We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Meal”
Review of Tigh an Eilean

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shieldaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh an Eilean
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shieldaig
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reasonable Meal”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A reasonable meal in the hotel bar. Good but not excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    50
    13
    11
    6
See reviews for
23
88
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife & I stayed here for one night in early June. A nice little hotel with great views from the front. Very clean & comfy, in our room there was no shower just a bath with a type of shower attachment, breakfast was ok but when all is said and done £150 per night for a double B&B was overpriced. I would recommend this place if you could get on some kind of offer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtansey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I found this to be a charming little hotel with real character together with both friendly and caring service. The two rooms that I stayed in during my trips were very comfortable, although no television, that said there is a reasonable Wi-Fi connection throughout the building. The restaurant is very good and I found the same when dining in the adjoining bar next door (which appears to be served by the same kitchen)…All round I’m very happy with my stay at Tigh an Eilean and will be sure to visit again should I find myself in the area in times to come. Top marks…gold star.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pi1sudski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had a few drinks in the bar and ate in the upstairs dining area. Pizza is wood fired and was very good, but at almost £14 you would hope it would be. They sometimes have ale from An Teallach downstairs in the bar, usually served up by a friendly young gentleman with more knowledge of xbox's than beer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross_Eld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2012

5 stars for this comfy home from home.

Loved the breakfasts and choice of formal or informal dining in adjacent bar.

Honesty bar and great pack lunches.

You pay for such standards but on a warm weekend theres nowhere better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hari21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunstall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We visited the restaurant for lunch on Monday, with our daughter. Shieldaig is a place I have always wanted to visit and I was not disappointed. The food at the Tigh An Eilan was exceptionally good and the staff helpful, very friendly and in all honesty, could not do enough for us. It was somewhat of a relief that my wife left her glasses there and, on the following Wednesday, we had to make the round trip from Skye to collect it - of course, it being such a long way, we just had to stay for lunch again!! Excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticcapricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here last year, and it suited us to do so again. The location is beautiful, and the hotel looks directly out at Loch Shieldaig. Food is norfmally very good - either in the hotel or in the bar/terrace next door. This year the chef was injured, and the kitchen and restaurant were in some confusion. So dinner was a disappointment.
The hotel is cosy, but my room had a bath only - and I prefer to shower. There was a shower take off from the taps, but as is often the case with these, very little pressure was available and temperature control impossible. In any case, there was no shower curtain, so you have to sit in the bath!
No TV either - not a great loss given the views and location, but at standard rate of £75/night B&B I felt the room was poorly equipped.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calafort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shieldaig
4.6 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
567 reviews
11.7 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
142 reviews
14.3 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
255 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
145 reviews
12.1 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh an Eilean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh an Eilean

Property: Tigh an Eilean
Address: Shieldaig IV54 8XN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Shieldaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shieldaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh an Eilean 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Tigh An Eilean Shieldaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing