We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe no-one else has writtren a review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shieldaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #5 of 6 Shieldaig B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2011

It's time Marilyn and Tommy got the accolade that they deserve.
OK the house is a bit wonky but the hospitality is fantastic!

I run a B&B in Kelso (Duncan House) and choose to go to Rivandell for my holidays. The locals and the hosts embrace you and the welcome from the whole community makes the experience totally worthwhile.

Love to Marilyn & Tommy

Jeff & Kate

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

This was our second trip to Rivendell this year and it exceeded our expectations second time around.

As a B&B proprietor in the lowlands I have my own standards to compare with, maybe the rooms leave a little to be desired in part but so what. The food is great and the hospitality fantastic. If you enjoy seafood ask for the local crab, lobster or langoutsine - fresh as can be!

Visitors to this part of Wester Ross need to understand that the nearest builders merchant or Tesco involves a 150 mile round trip so if they break something a replacement may not be immediately available.

We will certainly return.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We were a group of generally well-bahaved and house-trained middle aged bikers who converged on on Tommy and Marylyn's Rivendell Guest House up in the far North west of the Scottish Highlands over the May Bank Holiday weekend 2010.
A fire was burning in the hearth when we arrived and after a cold and wet ride from Glasgow, a hot mug of tea in front of the fire was very welcome.
If you want bland, formulaic luxury it won't be for you !
Tommy is a real Character and his experiences are very entertaining, so
if you are looking for something different, with real interesting people and fabulous location you'll love it. The room was basic but adequate but the great food produced by Tommy and Marylyn more than made up for it. Just along the road about 100 metres walk is a great pub, bar restaurant where we had a belting good night with a two man local Accordion band - absolutely great. Lunch there next day - top marks. The French waiter there is a hoot too!
So, make the effort to get to Ardeonaig, enjoy the place and love the scenery.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgioSurreyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

What a great B and B. Tommy kept us very entertained and the food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. If you want character this is the place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmicScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We travelled up to Shieldaig for the cycle event and stayed at the guesthouse. The full cooked breakfasts set us up perfectly for the day and the level of service and attention we recieved was superb.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyclist1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We organise a cycle event from Shieldaig every May and for the past two years we have used Rivendell Guest House to provide accommodation for the organising team and marshals. Tommy and Marilyn are brilliant. They deal with our last minute changes with the minimum of fuss and juggle the rooms to meet our needs. On Saturday morning Tommy was up at 6am to cook us a full breakfast before we started our registration and car parking duties and then after the event on Saturday night they serve up a fantastic Seafood feast.
It was only when we were leaving on Sunday morning that we discovered that they had been a room short for the weekend and so Tommy and Marilyn had given up their own room for us and slept on a mattress in their lounge - this is typical of their approach
As long as the event runs we will be staying at Rivendell

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handsonevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed at the B&B for the weekend and could not find any faults. We were made welcome from arrival by our host, Tommy. The room was great, meals were were outstanding and the room had everything we required and more. We would recommend staying here as you won't find a nicer peron than Tommy in Shieldaig.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Address: Shieldaig IV54 8XN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Shieldaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Shieldaig
Price Range: $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Shieldaig
Rivendell Guest House Shieldaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing