We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great soul food”
Review of Kinloch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shieldaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinloch
Ranked #2 of 6 Shieldaig B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The last minute nature of planning a break to recharge our batteries meant all the self catering cottages were fully booked. This turned out to be a cloud with a very silver lining as we were put in touch with Kinloch. Their well equipped small cottage meant we had all the privacy and flexibility of our own place but also none of the chores of cooking, as we wandered across to the main house for breakfast and evening meal, which was always very well prepared by very friendly hosts. Our teenage boy loved the snooker table, table football and table tennis facilities, as well as being able to canoe from the front door. It is a gorgeous location and it was a thoroughly relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dje109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 62 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

Very friendly family, brilliant breakfasts, stunning location and fantasitic opportunity to kayak out into shieldaig bay to see the Sea Eagles. Absolutly amazing scenery winter or summer, would highly recommend this.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Kinloch B&B has an unrivalled location at the head of a loch, a short distance from the pretty village of Shieldaig. We approached it from the direction of Applecross after an exciting drive over the mountain pass and round the coast. We were given a warm welcome by our kindly hosts and made to feel very much at home: we were even offered assistance with our washing! Bedrooms are in two buildings separate from the main house. Our room was spacious and homely with en suite and lots of books (no tv but that was fine with us). Kinloch offers dinner in the evenings, a useful option in a remote area such as this. We enjoyed excellent home cooking, taken with the other guests around the dining room table. Breakfast was an equally delicious (home made bread!) and sociable occasion. We only stayed one night : for those that stay longer there are activities like canoeing available. We walked the short distance into the village of Shieldaig after dinner for a drink in the pub and, on our walk back to Kinloch, we were rewarded by the most spectacular sunset I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whiteleysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Many years ago I drove past this house on the main road and thought the setting was stunning.
Some time after I found it was a B&B. Wehave been goin for many years since and the welcome/stay is always fantastic.
Cotages are comfortable, breakfast excellent and in addition to other activities in he Torridon area, Clare and Richad can provide advice, kayaks, a canadian canoe, table ennis or snooker.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I stayed here with friends for a weekend to hike in the Torridon area. The cottage is perfect as a base for outdoor activities, with many incredible walks in close proximity. Rooms are basic, but functional and clean. If you want sumptuous luxury, look elsewhere (and pay accordingly!).
It is located right at the head of the loch, surrounded by some of Scotlands finest mountains, so views are stunning.
They have canoes for loan, which allows you to paddle the gin-clear waters of the loch; around the island is a good trip!
Richard and Clare are warm, hospitable and helpful. Food is tasy and plentiful. I recommend going for the full-board option; Clare will make a lovely packed lunch for you!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDavies007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Kinloch is a B&B with a difference. The bedrooms are in 2 cottages in the grounds of the house but breakfast is served in the main house. The accommodation is ideal for the kind of holiday we had in Torridon - washing machine, drying rooms and the ability to access your accommodation all day long. The hosts are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is at one large table so we met all sorts of interesting people during our 9 night stay. Porridge is wonderful as are the venison sausages!! Advice on activities is discussed at breakfast and the hosts are very helpful whatever the guests needs may be. The views are tremendous and the location so peaceful. We would strongly recommend this B&B to anyone. The evening meal was cooked especially for us and was wonderful - all local produce.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audreyStrathaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stopped at the Kinloch B&B for one night during our trip down the West coast of Scotland. This was the most Northern of our stopping points and by far the most remote. It was great to go 'cold turkey' from the internet, mobile phones and even the TV! We stayed in the self contained 'small cottage' and on arrival were greeted by Richard who showed us around.

The accommodation was basic but cosy and probably best suited to a small family. There was a small loft space which was accessed by a ships ladder - apparently really popular with kids but too small for adults.There was a drying room for all your wet walking gear and a kitchen/sitting room with microwave, kettle, sink, washing machine and plenty of books - more than enough for nights stay!

The views from the cottage are amazing! You are ideally placed at the end of the loch with a view across to the village of Shieldaig. Richard and Claire also own two canoes and a kayak which they will allow you to explore the loch with if you ask nicely.

We opted to stay full board and dinner was provided in the main house (where Richard and Claire stay) and cooked very well by Claire. The food was all prepared with local, organic and fresh produce and tasted wonderful! There was plenty to go around and the same goes for the great breakfast the following morning, cooked this time by Richard.

Overall we were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed our get-away at Kinloch B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chesire25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch

Address: Shieldaig IV54 8XJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Shieldaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Shieldaig
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Kinloch Shieldaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing