We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, small bar / restaurant”

Shieldaig Bar and Coastal Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Shieldaig
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups, Scottish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice, small bar / restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good service, varied choice and good value. No complaints. Good view of the bay and boats. Sea theme.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1811jonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    65
    17
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The kitchen was busy but it didn't take long to get a table and for the waitress to take our order; we had a good view from our table out to the bay. But that was the end of the good bit. We'd both really wanted to try the local langoustines and were terribly disappointed when they came in a very salty batter - just 6 each with chips and salad. And it wasn't as though they were cheap either - £16.90 per dish ! Might as well have just gone to any old pub and ordered scampi and chips for half the price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calypso42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A cute villag ein an idyllic setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ate at the Shieldaig hotel's bar/restaurant (the name escapes me but it is someting like Elen Mara). The food was delicious and the atmosphere very pleasant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

When the new Coastal Kitchen first opened about four or five years ago it was just fabulous the food was very special and indeed on one five day trip we had 3 lunches here it was so good. So must say we were really dissapointed when we called in for a lunch time drink with a view to lunch. Had to wait for about 5 minutes before any one appeared to serve us ordered a ginger beer and lime and a beer, barmaid asked "is it lime cordial you want" followed by "any ice" which she plopped in the glass and then handed a closed can of ginger beer to my husband to open and bring to my table himself. Next a man appeared from the rear kitchen area with a mug of coffee and a large flagon of milk which he added to his coffee, sat at the bar and commmenced a conversation with the bar person who then totally ignored us, followed by another member of staff obviously on a break who also settled on a bar stool to read her kindle. No body asked if we would like to have lunch or offered a menu so cannot comment on the food on this occasion - had our drink and left probably never to return. Such a shame as this is really the only watering hole and restaurant/ hotel in this beautiful location which is Shieldaig.Certainly not doing the local area any favours.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threemusketeers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
196 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best seafood of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I am a seafood fan - and the food was excellent.

I had the mussels and seafood stew - both were done fantastically.
We ended up with creme brulee which was nice too.

The view was lovely. I could see the sea right from our seat. The service really nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pallavi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shieldaig Bar and Coastal Kitchen also viewed

Shieldaig, Ross and Cromarty
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
 
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
Applecross, Ross and Cromarty
 
Kinlochewe, Ross and Cromarty
Applecross, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Shieldaig Bar and Coastal Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing