We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food and Atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel Cromarty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We went here as a spur of the moment decision as we were in the area. We had read mixed reviews but decided to give it a go anyway. We were greeted by a very lovely older Lady, who was cheery and had a lovely smile on her face. She was very accommodating, even though we had no reservations she found us a table. She was chatty and we had quite a laugh with the other Staff too, especially as my Dad is half blind and gives everyone a laugh with his antics anyway. The Food was lovely, we ordered the Fish in a beer and herb batter, but my Son didn't want the beer or herb and asked for the batter plain, which was done no problem. The portions were massive, and the homemade chips were fantastic too, we struggled to finish them and the prices are reasonable. I would definately recommend eating here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    50
    26
    11
    10
See reviews for
50
86
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mallow, Ireland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I'd wanted to visit Cromarty and stay at the Royal for some time since reading about it in one of my favourite books in which the hotel was affectionally described as being slightly old-fashioned but with great character and very hospitable. We knew when booking several months in advance that it had since been modernised but hoped that its individuality remained intact so were a bit disappointed to find that the public rooms were very bland and characterless. Our bedroom was certainly very spacious, well appointed, quiet and comfortable and the sea view was all one could wish for. The bathroom was very chic - unfortunately with one of those ultra-stylish free-standing high-sided modern baths which, as I'm rather arthritic, I knew I couldn't get out of - assuming that I'd managed to get in! There was no overhead shower. My husband, though, had no complaints. Even though we'd confirmed a dinner booking 12 days ahead we were told that there was no room for us in the dining room and that we would have to eat in the rather crowded and noisy bar. We were also told that they were so busy that our order wouldn't be taken until 15 minutes after the time we'd booked for dinner. So we waited in the conservatory until rain came in through a hole in the roof. We both ordered lobster from the "specials" menu, but having accepted the order the waitress returned after some time to say that there was only one portion left - so I opted for the boeuf bourgignon. The owner did then come to apologise and the beef was delicious (as indeed was the rest of our dinner) - but it was a bit unprofessional of someone not to have briefed the waitress on what was still available. We came down for breakfast soon after the advertised time but there was nobody about and we had to search around to find someone to take our order. Our night at the Royal cost twice as much as we'd paid the night before - we knew it would be more than we usually budget for but decided to splash out as I did so want to go there. But we did expect a warmer welcome and a standard of service appropriate to a hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Myself and family thought we would try this place for a coffee before heading home, NEVER AGAIN!! The reception we got when we enter was DREADFUL and we were treated as if we were nothing but a massive inconvenience. The member of staff which served us was RUDE and very very LATE with our order of drinks (we think this was perhaps on purpose) and also made a point of going round other tables asking how people were but did not ask us. We didn't have a friendly word the whole time expect a very flat thank you on the way out. We happen to be local to the area and will be making a point of telling everyone we know NOT TO GO THERE!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Han N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My daughter and I travelled to the Black Isle, and initially were planning to dine at Suters as the Highland guide had recommended their fresh locally sourced seafood dishes. Unfortunately, it's pizza ONLY on Monday and Tuesday nights, which we weren't interested in. The gent at Suters recommended the Royal restaurant. We were not let down!! The dining area is small with a lovely wood burning fire. We arrived at 5:30 so were seated right away, but the restaurant did begin to fill up quickly after 6 pm, for obvious reasons! The menu was well-rounded, and they offer daily specials. Portion sizes were extremely generous (I couldn't finish) and everything was absolutely superb. Seafood was fresh, accompaniments splendid, and very tasty!! High marks for waitress Jenna. Friendly, attentive service without hovering. I would expect to pay at least twice the amount (if not more)for a similar meal in Edinburgh. I highly recommend the restaurant, and should I ever be in the area again, would definitely return again and again. Cocktails were well priced, too. Just a shame we had no room for dessert!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTrekkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Never stayed here but had lunch and dinner. Can get quite busy which shows its popular . Always found staff very helpful and polite. Food very good and always "home made" not the usual freezer stuff. Extensive menu so something for everyone. Most ingredients are locally sourced and specials board usually has a good selection of seafood dishes. Well worth a visit if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
442 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stopped in for a drink with some friends and family and found the bar to be well stocked with black isle ales and fantastic looking food. The bar is very modern and has a great outlook over the bay and harbour. Prices seemed to be reasonable and the service was very quick and friendly. Will definitely come back formthe full menu.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Salmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

popped in for lunch on a busy Sunday and staff were so accomodating.
The food was fab and great value. There were a wee bunch of Mums in with their young children and the staff were great with them as well.
I had the sea bream which was very tasty and him indoors had the steak pie-
the service was excellent and the place was spotless and the prices were great

highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alifleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromarty
6.2 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
8.4 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
8.7 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Cromarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Cromarty

Property: Royal Hotel Cromarty
Address: Marine Terrace, Cromarty IV11 8YN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel Cromarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromarty Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Cromarty Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing