Another great review regarding our friendly staff and service. Thanks again for kind comments. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay.

Best Regards,
Alastair Grantham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
560 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
128 reviews
2.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
53 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Property: Bay Highland Hotel
Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing