We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable hotel, but with little character”
Review of Dundonnell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dundonnell Hotel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A reasonable hotel, but with little character”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed for one night on a solo cycling trip from John o'Groats to Land's End. The weather was foul at the time and the man at reception kindly took my rain jacket off to the boiler room to dry out, showed me somewhere dry to stow my bike for the night and chatted through the day and the shocking weather with me. But I didn't seem him again that evening and the bar staff - young, foreign students(?) - were indifferent and talked amongst themselves, there were any locals in and few tourists, so there wasn't much atmosphere. The food (evening meal and breakfast) was ok; it was a bit of a shame that it wasn't better given the wealth of local ingredients. The room was clean and functional and even though it was a single, it had a much welcome bath. Overall, no complaints whatsoever, but a bit cold and impersonal compared to everywhere else I stayed in the Highlands.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Not_all_those_who
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    55
    33
    18
    7
See reviews for
34
76
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LINLITHGOW
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights whilst doing munros in the area. Ate in the hotel both nights very nice food, reasonably priced. Lovely breakfast. Room warm and comfy. Very quiet location. Would visit again if in the area. Dogs made welcome which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VMATHESONMACIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Visited for the April 2013 Music Weekend - Had a wonderful time! Trish and Rob made us feel more like family that visitors and the weekend passed by all too quickly. We'll definitely plan to return again!!

Room Tip: The rooms over the Broombeg Bar offer excellent views of the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for a week now and have found the staff very helpfull the food is great and the accommodation very comfortable. and the music in the bar makes for a lovely evening singing along with the players. all in all a very enjoyable experience. and i will be recommending it to all my friends that are planning a trip to Scotland.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view of the loch when the tide is in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmjb1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Staff were all very good and accommodating. They kept the kitchen open for us as we were late returning from the hills one evening after a long day. The food is good and the cooked breakfast excellent. The choice is slightly limited but what they do is done very well. Decor a bit tired but the scenery is why you go there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have become regular visitors to this hotel.
In fact - the first time we stayed here was only because many other friends of ours were staying that weekend, in this hotel... so we felt we should book in, too.
To be honest - we would not have chosen this hotel from other trip advisor reviews of this area..... but you live and learn..... And here is our honest opinion!

As 'seasoned travellers' we have experienced many and varied hotels - although only throughout Europe.
We tend to favour boutique hotels and base our reviews on accommodation only......... as most hotels only offer accommodation.
This (Dundonnell) experience is very different........ this is more than accommodation.
We arrived at Easter weekend to toasted hot cross buns, tea and coffee..... and a genuine enquiry about food, rooms, additional requirements, etc.
The hotel owner was on hand (in her chef's whites, as she was preparing that evening's dinner).
Our requirements were vegetarian (my husband) and general carnivore (myself!).
Having been so impressed by the veggie option, I decided on that dish, too.... and i wasn't disappointed. Apparently, it is the hotel's mantra - never serve a vegetarian lasagne!! I thought this was hilarious... but only because I eat meat. My vegetarian husband, however, took a more serious view, and gave this hotel even more gold stars for this ideology!
Our room had stunning views westward from the mouth of the sea loch.I have captured this gem of a view as a 'screen saver'.... such was its tranquility!
The room itself had been refurbished since our last visit...... and is decorated in relaxing neutral tones.
The bath water is still discoloured as it comes from mountains rather than over-sanitised water purification plants. It's quirky!! It's perfectly healthy........
and another wee traveller tip.... peat filtered water like this really enhances a wee malt whisky!
We visited this hotel with a group of friends on this trip - and everyone had a wonderful time.
Next time, we plan to visit here on our own........ just because the scenery and hospitality cannot be matched anywhere else. And sometimes - as a couple - you just want this special venue all to yourself. I know that's selfish....... but sometimes a roaring fire, remote location and wonderful hospitality are all you need as a couple.
We've visited this hotel as part of a large group and part of a small group...... and just as a wee couple looking for a quiet break away from a hectic life.........
We have NEVER been disappointed at the Dundonnell Hotel!

I want to recommend this hotel to everyone else looking to explore the breath-taking scenery of the west Highlands of Scotland .

Enjoy your Dundonnell sanctuary..... we did, and hope to do so again, soon!

Room Tip: The rooms here have a view of the loch, or a view of the mountain behind the hotel. Both aspects are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Once again, we have spent time up in the TLC of the Dundonnell Hotel, this time as part of a very large group of friends (over 40 of us!!!). This was for a 'Music Weekend' organised by the hotel.
As usual, the staff at the hotel were welcoming and the scenery was breathtaking. Stunning views and a warm welcome! This was our fifth visit as a couple, and I have visited a fair few times myself for their 'music weekends'.. The owners always remember me, and that in itself is lovely! It is also great that local musicians made us feel so welcome.

The food last time we visited was excellent, but I wondered - given that there were so many of us - if that standard could be maintained for a large group, all eating at the same time. We weren't disappointed! The food was as good as it had been when we visited as a couple. Even the presentation of the dishes showed that someone had put in a bit of effort and thoughtfulness.
Unfortunately, we couldn't stay for lunch on Sunday. I couldn't have done it justice, anyway, after such a big breakfast. However, the owner dashed off and rustled up a 'take away' for my husband, to eat while I drove. The car smells a bit of roast potatoes now, but my husband enjoyed having Sunday lunch whilst travelling through mountain ranges! I hope he doesn't expect that level of pampering from me!!!!
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough....... food, comfort, cleanliness, location, friendliness have been consistently excellent.
We will definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1 has spectacular views right up little loch broom. Rooms at the front of the house have loch v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Loch Broom
21.3 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
367 reviews
4.4 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
587 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
286 reviews
4.5 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
245 reviews
20.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundonnell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundonnell Hotel

Property: Dundonnell Hotel
Address: Dundonnell, Little Loch Broom IV23 2QR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Little Loch Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Loch Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundonnell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dundonnell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing