We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top end accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shieldaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aurora Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Shieldaig B&B and Inns
Keith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top end accommodation”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just home from our first visit to aurora and we couldn't have had a better time. We have stayed in many b & b's over the years and this one far exceeds any of the others!!
I would highly recommend Aurora to any of our family or friends.
Fantastic b&b in a fantastic part of Scotland!!
We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roselyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Have just returned home after a simply wonderful seven day stay at Aurora B/B Shieldaig. Ann is a brilliant hostess, nothing is too much trouble for her she is simply perfect.
Please ignore the long drawn out review from another person, this home is superb, everything about it shows consideration to detail and comfort.
Every evening the log fire made the sitting room a perfect place to relax it was so cosy.
The rooms are really comfortable with every need catered for.
There is NOTHING about Ann's home to complain about--not one thing.
You will be sure of a warm welcome,good food and great flapjacks.
Try it you will love it.
Thanks Ann we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It's impossible to find any way that this B&B could be any better! Ann has thought of everything that you would want whilst on holiday, and a whole host of extra touches that made our stay perfect. The area itself is beautiful and you have one of the best views of the loch straight out of the lounge window. Thank you, Ann, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome from our hostess, Ann, awaited our very long journeys end. A very sumptuous bed with views over stunning landscapes & en-suite bathroom giving us ample room to relax after our hiking adventures.
Perfect location for walking from the door. Breakfasts are very flavoursome using local produce. Ann's home made bread & jam are delicious & far better than commercial items. Very Eco & sustainability aware, so very refreshing. Cannot fault at all. Torridon restaurant for evening meals is a short drive & worth it for view of the spectacular sunsets. We based ourselves here for a week & loved every minute. Breathtaking scenery, very comfortable accommodation, great food & ann with her ever present smile & willingness to please. Struggling for ideas to explore, Ann has a folder full of walks etc. highly recommended. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinnyp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Aurora (my second stay by the way!!) and can highly recommend it without any reservation. Ann is a wonderful host and her home is superb, ecologically friendly and offering every comfort you can imagine.

It is a great base in which to explore the area and Ann has a book of local information and walks which you are able to use and she goes out of her way to ensure you have everything you need. The breakfasts are wholesome, tasty and set you up for the day and best of all are her delicious flapjacks! The rooms and beautifully decorated, clean and extremely comfortable.

The reviews here speak for themselves with the very odd exception... Holidaying_Gal, you have too much time on your hands! My advice is go and stay, you truly won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was all that a B&B should be....... and more. We were warmly welcomed, comfortably installed, royally fed, and felt truly at home. Anne has gone to considerable lengths to keep her house as ecologically friendly as possible, without it seeming an obsessive intrusion. On the one day where the weather was fairly awful, and we didn't go out much, we had a log fire lit for us and it was wonderfully cosy. The breakfasts were delicious, as healthy or as calorific as you might choose - fresh, local, and beautifully prepared.
We shall certainly go back.

Room Tip: I believe they are equally excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wils0ncapelrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Wow. I just read (until I was exhausted) Holidaying_Gal's review of Aurora B&B in Shieldaig. Get a grip, woman. I'll agree with her implication that Ann is a bit up tight about cleanliness, etc., but is that so bad? I guess my advice to others is read ALL of the reviews. If one stands out (like Holidaying_Gal's) treat it as an outlier.

We could not have been more pleased with our three day stay at Aurora. The B&B was great and Schieldaig is a good, central location for exploring that neck of the woods.

We will not hesitate to recommend Aurora to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnutGeorgiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shieldaig
4.4 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
586 reviews
11.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
154 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
308 reviews
13.1 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
153 reviews
11.8 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Bed and Breakfast

Property: Aurora Bed and Breakfast
Address: Aurora Torridon, Shieldaig IV54 8XN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Shieldaig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Shieldaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ann would like to welcome you to her relaxing Highland home. Set in the picturesque coastal village of Shieldaig, by Torridon. Pub in walking distance and Torridon Inn just up the road. Contemporary en-suite bedrooms have King & Super-King sized beds; top quality to create a good nights sleep. No foot-boards. Free WiFi throughout. Breakfast is cooked to order or pre-order using local produce: local butchers Venison Sausage & Haggis. As much organic or fairtrade produce used as possible. Eggs are organic & free range. Home-made jams, bread & yoghurt. The 1st floor guests living room has panoramic views, a wood burning stove, binoculars and a TV with DVD player. Some of the best sunset views in the village are from this room, with views out to Harris on clear days. It is possible to see otters & seals from here. Sea-Eagles nest on Shieldaig Island and this room overlooks the Island. A perfect base for exploring the remote Applecross peninsular, Beinn Eighe National Nature Reserve, Torridon, Eilean Donan Castle, Plockton, Inverewe Gardens, Glen Elg and Wester Ross. Lots of local knowledge and information, including daily weather forecasts. Tailored advice to meet your needs - great walks, activities and tours close by. 4 Star, 'Gold' Green Tourism award, a Sawday's "Special Place", Green Highlands & Islands award 2010, Cyclists Welcome, Walkers Welcome and 'Taste our Best' awards. Minimum stay 2 nights for advanced bookings. Children over 12 years old. Sorry no pets in the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aurora Bed And Breakfast Shieldaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing