We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day of our holiday”
Review of Dundonnell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dundonnell Hotel
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in Dundonnell Hotel in June and got great hospitality from the owners. The food was delicious and the room excellent. There are some lovely hill lochs nearby for trout fishing and good walking and sight seeing to be had. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gregor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Dundonnell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 198 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is one of our favourites, and having stayed in hotels all over Europe, this is high praise indeed. We love the tranquility and warmth in this hotel - some reviewers have described the decor in uncomplimentary terms - but to be honest, this is SO much better than the impersonal 'corporate' look many hotels prefer.
We returned today from a week at the Dundonnell hotel, having stayed several times over weekends. I wish we could have added a couple of extra nights to our stay, but the hotel is full this weekend.
The food was comparable with many good city restaurants, but prices were fair, and food arrived quickly. We had a B&B booking, but chose to eat in the hotel every night, simply because the food was of such a high quality. It was a lovely touch, too, that the chef often came out into the restaurant to ensure everyone's meal was to their liking. Although not a vegetarian, I chose the 'veggie option' several times, as the dishes were so imaginative and tempting. Having said that, I can also recommend the venison! :-)
Staff were all friendly and efficient, and the owners are superb hosts.
The scenery around the hotel is breath-taking. We did take our walking boots with us, but didn't use them!!! We opted for the sight-seeing .... If you have time, take a day to drive through Torridon and out to Applecross. The views are - literally - breathtaking. And the drive from Applecross to Kishorn is a real 'white knuckle' ride - so steep and narrow....... however the view from the summit is incredible. You can see out to Eig and Rhum on a day like we had.
In all honesty, I would recommend this hotel to other travellers - especially those with a love of good food, stunning scenery, friendly and efficient staff, a huge comfortable bed and a great location.
We are already planning our next trip back up to this hotel.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several rooms on various visits to this hotel..... if you require a room with a vi...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We recently stayed here as part of a coach tour. The setting was fantastic. The food was good. However the room we stayed in was tired looking, old decor in need of complete renevation. The bathroom wasn't cleaned during our stay and the toilet was chipped. Stay for the food only.

Room Tip: Good view in the front rooms
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel is at the eastern (landward) end of the sea loch and affords superb views of the sunset. We enjoyed a warm welcome and a spacious room for our week’s stay. There was a generous sized bath and an effective show that aided relaxation after a day hill-walking. On those days when the cloud was low and, or the wind was strong there are plenty of low level walks nearby including to Scoraig, a village with no road access and off the national electricity grid.

The bar menu was extensive; I had a different dish each evening with no need to repeat my choice and all were of a high quality. The breakfasts had a wide choice and were sufficient to fuel us for a day’s walk. The packed lunches were tailored to our requirements. Wi-Fi was available in the lounge but did not cover the whole of the hotel; but this was a holiday not a business trip.

This is an excellent place to stay. We will use it again when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerlinsonofOdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stopped off for afternoon tea with a friend on a Sunday afternoon. "Home Baking" means "shortbread". Period. No discussion. Service is of the order/payment/delivery variety rather than anything associated with hospitality. The woman who dealt with us - also handling the front desk - would clearly have been more comfortable in an online environment. Cleanliness would probably be acceptable in an NHS hospital, but most of us prefer obviously dirty tables to be wiped more than once every third user. Memo to owners re decor: There will be no more tour buses arriving from the 1980's. This property is located on a lovely, lonely stretch of road with lots of great places to pull over. This is not one of them.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We arrived here just after 25 Morgan Sports cars on a touring trip and all their dutch occupants. The Manager was very good in getting us seated and food ordered before the kitchen became very busy looking after them. The food was excellent, fresh local produce, one of our party was a Vegetarian and she loved her meal, buch better than the average "token vegetarian dish". The Hotel has its own Petrol Station and the carp Park is right on the edge of the Loch....great for photos!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We got to the Dundonnell Hotel in the late afternoon and the sun was shining we were greeted by the owner and shown to our room on the back of the hotel the room was large and very clean and comfortable what it lacked in views it made up for in comfort. Our meals were very good and the dining room had very good views of the countryside, there is a large comfortable lounge area or a very nice well stocked bar were the locals seem to gather in the evening all very friendly and welcoming, we had a great time there and would liked to have stayed longer as two nights were not enough to take in the beautiful surroundings. I would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: room 5 very comfortable
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loobylou1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Loch Broom
21.3 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
392 reviews
4.4 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
631 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
270 reviews
15.1 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
215 reviews
19.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundonnell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundonnell Hotel

Address: Dundonnell, Little Loch Broom IV23 2QR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Little Loch Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Loch Broom
Price Range: $92 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundonnell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dundonnell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing