We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nanny's

Nanny's
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Shieldaig
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Cafe, Scottish, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nanny's ia a small family run cafe situated on the shores of Loch Shieldaig. Food is freshly prepared to order with local produce being used as much as possible, including shell fish caught daily in Loch Torridon. Great coffee, tasty home bakes and a friendly service awaits you.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This funny little tin shack is home to a really lovely experience. Friendly and welcoming service with cakes made by local ladies on sale. We had delicious homemade lentil and coconut soup and very tasty local smoked salmon with cream cheese on brown bread. Served on a mish mash of old teaplates and with really good drinks, coffees and teas on offer, they have got this place just right. A (very) young waiter was doing a terrific job of serving and clearing and despite a flurry of visitors, the small team kept the service going. A magical spot and a great find if you are passing. It is worth the detour! We loved the back story about this being the old village shop and all the added things on sale will charm the tourists.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edinegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    44
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were staying in the village and wandered down to Nannys, not expecting too much. They sell coffee and snacks and also ice cream from the local dairy. Delicious! Especially the raspberry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripleart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coffeebreak time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having motored over the switchback single-track road from Applecross to Shieldaig (a road with fantastic views over the sea to Raasay and Rona as well as (occasionally) Skye, it was a pleasure to drop into Nanny's again for the morning coffee. No fuss or pretensions, but if the weather allows you to sit outside (as it always has done on our visits), then you can inspect the bay and its islands (inhabited, we are told, by sea eagles), or the surrounding hills, or the people wandering about or even those sitting with you. Our fellow visitors that day were four well-off Edinburgh persons, into Shieldaig for supplies before returning to their yachting adventures; their conversation about the world's underground railways was mildly entertaining, especially when we have recent experience of several of them ourselves. But we resisted the temptation to join in with observations that there is no underground in Shieldaig, and learned that, should we choose to visit Tokyo, then the underground there is not the way to get around. Noted.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hector M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nannys -a little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We only had a coffee at Nannys, however Lynn was such a friendly person.
There's a wide range of home-made cakes etc available as well as local arts and crafts.
Well worth a visit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelBeeDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were in need of a coffee after a drive from Poolewe, saw the sign and popped in. A great choice of coffees and teas were on offer as well as cakes and scones. The surroundings were different, basically a tin shed, but seems to work quite fine, lovely views of the loch.Lots of quirky hand crafts for sale, we bought some nice cards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nanny's also viewed

Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
 
Applecross, Ross and Cromarty
Applecross, Ross and Cromarty
 
Kinlochewe, Ross and Cromarty
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Nanny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing